Books Kids Fiction Picture My World

Picture My World

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/a8/22/75/_picture-my-world-cordier-severine-9781926973562-1361500373.jpg
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
253   0
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
1+
Release Date
October 16, 2012
ISBN
978-1926973562
Buy This Book
      
In Picture My Day, young readers followed three siblings through a single day and were introduced to new words and objects along the way. In Picture My World, a companion title, readers will rejoin these three same siblings, but this time readers will accompany them through a number of milestones and occasions familiar to every young child.

From bringing home a first pet to swimming at the pool, from scraping a knee to having a birthday party, from losing a doll to watching fireworks to climbing a tree, and more, readers will identify with situations and learn more new words, this time with an emphasis on emotional vocabulary.

The illustrations are bright and clear, with just enough detail to entice a preschooler to linger on each page. The accompanying text ranges from exclamations to short sentences and helps readers associate each illustration with an emotional expression.

Editor reviews

I love the look and feel to Picture My World. The illustrations are simple and have an endearing quality to them. This book highlights different events that young children may experience, from a new baby in the family to a trip to the beach. I personally enjoyed flipping from page to page to see how these children felt while experiencing some of these early milestones.

Overall, the illustrations are the stand out piece of this book.
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Picture My World

I love the look and feel to Picture My World. The illustrations are simple and have an endearing quality to them. This book highlights different events that young children may experience, from a new baby in the family to a trip to the beach. I personally enjoyed flipping from page to page to see how these children felt while experiencing some of these early milestones.

Overall, the illustrations are the stand out piece of this book.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
When Nic, a slave in the mines outside of Rome, is forced to enter a sealed cavern containing the lost...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
After a year at the king's palace, Miri has learned all about being a proper princess. But the tables turn...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Hopper is just an ordinary pet shop mouse before he escapes. Soon he finds himself below the bustling streets of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
The battle to free Titus's camps is over, and Hopper, Zucker, Firren, and their loyal followers are working to rebuild....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Tori Porter is best friends with her mom, and most of the time it’s awesome. Not many girls have a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
London's Youngest detective is back . . . Darkus Knightley, tweed-wearing, megabrained, fiercely logical thirteen-year-old investigator of the weird, was...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ari’s mother died four years ago, she had two final wishes: that Ari and her older brother, Gage, would...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A boy hunter, the president of the United States, and a terrorist plot converge to create an original and thrilling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rory and her friends are reeling from a series of sudden and tragic events. While racked with grief, Rory tries...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
For the most part, aspiring screenwriter Jack Bell is just your typical Midwestern kid. He’s got a crush on his...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
4.7 (1)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)