Books Kids Fiction The Return of Abracadabra (Hocus Pocus Hotel Book 2)

The Return of Abracadabra (Hocus Pocus Hotel Book 2) Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/cb/3a/2d/14747_hocus-pocus-hotel-2-1361471987.png
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
566   0
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Genre(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
February 01, 2013
ISBN
978-1434247216
Buy This Book
      
Charlie Hitchcock figured out that Brack is really Abracadabra, the missing magician. But as Brack prepares to unveil his true identity to the rest of the world, magical mysteries continue to unfold at his hotel. Charlie and Tyler Yu have solved challenging tricks here before, but can they do it again before time runs out for Brack . . . and the hotel?

Editor reviews

What kid doesn’t love magic, in any form? Sure, there’s the lovely, wish-it-were-so magic of Harry Potter and Oz and a million other books, but real-life magicians and their fabulously complex illusions are just as intriguing. This kind of magic also has the added bonus of being REAL, being about human cleverness rather than relying on fantasy. It’s so compelling to think that if only you were smart enough, you could in fact figure out how the trick was done.

Well, the Hocus Pocus Hotel series is about that sort of magic, the magic of smoke and mirrors and assistants in sequins, the sort of magic that actually can be explained because it’s about intelligence and talent and persistence. This is the sort of magic, in short, that anyone could (given sufficient time and energy) do.

It’s also the sort of magic that anyone clever and determined enough could figure out, which is exactly what the odd couple of Tyler Yu (bully) and Charlie Hitchcock (brainiac) do -- twice. Using their intelligence, powers of observation, and general determination not to be outdone by a blowhard newcomer, Tyler and Charlie figure out how tricks are done, and once again, save the hotel.

The Return of Abracadabra, the second book in the Hocus Pocus Hotel series, has a distinct advantage over the first, in that we already know most of the cast of characters. That includes the strange and wonderful Hocus Pocus Hotel, which is itself a character in these stories. Because the author doesn’t have to spend time introducing us to anyone, we can just get stuck into the mysteries at hand. Like in the first book in the series, the mysteries here revolve around how a particular magic trick works, and the author, Michael Dahl, is awesome enough to show the reader exactly how these tricks are done. Also, Tyler and Charlie are more comfortable with each other, so they seem more like real people, rather than stock characters. No longer simply the dumb bully and the bright nerd, the pair show each other—and themselves—who they really are, and that’s a kind of magic in itself.
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Francesca	Amendolia, Editor Reviewed by Francesca Amendolia, Editor February 21, 2013
Last updated: February 21, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (66)

A Magical Sequel

What kid doesn’t love magic, in any form? Sure, there’s the lovely, wish-it-were-so magic of Harry Potter and Oz and a million other books, but real-life magicians and their fabulously complex illusions are just as intriguing. This kind of magic also has the added bonus of being REAL, being about human cleverness rather than relying on fantasy. It’s so compelling to think that if only you were smart enough, you could in fact figure out how the trick was done.

Well, the Hocus Pocus Hotel series is about that sort of magic, the magic of smoke and mirrors and assistants in sequins, the sort of magic that actually can be explained because it’s about intelligence and talent and persistence. This is the sort of magic, in short, that anyone could (given sufficient time and energy) do.

It’s also the sort of magic that anyone clever and determined enough could figure out, which is exactly what the odd couple of Tyler Yu (bully) and Charlie Hitchcock (brainiac) do -- twice. Using their intelligence, powers of observation, and general determination not to be outdone by a blowhard newcomer, Tyler and Charlie figure out how tricks are done, and once again, save the hotel.

The Return of Abracadabra, the second book in the Hocus Pocus Hotel series, has a distinct advantage over the first, in that we already know most of the cast of characters. That includes the strange and wonderful Hocus Pocus Hotel, which is itself a character in these stories. Because the author doesn’t have to spend time introducing us to anyone, we can just get stuck into the mysteries at hand. Like in the first book in the series, the mysteries here revolve around how a particular magic trick works, and the author, Michael Dahl, is awesome enough to show the reader exactly how these tricks are done. Also, Tyler and Charlie are more comfortable with each other, so they seem more like real people, rather than stock characters. No longer simply the dumb bully and the bright nerd, the pair show each other—and themselves—who they really are, and that’s a kind of magic in itself.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)