Books Kids Fiction The Return of Abracadabra (Hocus Pocus Hotel Book 2)

The Return of Abracadabra (Hocus Pocus Hotel Book 2) Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/cb/3a/2d/14747_hocus-pocus-hotel-2-1361471987.png
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
511   0
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Genre(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
February 01, 2013
ISBN
978-1434247216
Buy This Book
      
Charlie Hitchcock figured out that Brack is really Abracadabra, the missing magician. But as Brack prepares to unveil his true identity to the rest of the world, magical mysteries continue to unfold at his hotel. Charlie and Tyler Yu have solved challenging tricks here before, but can they do it again before time runs out for Brack . . . and the hotel?

Editor reviews

What kid doesn’t love magic, in any form? Sure, there’s the lovely, wish-it-were-so magic of Harry Potter and Oz and a million other books, but real-life magicians and their fabulously complex illusions are just as intriguing. This kind of magic also has the added bonus of being REAL, being about human cleverness rather than relying on fantasy. It’s so compelling to think that if only you were smart enough, you could in fact figure out how the trick was done.

Well, the Hocus Pocus Hotel series is about that sort of magic, the magic of smoke and mirrors and assistants in sequins, the sort of magic that actually can be explained because it’s about intelligence and talent and persistence. This is the sort of magic, in short, that anyone could (given sufficient time and energy) do.

It’s also the sort of magic that anyone clever and determined enough could figure out, which is exactly what the odd couple of Tyler Yu (bully) and Charlie Hitchcock (brainiac) do -- twice. Using their intelligence, powers of observation, and general determination not to be outdone by a blowhard newcomer, Tyler and Charlie figure out how tricks are done, and once again, save the hotel.

The Return of Abracadabra, the second book in the Hocus Pocus Hotel series, has a distinct advantage over the first, in that we already know most of the cast of characters. That includes the strange and wonderful Hocus Pocus Hotel, which is itself a character in these stories. Because the author doesn’t have to spend time introducing us to anyone, we can just get stuck into the mysteries at hand. Like in the first book in the series, the mysteries here revolve around how a particular magic trick works, and the author, Michael Dahl, is awesome enough to show the reader exactly how these tricks are done. Also, Tyler and Charlie are more comfortable with each other, so they seem more like real people, rather than stock characters. No longer simply the dumb bully and the bright nerd, the pair show each other—and themselves—who they really are, and that’s a kind of magic in itself.
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Francesca	Amendolia, Editor Reviewed by Francesca Amendolia, Editor February 21, 2013
Last updated: February 21, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (66)

A Magical Sequel

What kid doesn’t love magic, in any form? Sure, there’s the lovely, wish-it-were-so magic of Harry Potter and Oz and a million other books, but real-life magicians and their fabulously complex illusions are just as intriguing. This kind of magic also has the added bonus of being REAL, being about human cleverness rather than relying on fantasy. It’s so compelling to think that if only you were smart enough, you could in fact figure out how the trick was done.

Well, the Hocus Pocus Hotel series is about that sort of magic, the magic of smoke and mirrors and assistants in sequins, the sort of magic that actually can be explained because it’s about intelligence and talent and persistence. This is the sort of magic, in short, that anyone could (given sufficient time and energy) do.

It’s also the sort of magic that anyone clever and determined enough could figure out, which is exactly what the odd couple of Tyler Yu (bully) and Charlie Hitchcock (brainiac) do -- twice. Using their intelligence, powers of observation, and general determination not to be outdone by a blowhard newcomer, Tyler and Charlie figure out how tricks are done, and once again, save the hotel.

The Return of Abracadabra, the second book in the Hocus Pocus Hotel series, has a distinct advantage over the first, in that we already know most of the cast of characters. That includes the strange and wonderful Hocus Pocus Hotel, which is itself a character in these stories. Because the author doesn’t have to spend time introducing us to anyone, we can just get stuck into the mysteries at hand. Like in the first book in the series, the mysteries here revolve around how a particular magic trick works, and the author, Michael Dahl, is awesome enough to show the reader exactly how these tricks are done. Also, Tyler and Charlie are more comfortable with each other, so they seem more like real people, rather than stock characters. No longer simply the dumb bully and the bright nerd, the pair show each other—and themselves—who they really are, and that’s a kind of magic in itself.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)