The Return of Abracadabra (Hocus Pocus Hotel Book 2)

The Return of Abracadabra (Hocus Pocus Hotel Book 2) Featured

 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
929   0
Write Review
The Return of Abracadabra (Hocus Pocus Hotel Book 2)
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Genre(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
February 01, 2013
ISBN
978-1434247216
Buy This Book
      
Charlie Hitchcock figured out that Brack is really Abracadabra, the missing magician. But as Brack prepares to unveil his true identity to the rest of the world, magical mysteries continue to unfold at his hotel. Charlie and Tyler Yu have solved challenging tricks here before, but can they do it again before time runs out for Brack . . . and the hotel?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
(Updated: February 21, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

A Magical Sequel

What kid doesn’t love magic, in any form? Sure, there’s the lovely, wish-it-were-so magic of Harry Potter and Oz and a million other books, but real-life magicians and their fabulously complex illusions are just as intriguing. This kind of magic also has the added bonus of being REAL, being about human cleverness rather than relying on fantasy. It’s so compelling to think that if only you were smart enough, you could in fact figure out how the trick was done.

Well, the Hocus Pocus Hotel series is about that sort of magic, the magic of smoke and mirrors and assistants in sequins, the sort of magic that actually can be explained because it’s about intelligence and talent and persistence. This is the sort of magic, in short, that anyone could (given sufficient time and energy) do.

It’s also the sort of magic that anyone clever and determined enough could figure out, which is exactly what the odd couple of Tyler Yu (bully) and Charlie Hitchcock (brainiac) do -- twice. Using their intelligence, powers of observation, and general determination not to be outdone by a blowhard newcomer, Tyler and Charlie figure out how tricks are done, and once again, save the hotel.

The Return of Abracadabra, the second book in the Hocus Pocus Hotel series, has a distinct advantage over the first, in that we already know most of the cast of characters. That includes the strange and wonderful Hocus Pocus Hotel, which is itself a character in these stories. Because the author doesn’t have to spend time introducing us to anyone, we can just get stuck into the mysteries at hand. Like in the first book in the series, the mysteries here revolve around how a particular magic trick works, and the author, Michael Dahl, is awesome enough to show the reader exactly how these tricks are done. Also, Tyler and Charlie are more comfortable with each other, so they seem more like real people, rather than stock characters. No longer simply the dumb bully and the bright nerd, the pair show each other—and themselves—who they really are, and that’s a kind of magic in itself.

Good Points
Real-life magic
Odd couple protagonists
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

  

   

   

    

  

   

 

Latest Book Listings Added

cover60900-medium.png
Toby's sister and baby brother love their schools - they...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every Exquisite Thing
Nanette O'Hare is an unassuming teen who has played the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emma and Julia Love Ballet
Emma is little. Julia is big. They both love...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blobfish Book
Perfect for fans of Battle Bunny and Z Is for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5)
The long path to the throne has only just begun...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gemina (The Illuminae Files #2)
The highly anticipated sequel to the instant New York Times...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2)
Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ask Me How I Got Here
Addie has always known what she was running toward. In...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Time We Were Us
A passionate summer love story about a girl, her childhood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Way Back To You
In this witty, heart-tugging novel, two teens take a spontaneous...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Happens Now
"I know what it is to want something so badly,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
All I Need
The last night of summer is only the beginning. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Occasional Diamond Thief
What if you learned your father was a thief?...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Salarian Desert Game
What if someone you love gambled on her life? ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Truth About Forever
A long, hot summer... That's what Macy...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“The mother I knew would never do those things. ...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)