Cupcake Queen (Kylie Jean)

Cupcake Queen (Kylie Jean) Featured

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1317   0
Write Review
Cupcake Queen (Kylie Jean)
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
4+
Release Date
February 01, 2013
ISBN
1404881026
Buy This Book
      
Kylie Jean needs money, so she decides to start selling cupcakes. But her doggie cupcakes can fund a really important causehelping orphan dogs at the shelter!

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Charming

The Cupcake Queen is a fun, charming story with some valuable examples of kindness, respect, and charity for others. I enjoyed Kylie Jean, the main character. I was a little hesitant about her at first because in the first chapter she tells the reader that she's pretty and that she wants to be a beauty queen. I worried that she'd end up being a shallow character, but she isn't. She's smart and ambitious, respectful to adults, and she cares about others.

I enjoyed Kylie's family. She has a loving family who support her dreams while also teaching her how to work for what she wants. Her dog, Ugly Brother, adds a note of humor to the story, as does her relationship with her older brother. The emphasis is on love, respect, and teamwork. Her parents (and grandparents) never try to talk Kylie out of her big idea. They simply give her the tools she needs to accomplish it.

Overall, this is a smoothly written story that shows readers an example of how even a young child can help change the world for someone else.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

     

 

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Starflight
Solara Brooks needs a fresh start, someplace where nobody cares...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
summer marked.jpg
Fresh off a break-up with her boyfriend, Kadie's glad to...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
catacomb.jpg
The heart-stopping third book in the New York Times bestselling...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
mister max.jpg
In Act III of Newbery Medalist Cynthia Voigt’s Mister Max...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Macbeth #killingit (OMG Shakespeare series)
Macbeth, one of the greatest stories ever told . ....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)