Books Kids Fiction Princess Addison Gets Angry

Princess Addison Gets Angry Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/02/bb/c9/_000-1360637211.jpg
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
379   0
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
1+
Release Date
February 01, 2013
ISBN
1404881077
Buy This Book
      
When Princess Addison doesn't get what she wants, she becomes Princess Angry.

Editor reviews

When a rainy day ruins Princess Addison's fun plans for the morning, she gets very, very angry. Her mother steps in a helps her deal with her anger by telling her it's okay to feel angry, and it's okay to take a break in her room, but that princesses never hit others or break things. And then her mother gives her a list of ways princesses handle their anger (like taking a deep breath or telling someone how they feel). I really think this is a valuable book for teaching kids how to deal with strong feelings. The only thing that didn't quite ring true for me was Addison's mother telling her that it's okay to scream and shout. In our home, we don't encourage yelling or screaming when we're angry. We have a list of other, non-destructive ways to manage those feelings. But that's up to each individual parent, and certainly if you disagreed with that advice, you could turn that into a discussion with your child as you read the book.

All in all, I highly recommend this book.
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
CJ Redwine, Editor Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor February 11, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (397)

Worth Buying

When a rainy day ruins Princess Addison's fun plans for the morning, she gets very, very angry. Her mother steps in a helps her deal with her anger by telling her it's okay to feel angry, and it's okay to take a break in her room, but that princesses never hit others or break things. And then her mother gives her a list of ways princesses handle their anger (like taking a deep breath or telling someone how they feel). I really think this is a valuable book for teaching kids how to deal with strong feelings. The only thing that didn't quite ring true for me was Addison's mother telling her that it's okay to scream and shout. In our home, we don't encourage yelling or screaming when we're angry. We have a list of other, non-destructive ways to manage those feelings. But that's up to each individual parent, and certainly if you disagreed with that advice, you could turn that into a discussion with your child as you read the book.

All in all, I highly recommend this book.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)