Books Kids Fiction Do Magic! Do Good!

Do Magic! Do Good! Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/83/0e/47/_8222285606-af387bb2f7-1359557769.jpg
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
381   0
Age Range
6+
Release Date
November 13, 2012
ISBN
978-0763657468
Buy This Book
      
A boy with a beard tries to stay six forever. A frightful monster lives a million miles away, but is equally scared of you. A magic rope hangs from the sky, next to a sign saying "Give me a try." In this brightly illustrated selection of playful, often provocative poems, ideas run the gamut from stopping your lightning-fast running to help others keep up, imagining a store that sells colors never before made, or admitting you’ll never know all the answers (and sleeping better at night). Following the runaway success of his self-published debut, Dallas Clayton’s quirky, captivating collection makes it clear that this rising talent, whose work has evoked comparisons to Dr. Seuss, Maurice Sendak, and Shel Silverstein, exudes a spirit and style all his own.

Editor reviews

I'm a huge fan of poetry, especially poetry for children. We own a few poetry books from other children's authors in our house. So, I was very excited to receive this book of poetry by a new author I had never heard of, Dallas Clayton.

I had a really fun time reading through all the poems. Not only that, my young boys did, too. I think that's amazing that young boys can get excited about poetry, and a book that can help them with that, is quite fantastic!

The poems are easy to read (for young readers), and easy to follow. Even my 5 year old loved the rhythm of each poem and he was able to sit through the entire book. That's not an easy feat for a 5 year old. I'm also excited to look for the other books by Dallas Clayton now that he's on my radar. I highly recommend this book to Shel Silverstein lovers out there. This book is a great addition to any personal, school, or public library.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Jillian Van Leer, Editor Reviewed by Jillian Van Leer, Editor January 30, 2013
Last updated: January 30, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (304)

A fun book of poetry

I'm a huge fan of poetry, especially poetry for children. We own a few poetry books from other children's authors in our house. So, I was very excited to receive this book of poetry by a new author I had never heard of, Dallas Clayton.

I had a really fun time reading through all the poems. Not only that, my young boys did, too. I think that's amazing that young boys can get excited about poetry, and a book that can help them with that, is quite fantastic!

The poems are easy to read (for young readers), and easy to follow. Even my 5 year old loved the rhythm of each poem and he was able to sit through the entire book. That's not an easy feat for a 5 year old. I'm also excited to look for the other books by Dallas Clayton now that he's on my radar. I highly recommend this book to Shel Silverstein lovers out there. This book is a great addition to any personal, school, or public library.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is not your average trip to Fairyland… Selkie Stewart has just saved her quasi-boyfriend, Ben, from a fairy prison...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)