Books Kids Fiction Nighttime Ninja

Nighttime Ninja

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/69/b1/33/_nighttimeninka-1359556993.jpg
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
355   0
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Genre(s)
Age Range
1+
Release Date
September 18, 2012
ISBN
978-0316203845
Buy This Book
      
Late at night, when all is quiet and everyone is asleep, a ninja creeps silently through the house in search of treasure. Soon he reaches his ultimate goal...and gets a big surprise! Will the nighttime ninja complete his mission?

With spare text and lush illustrations, Nighttime Ninja is a fun, adventure-filled story about the power of play and imagination.

Editor reviews

I was so impressed with the illustrations in this book. The illustrations were done in cut paper, textured cloth, string, and colored pencil. I haven't seen anything like it before and I think it's very cool. My boys really loved it, too. The cut paper shows the nighttime ninja as a shadow perfectly. I give Ed Young (the illustrator) a huge pat on the back for an amazing job!

The story is adorable. My boys and I giggled all the way through. Not every page has words on it, so it was fun to make up our own words for what was happening. This is a great way to get children involved in the story and can also change the story up a bit each time.

This is an entertaining read for the entire family. And once again, the illustrations are incredible! I highly recommend this book for libraries of all kinds!
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Jillian Van Leer Reviewed by Jillian Van Leer January 30, 2013
Last updated: January 30, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (304)

Amazing Pictures!!

I was so impressed with the illustrations in this book. The illustrations were done in cut paper, textured cloth, string, and colored pencil. I haven't seen anything like it before and I think it's very cool. My boys really loved it, too. The cut paper shows the nighttime ninja as a shadow perfectly. I give Ed Young (the illustrator) a huge pat on the back for an amazing job!

The story is adorable. My boys and I giggled all the way through. Not every page has words on it, so it was fun to make up our own words for what was happening. This is a great way to get children involved in the story and can also change the story up a bit each time.

This is an entertaining read for the entire family. And once again, the illustrations are incredible! I highly recommend this book for libraries of all kinds!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
This charming story about the summer three California sisters spend on Cape Cod is perfect for fans of The Penderwicks...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
One
Tippi and Grace. Grace and Tippi. For them, it's normal to step into the same skirt. To hook their arms...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Josh Chester loves being a Hollywood bad boy, coasting on his good looks, his parties, his parents' wealth, and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After almost a year in Japan, Katie Greene has finally unearthed the terrible secret behind her boyfriend Tomohiro's deadly ability...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Paint a mural. Start a battle. Change the world. Sierra Santiago planned an easy summer of making art and hanging...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Lexi Shaw seduced Oakfield High's resident bad boy Tyler Flynn at the beginning of senior year, he seemed perfectly...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“Do not ignore a call from me when you know I am feeling neurotic about a boy. That is Best...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Summer has finally arrived and fifteen-year-old Harper McCallister intends to spend her days at the mall shopping or by the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
chain reactions.jpg
Category: Kids Nonfiction
LEGO Chain Reactions is packed full of ideas, instructions, and inspiration for 10 LEGO machines that spin, swing, pivot, roll,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Nonfiction
They've toured with One Direction and scored international super-hits in more than 50 countries across the globe but 5 Seconds...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Princess Pinecone knows exactly what she wants for her birthday this year. A BIG horse. A STRONG horse. A horse...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Summer, 1989: Sixteen-year-old Dionne Braithwaite and her younger sister Phaedra have just arrived in Bird Hill in Barbados. Sent from...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“I thrust my hand toward the sky as my voice begs the Elemental inside me to waken and rise. But...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the vein of Laurie Halse Anderson's Wintergirls, this emotionally haunting and beautifully written young adult debut delves into the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The second book in the gripping Wanted series, this Western revenge epic is a must-read for teen readers who are...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
As the first book in the new young-adult series Wanted, Grace and the Guiltless is an edge-of-your-seat, gripping thrill ride....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Becoming Darkness is a dark, action-filled tale set in an alternate twenty-first century in which Hitler won World War II,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
For decades, Sami has kept the key to the geniean and human races hidden. She is used to a life...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
From New York Times bestselling author and former NFL player Tim Green comes a riveting new stand-alone football novel. When...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Joel Ross debuts a thrilling adventure series in which living in the sky is the new reality and a few...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)