Books Kids Fiction Harriet Tubman (I Am #6)

Harriet Tubman (I Am #6) Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/be/49/a3/_image-ashx-1359410792.jpg
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
555   0
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
January 01, 2013
ISBN
978-0545484367
Buy This Book
      
A straightforward biography about Harriet Tubman's struggles and success for both civil and women's rights.

With a forward-thinking attitude, Harriet Tubman escaped slavery and risked her life countless times to help free 70 others. She became monumental in both the civil rights movement and the women's suffrage movement. Kids will be inspired by this icon's tireless work to create a better America. This series features full-color illustrated covers, one-color illustrations throughout, a timeline, an introduction to the people you'll meet in the book, maps, sidebars, and a top-ten list of important things to know about each hero.

Editor reviews

This is an enjoyable little book that packs a big historical punch. Maps, a glossary and a list of places to visit bring Harriet Tubman's story to life for readers of all ages. The topic of slavery is never an easy one to address, however, "I Am Harriet Tubman" presents it in such a way that allows the reader to focus on all of the positive changes that came about as a result of one woman's courage. As a homeschool educator and a resident of Maryland, I'm looking forward to visiting some of the places listed in here.

This book is a great addition to any history program!
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Jen, Editor Reviewed by Jen, Editor February 14, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (414)

Courage can make a difference!

This is an enjoyable little book that packs a big historical punch. Maps, a glossary and a list of places to visit bring Harriet Tubman's story to life for readers of all ages. The topic of slavery is never an easy one to address, however, "I Am Harriet Tubman" presents it in such a way that allows the reader to focus on all of the positive changes that came about as a result of one woman's courage. As a homeschool educator and a resident of Maryland, I'm looking forward to visiting some of the places listed in here.

This book is a great addition to any history program!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)