Books Kids Fiction Pigs in Pajamas

Pigs in Pajamas Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/ed/19/24/_000-1359410547.jpg
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
363   0
Author(s)
Age Range
1+
Release Date
December 11, 2012
ISBN
0375848177
Buy This Book
      
At Penelope Pig's sleepover party, six pigs in pj's eat pizza and pasta, pound a pinata, pin the tail on the pony, prance to piano, and then form a precarious pyramid--collapsing, of course, into a sqealing pig pile!

Maggie Smith combines rollicking rhymes and infectious alliterations to make a perfectly pleasing book filled with fun and the letter P. And while there are scads of P words in the text, the art has even more--the pictures are filled with more than 75 objects beginning with the letter P for young readers to find. The playful pictures also introduce other preschool concepts, such as colors, shapes, patterns, and counting.

Pigs in Pajamas offers a fun way to get preschoolers thinking about language and building their vocabularies. Party on, Penelope Pig!

Editor reviews

PIGS IN PAJAMAS is a lively story with a lovely rhythmic rhyme that will immediately fascinate young readers. Each page is bursting with color and life, and there are so many details to discover that a young reader will be captivated anew each time.

My favorite aspect of this book is the parrot who speaks a little aside somewhere on each page. My toddler loved finding the parrot and hearing what it had to say! I also really loved that the book is focused on "p" words. The entire story is about a birthday slumber party, complete with party guests, food, and games, and the author uses multiple "p" words on every page. Perfect for reinforcing alphabet learning in young readers! The last page of the book even has a huge list of all the "p" words that were used so that if you missed any, you can go back through and find them.

While I truly loved the illustrations in the book, when I reached the pages with the party food, I discovered that instead of drawing food in the same colors, theme, and style as the rest of the illustrations, they'd used real life photographs of the food interspersed with drawn illustrations of the rest of the room. I found that technique to be a bit jarring and was disappointed because the drawn illustrations are fun and fabulous. My toddler, however, didn't mind a bit.

Pigs in Pajamas is a fun, colorful way to teach a young reader about the letter "p" and I can see this being a favorite for many readers.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
CJ Redwine, Editor Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor January 28, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (397)

Colorful & Fun

PIGS IN PAJAMAS is a lively story with a lovely rhythmic rhyme that will immediately fascinate young readers. Each page is bursting with color and life, and there are so many details to discover that a young reader will be captivated anew each time.

My favorite aspect of this book is the parrot who speaks a little aside somewhere on each page. My toddler loved finding the parrot and hearing what it had to say! I also really loved that the book is focused on "p" words. The entire story is about a birthday slumber party, complete with party guests, food, and games, and the author uses multiple "p" words on every page. Perfect for reinforcing alphabet learning in young readers! The last page of the book even has a huge list of all the "p" words that were used so that if you missed any, you can go back through and find them.

While I truly loved the illustrations in the book, when I reached the pages with the party food, I discovered that instead of drawing food in the same colors, theme, and style as the rest of the illustrations, they'd used real life photographs of the food interspersed with drawn illustrations of the rest of the room. I found that technique to be a bit jarring and was disappointed because the drawn illustrations are fun and fabulous. My toddler, however, didn't mind a bit.

Pigs in Pajamas is a fun, colorful way to teach a young reader about the letter "p" and I can see this being a favorite for many readers.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Every touch has its price Layla Shaw is trying to pick up the pieces of her shattered life—no easy task...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)