Books Kids Fiction Pigs in Pajamas

Pigs in Pajamas Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/ed/19/24/_000-1359410547.jpg
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
413   0
Author(s)
Age Range
1+
Release Date
December 11, 2012
ISBN
0375848177
Buy This Book
      
At Penelope Pig's sleepover party, six pigs in pj's eat pizza and pasta, pound a pinata, pin the tail on the pony, prance to piano, and then form a precarious pyramid--collapsing, of course, into a sqealing pig pile!

Maggie Smith combines rollicking rhymes and infectious alliterations to make a perfectly pleasing book filled with fun and the letter P. And while there are scads of P words in the text, the art has even more--the pictures are filled with more than 75 objects beginning with the letter P for young readers to find. The playful pictures also introduce other preschool concepts, such as colors, shapes, patterns, and counting.

Pigs in Pajamas offers a fun way to get preschoolers thinking about language and building their vocabularies. Party on, Penelope Pig!

Editor reviews

PIGS IN PAJAMAS is a lively story with a lovely rhythmic rhyme that will immediately fascinate young readers. Each page is bursting with color and life, and there are so many details to discover that a young reader will be captivated anew each time.

My favorite aspect of this book is the parrot who speaks a little aside somewhere on each page. My toddler loved finding the parrot and hearing what it had to say! I also really loved that the book is focused on "p" words. The entire story is about a birthday slumber party, complete with party guests, food, and games, and the author uses multiple "p" words on every page. Perfect for reinforcing alphabet learning in young readers! The last page of the book even has a huge list of all the "p" words that were used so that if you missed any, you can go back through and find them.

While I truly loved the illustrations in the book, when I reached the pages with the party food, I discovered that instead of drawing food in the same colors, theme, and style as the rest of the illustrations, they'd used real life photographs of the food interspersed with drawn illustrations of the rest of the room. I found that technique to be a bit jarring and was disappointed because the drawn illustrations are fun and fabulous. My toddler, however, didn't mind a bit.

Pigs in Pajamas is a fun, colorful way to teach a young reader about the letter "p" and I can see this being a favorite for many readers.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
CJ Redwine, Editor Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor January 28, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (397)

Colorful & Fun

PIGS IN PAJAMAS is a lively story with a lovely rhythmic rhyme that will immediately fascinate young readers. Each page is bursting with color and life, and there are so many details to discover that a young reader will be captivated anew each time.

My favorite aspect of this book is the parrot who speaks a little aside somewhere on each page. My toddler loved finding the parrot and hearing what it had to say! I also really loved that the book is focused on "p" words. The entire story is about a birthday slumber party, complete with party guests, food, and games, and the author uses multiple "p" words on every page. Perfect for reinforcing alphabet learning in young readers! The last page of the book even has a huge list of all the "p" words that were used so that if you missed any, you can go back through and find them.

While I truly loved the illustrations in the book, when I reached the pages with the party food, I discovered that instead of drawing food in the same colors, theme, and style as the rest of the illustrations, they'd used real life photographs of the food interspersed with drawn illustrations of the rest of the room. I found that technique to be a bit jarring and was disappointed because the drawn illustrations are fun and fabulous. My toddler, however, didn't mind a bit.

Pigs in Pajamas is a fun, colorful way to teach a young reader about the letter "p" and I can see this being a favorite for many readers.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)