Books Kids Fiction Pigs in Pajamas

Pigs in Pajamas Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/ed/19/24/_000-1359410547.jpg
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
437   0
Author(s)
Age Range
1+
Release Date
December 11, 2012
ISBN
0375848177
Buy This Book
      
At Penelope Pig's sleepover party, six pigs in pj's eat pizza and pasta, pound a pinata, pin the tail on the pony, prance to piano, and then form a precarious pyramid--collapsing, of course, into a sqealing pig pile!

Maggie Smith combines rollicking rhymes and infectious alliterations to make a perfectly pleasing book filled with fun and the letter P. And while there are scads of P words in the text, the art has even more--the pictures are filled with more than 75 objects beginning with the letter P for young readers to find. The playful pictures also introduce other preschool concepts, such as colors, shapes, patterns, and counting.

Pigs in Pajamas offers a fun way to get preschoolers thinking about language and building their vocabularies. Party on, Penelope Pig!

Editor reviews

PIGS IN PAJAMAS is a lively story with a lovely rhythmic rhyme that will immediately fascinate young readers. Each page is bursting with color and life, and there are so many details to discover that a young reader will be captivated anew each time.

My favorite aspect of this book is the parrot who speaks a little aside somewhere on each page. My toddler loved finding the parrot and hearing what it had to say! I also really loved that the book is focused on "p" words. The entire story is about a birthday slumber party, complete with party guests, food, and games, and the author uses multiple "p" words on every page. Perfect for reinforcing alphabet learning in young readers! The last page of the book even has a huge list of all the "p" words that were used so that if you missed any, you can go back through and find them.

While I truly loved the illustrations in the book, when I reached the pages with the party food, I discovered that instead of drawing food in the same colors, theme, and style as the rest of the illustrations, they'd used real life photographs of the food interspersed with drawn illustrations of the rest of the room. I found that technique to be a bit jarring and was disappointed because the drawn illustrations are fun and fabulous. My toddler, however, didn't mind a bit.

Pigs in Pajamas is a fun, colorful way to teach a young reader about the letter "p" and I can see this being a favorite for many readers.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
CJ Redwine, Editor Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor January 28, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (400)

Colorful & Fun

PIGS IN PAJAMAS is a lively story with a lovely rhythmic rhyme that will immediately fascinate young readers. Each page is bursting with color and life, and there are so many details to discover that a young reader will be captivated anew each time.

My favorite aspect of this book is the parrot who speaks a little aside somewhere on each page. My toddler loved finding the parrot and hearing what it had to say! I also really loved that the book is focused on "p" words. The entire story is about a birthday slumber party, complete with party guests, food, and games, and the author uses multiple "p" words on every page. Perfect for reinforcing alphabet learning in young readers! The last page of the book even has a huge list of all the "p" words that were used so that if you missed any, you can go back through and find them.

While I truly loved the illustrations in the book, when I reached the pages with the party food, I discovered that instead of drawing food in the same colors, theme, and style as the rest of the illustrations, they'd used real life photographs of the food interspersed with drawn illustrations of the rest of the room. I found that technique to be a bit jarring and was disappointed because the drawn illustrations are fun and fabulous. My toddler, however, didn't mind a bit.

Pigs in Pajamas is a fun, colorful way to teach a young reader about the letter "p" and I can see this being a favorite for many readers.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Young Adult Indie
At fourteen, Catrina MacGreagor was left to care for her nine siblings after her mother passed. She didn't truly mind,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
New York Times Bestseller * Indie List Bestseller * Soon to be a Film from Universal Pictures * A Barnes...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dear Mr. S. Harris, Ignore the blob of red in the top left corner. It's jam, not blood, though I...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
At not quite fifteen, Stefan's father finally let him board the longship, Sja Vinna, to take part in his first...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson and Gayle Forman, Every Last Promise is a provocative and emotional novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
What if, after spending a lifetime deceiving everyone around you, you discovered the biggest lies were the ones you've told...
 
0.0
 
3.3 (1)
In the explosive conclusion to the thrilling Revolution 19 series, the time has come to win the cities back from...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Darcy Covington never had to worry about money or where her next shopping spree was coming from. Even her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Reality is only an illusion. Except for those who can control it… Worst. Birthday. Ever. My first boyfriend dumped me—happy...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
5-to-1-cover-small.jpg
In the year 2054, after decades of gender selection, India now has a ratio of five boys for every girl,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wren Noble is dead—she was born that way. Vibrant, unlike other dead things, she craves those rare moments when her...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Macy Jones is a perfect student, popular teenager, and utterly miserable. This all changes once her father is arrested and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ned and his identical twin brother tumble from their raft into a raging, bewitched river, only Ned survives. Villagers...
 
5.0
 
4.0 (1)
In Marla Klein and Ivy Wilde’s world, teens are the gatekeepers of culture. A top fashion label employs sixteen-year-old...
 
0.0
 
3.3 (1)
the hidden princess.jpg
One destiny rules two worlds in this gripping fantasy thriller. For five years, the Gateway has been closed and Hidden...
 
0.0
 
3.7 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
When Aidan and Maggie find a fairy cross while rock-hunting with their grandfather, it's just an oddity. But when they...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this unforgettable teen romance that fans of Sarah Dessen and Susane Colasanti will devour, Quinn Sullivan falls for the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A powerful and gripping contemporary YA from the author of I'm Not Her that's "Just right for fans of Sarah...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins is sassier than ever in this page-turning follow up to Rebel Belle, perfect...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)