Pigs in Pajamas

Pigs in Pajamas Featured

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
726   0
Write Review
Pigs in Pajamas
Author(s)
Age Range
1+
Release Date
December 11, 2012
ISBN
0375848177
Buy This Book
      
At Penelope Pig's sleepover party, six pigs in pj's eat pizza and pasta, pound a pinata, pin the tail on the pony, prance to piano, and then form a precarious pyramid--collapsing, of course, into a sqealing pig pile!

Maggie Smith combines rollicking rhymes and infectious alliterations to make a perfectly pleasing book filled with fun and the letter P. And while there are scads of P words in the text, the art has even more--the pictures are filled with more than 75 objects beginning with the letter P for young readers to find. The playful pictures also introduce other preschool concepts, such as colors, shapes, patterns, and counting.

Pigs in Pajamas offers a fun way to get preschoolers thinking about language and building their vocabularies. Party on, Penelope Pig!

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Colorful & Fun

PIGS IN PAJAMAS is a lively story with a lovely rhythmic rhyme that will immediately fascinate young readers. Each page is bursting with color and life, and there are so many details to discover that a young reader will be captivated anew each time.

My favorite aspect of this book is the parrot who speaks a little aside somewhere on each page. My toddler loved finding the parrot and hearing what it had to say! I also really loved that the book is focused on "p" words. The entire story is about a birthday slumber party, complete with party guests, food, and games, and the author uses multiple "p" words on every page. Perfect for reinforcing alphabet learning in young readers! The last page of the book even has a huge list of all the "p" words that were used so that if you missed any, you can go back through and find them.

While I truly loved the illustrations in the book, when I reached the pages with the party food, I discovered that instead of drawing food in the same colors, theme, and style as the rest of the illustrations, they'd used real life photographs of the food interspersed with drawn illustrations of the rest of the room. I found that technique to be a bit jarring and was disappointed because the drawn illustrations are fun and fabulous. My toddler, however, didn't mind a bit.

Pigs in Pajamas is a fun, colorful way to teach a young reader about the letter "p" and I can see this being a favorite for many readers.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

  

   

   

    

  

   

 

Latest Book Listings Added

The Cabinet of Souls (R.L. Stine's Monsterville #1)
Dare to enter a mysterious realm where the cost of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Genie in a Bottle (Whatever After #9)
Abby and her little brother, Jonah, have a magic mirror...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hour of Magic (Geronimo Stilton and the Kingdom of Fantasy #8)
I, Geronimo Stilton, was amazed to find myself called back...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Enemy Above
In 1942 twelve-year-old Anton, his family, and their small community...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Skeleth
For the lords of the north, land is power. The...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mayhem (Lawless #3)
M Freeman has been a star pupil at the Lawless...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
cover60900-medium.png
Toby's sister and baby brother love their schools - they...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every Exquisite Thing
Nanette O'Hare is an unassuming teen who has played the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emma and Julia Love Ballet
Emma is little. Julia is big. They both love...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blobfish Book
Perfect for fans of Battle Bunny and Z Is for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5)
The long path to the throne has only just begun...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gemina (The Illuminae Files #2)
The highly anticipated sequel to the instant New York Times...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2)
Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ask Me How I Got Here
Addie has always known what she was running toward. In...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Time We Were Us
A passionate summer love story about a girl, her childhood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Way Back To You
In this witty, heart-tugging novel, two teens take a spontaneous...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)