Books Kids Fiction The Lost Heir (Wings of Fire #2)

The Lost Heir (Wings of Fire #2) Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/97/ab/1e/_15809617-1359230138.jpg
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1826   0
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
January 01, 2013
ISBN
9780545349192
Buy This Book
      
The WINGS OF FIRE saga continues with a thrilling underwater adventure -- and a mystery that will change everything!

The lost heir to the SeaWing throne is going home at last...

She can’t believe it’s finally happening. Tsunami and her fellow dragonets of destiny are journeying under the water to the great SeaWing Kingdom. Stolen as an egg from the royal hatchery, Tsunami is eager to meet her future subjects and reunite with her mother, Queen Coral.

But Tsunami’s triumphant return doesn’t go quite the way she’d imagined. Queen Coral welcomes her with open wings, but a mysterious assassin has been killing off the queen's heirs for years, and Tsunami may be the next target. The dragonets came to the SeaWings for protection, but this ocean hides secrets, betrayal—and perhaps even death.

Editor reviews

Average editor rating from: 2 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
3.8
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.5  (2)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
3.0  (1)

Having been pleasantly surprised with the opening story in this series, The Dragonet Prophecy (Book 1), I was excited to be able to read the next in the series so soon! And The Lost Heir did not disappoint. Mystery, intrigue, great plot twists, and yes, even a little bit of romance, dragon-ish romance, kept me turning page after page.
We meet up with the dragonets after their disappointing meeting with Clay the Mudwing’s family. Each of the dragonets has dreamed of reuniting with their families for most of their lives, and the Seawing dragonet, Tsunami, is no exception. Not only that, but she is anxious to return to her kingdom because she just found out that she is most likely the heir to the throne—next in line to be Queen of the Seawings. Yet as she and her companions meet the Seawings and enter their secret palace, things take a sinister turn.
As Tsunami’s story unfolded, I found myself more and more drawn to her hopes and dreams and frustrations. Tui T. Sutherland has a writing style with excellent flow and keeps the reader on her toes, always revealing just enough to keep her guessing. And yes, she somehow does this while telling you a story from a dragon’s perspective! The incredible attention to detail in this dragon-world is another aspect of this series that keeps me glued. Pyrrhia is thoroughly conceptualized and thus extraordinarily believable and interesting—something I don’t find in many fantasies lately. From the colors and shapes on each dragon’s scales to the diverse array of sea creatures Tsunami encounters as she simply swims by, the descriptions are top-notch. Combine this with a plot that holds its own, and you’ve got a winner.
As the story moves along,Tsunami meets other family members and in turn begins to realize her true place in the Sea Kingdom—and that her part in the prophecy is more important than she imagined. Another worthy read from the fantastic land of Pyrrhia.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
3.0
Nicholette Tilghman, Editor Reviewed by Nicholette Tilghman, Editor February 01, 2013
Last updated: February 02, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (120)

Enthralling Dragon Series Continues

Having been pleasantly surprised with the opening story in this series, The Dragonet Prophecy (Book 1), I was excited to be able to read the next in the series so soon! And The Lost Heir did not disappoint. Mystery, intrigue, great plot twists, and yes, even a little bit of romance, dragon-ish romance, kept me turning page after page.
We meet up with the dragonets after their disappointing meeting with Clay the Mudwing’s family. Each of the dragonets has dreamed of reuniting with their families for most of their lives, and the Seawing dragonet, Tsunami, is no exception. Not only that, but she is anxious to return to her kingdom because she just found out that she is most likely the heir to the throne—next in line to be Queen of the Seawings. Yet as she and her companions meet the Seawings and enter their secret palace, things take a sinister turn.
As Tsunami’s story unfolded, I found myself more and more drawn to her hopes and dreams and frustrations. Tui T. Sutherland has a writing style with excellent flow and keeps the reader on her toes, always revealing just enough to keep her guessing. And yes, she somehow does this while telling you a story from a dragon’s perspective! The incredible attention to detail in this dragon-world is another aspect of this series that keeps me glued. Pyrrhia is thoroughly conceptualized and thus extraordinarily believable and interesting—something I don’t find in many fantasies lately. From the colors and shapes on each dragon’s scales to the diverse array of sea creatures Tsunami encounters as she simply swims by, the descriptions are top-notch. Combine this with a plot that holds its own, and you’ve got a winner.
As the story moves along,Tsunami meets other family members and in turn begins to realize her true place in the Sea Kingdom—and that her part in the prophecy is more important than she imagined. Another worthy read from the fantastic land of Pyrrhia.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Tsunami has escaped from the control of the Talons of Peace with the other dragonets of the prophecy. She is tired of the neverending war between the different dragon factions and wants to finally meet her mother, Queen Coral of the SeaWings, since Tsunami was stolen from the royal nursery as an egg by Webs, who was merely trying to keep the dragonets safe. When Tsunami and the other dragons approach the SeaWing kingdom, Riptide rushes to attack them! Eventually, the misunderstanding is cleared up, and he takes the group to the Summer Palace. Queen Coral and her young daughter Anemone are pleased to see Tsunami but afraid of the other dragonets, who are placed under guard for their own safety. Tsunami finds that things are not going well in the SeaWing kingdom either-- the dragon eggs are being killed far too often. Tsunami is able to figure out what is happening, and prevents her mother from killing Webs when he returns to collect the dragonets so that they can continue to help with the war. The Hidden Kingdom, book three, comes out 1 June and centers on the RainWing kingdom.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Dragon Wars

Tsunami has escaped from the control of the Talons of Peace with the other dragonets of the prophecy. She is tired of the neverending war between the different dragon factions and wants to finally meet her mother, Queen Coral of the SeaWings, since Tsunami was stolen from the royal nursery as an egg by Webs, who was merely trying to keep the dragonets safe. When Tsunami and the other dragons approach the SeaWing kingdom, Riptide rushes to attack them! Eventually, the misunderstanding is cleared up, and he takes the group to the Summer Palace. Queen Coral and her young daughter Anemone are pleased to see Tsunami but afraid of the other dragonets, who are placed under guard for their own safety. Tsunami finds that things are not going well in the SeaWing kingdom either-- the dragon eggs are being killed far too often. Tsunami is able to figure out what is happening, and prevents her mother from killing Webs when he returns to collect the dragonets so that they can continue to help with the war. The Hidden Kingdom, book three, comes out 1 June and centers on the RainWing kingdom.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
When Nic, a slave in the mines outside of Rome, is forced to enter a sealed cavern containing the lost...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
After a year at the king's palace, Miri has learned all about being a proper princess. But the tables turn...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Hopper is just an ordinary pet shop mouse before he escapes. Soon he finds himself below the bustling streets of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
The battle to free Titus's camps is over, and Hopper, Zucker, Firren, and their loyal followers are working to rebuild....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Tori Porter is best friends with her mom, and most of the time it’s awesome. Not many girls have a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
London's Youngest detective is back . . . Darkus Knightley, tweed-wearing, megabrained, fiercely logical thirteen-year-old investigator of the weird, was...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ari’s mother died four years ago, she had two final wishes: that Ari and her older brother, Gage, would...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A boy hunter, the president of the United States, and a terrorist plot converge to create an original and thrilling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rory and her friends are reeling from a series of sudden and tragic events. While racked with grief, Rory tries...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
For the most part, aspiring screenwriter Jack Bell is just your typical Midwestern kid. He’s got a crush on his...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
4.7 (1)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)