Books Kids Fiction The Lost Heir (Wings of Fire #2)

The Lost Heir (Wings of Fire #2) Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/97/ab/1e/_15809617-1359230138.jpg
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1590   0
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
January 01, 2013
ISBN
9780545349192
Buy This Book
      
The WINGS OF FIRE saga continues with a thrilling underwater adventure -- and a mystery that will change everything!

The lost heir to the SeaWing throne is going home at last...

She can’t believe it’s finally happening. Tsunami and her fellow dragonets of destiny are journeying under the water to the great SeaWing Kingdom. Stolen as an egg from the royal hatchery, Tsunami is eager to meet her future subjects and reunite with her mother, Queen Coral.

But Tsunami’s triumphant return doesn’t go quite the way she’d imagined. Queen Coral welcomes her with open wings, but a mysterious assassin has been killing off the queen's heirs for years, and Tsunami may be the next target. The dragonets came to the SeaWings for protection, but this ocean hides secrets, betrayal—and perhaps even death.

Editor reviews

Average editor rating from: 2 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
3.8
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.5  (2)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
3.0  (1)

Having been pleasantly surprised with the opening story in this series, The Dragonet Prophecy (Book 1), I was excited to be able to read the next in the series so soon! And The Lost Heir did not disappoint. Mystery, intrigue, great plot twists, and yes, even a little bit of romance, dragon-ish romance, kept me turning page after page.
We meet up with the dragonets after their disappointing meeting with Clay the Mudwing’s family. Each of the dragonets has dreamed of reuniting with their families for most of their lives, and the Seawing dragonet, Tsunami, is no exception. Not only that, but she is anxious to return to her kingdom because she just found out that she is most likely the heir to the throne—next in line to be Queen of the Seawings. Yet as she and her companions meet the Seawings and enter their secret palace, things take a sinister turn.
As Tsunami’s story unfolded, I found myself more and more drawn to her hopes and dreams and frustrations. Tui T. Sutherland has a writing style with excellent flow and keeps the reader on her toes, always revealing just enough to keep her guessing. And yes, she somehow does this while telling you a story from a dragon’s perspective! The incredible attention to detail in this dragon-world is another aspect of this series that keeps me glued. Pyrrhia is thoroughly conceptualized and thus extraordinarily believable and interesting—something I don’t find in many fantasies lately. From the colors and shapes on each dragon’s scales to the diverse array of sea creatures Tsunami encounters as she simply swims by, the descriptions are top-notch. Combine this with a plot that holds its own, and you’ve got a winner.
As the story moves along,Tsunami meets other family members and in turn begins to realize her true place in the Sea Kingdom—and that her part in the prophecy is more important than she imagined. Another worthy read from the fantastic land of Pyrrhia.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
3.0
Nicholette Tilghman, Editor Reviewed by Nicholette Tilghman, Editor February 01, 2013
Last updated: February 02, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (120)

Enthralling Dragon Series Continues

Having been pleasantly surprised with the opening story in this series, The Dragonet Prophecy (Book 1), I was excited to be able to read the next in the series so soon! And The Lost Heir did not disappoint. Mystery, intrigue, great plot twists, and yes, even a little bit of romance, dragon-ish romance, kept me turning page after page.
We meet up with the dragonets after their disappointing meeting with Clay the Mudwing’s family. Each of the dragonets has dreamed of reuniting with their families for most of their lives, and the Seawing dragonet, Tsunami, is no exception. Not only that, but she is anxious to return to her kingdom because she just found out that she is most likely the heir to the throne—next in line to be Queen of the Seawings. Yet as she and her companions meet the Seawings and enter their secret palace, things take a sinister turn.
As Tsunami’s story unfolded, I found myself more and more drawn to her hopes and dreams and frustrations. Tui T. Sutherland has a writing style with excellent flow and keeps the reader on her toes, always revealing just enough to keep her guessing. And yes, she somehow does this while telling you a story from a dragon’s perspective! The incredible attention to detail in this dragon-world is another aspect of this series that keeps me glued. Pyrrhia is thoroughly conceptualized and thus extraordinarily believable and interesting—something I don’t find in many fantasies lately. From the colors and shapes on each dragon’s scales to the diverse array of sea creatures Tsunami encounters as she simply swims by, the descriptions are top-notch. Combine this with a plot that holds its own, and you’ve got a winner.
As the story moves along,Tsunami meets other family members and in turn begins to realize her true place in the Sea Kingdom—and that her part in the prophecy is more important than she imagined. Another worthy read from the fantastic land of Pyrrhia.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Tsunami has escaped from the control of the Talons of Peace with the other dragonets of the prophecy. She is tired of the neverending war between the different dragon factions and wants to finally meet her mother, Queen Coral of the SeaWings, since Tsunami was stolen from the royal nursery as an egg by Webs, who was merely trying to keep the dragonets safe. When Tsunami and the other dragons approach the SeaWing kingdom, Riptide rushes to attack them! Eventually, the misunderstanding is cleared up, and he takes the group to the Summer Palace. Queen Coral and her young daughter Anemone are pleased to see Tsunami but afraid of the other dragonets, who are placed under guard for their own safety. Tsunami finds that things are not going well in the SeaWing kingdom either-- the dragon eggs are being killed far too often. Tsunami is able to figure out what is happening, and prevents her mother from killing Webs when he returns to collect the dragonets so that they can continue to help with the war. The Hidden Kingdom, book three, comes out 1 June and centers on the RainWing kingdom.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Dragon Wars

Tsunami has escaped from the control of the Talons of Peace with the other dragonets of the prophecy. She is tired of the neverending war between the different dragon factions and wants to finally meet her mother, Queen Coral of the SeaWings, since Tsunami was stolen from the royal nursery as an egg by Webs, who was merely trying to keep the dragonets safe. When Tsunami and the other dragons approach the SeaWing kingdom, Riptide rushes to attack them! Eventually, the misunderstanding is cleared up, and he takes the group to the Summer Palace. Queen Coral and her young daughter Anemone are pleased to see Tsunami but afraid of the other dragonets, who are placed under guard for their own safety. Tsunami finds that things are not going well in the SeaWing kingdom either-- the dragon eggs are being killed far too often. Tsunami is able to figure out what is happening, and prevents her mother from killing Webs when he returns to collect the dragonets so that they can continue to help with the war. The Hidden Kingdom, book three, comes out 1 June and centers on the RainWing kingdom.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)