The Lost Heir (Wings of Fire #2)

The Lost Heir (Wings of Fire #2) Featured

 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
3069   0
Write Review
The Lost Heir (Wings of Fire #2)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
January 01, 2013
ISBN
9780545349192
Buy This Book
      
The WINGS OF FIRE saga continues with a thrilling underwater adventure -- and a mystery that will change everything!

The lost heir to the SeaWing throne is going home at last...

She can’t believe it’s finally happening. Tsunami and her fellow dragonets of destiny are journeying under the water to the great SeaWing Kingdom. Stolen as an egg from the royal hatchery, Tsunami is eager to meet her future subjects and reunite with her mother, Queen Coral.

But Tsunami’s triumphant return doesn’t go quite the way she’d imagined. Queen Coral welcomes her with open wings, but a mysterious assassin has been killing off the queen's heirs for years, and Tsunami may be the next target. The dragonets came to the SeaWings for protection, but this ocean hides secrets, betrayal—and perhaps even death.

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.8
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.5  (2)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
3.0  (1)
(Updated: February 02, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
3.0

Enthralling Dragon Series Continues

Having been pleasantly surprised with the opening story in this series, The Dragonet Prophecy (Book 1), I was excited to be able to read the next in the series so soon! And The Lost Heir did not disappoint. Mystery, intrigue, great plot twists, and yes, even a little bit of romance, dragon-ish romance, kept me turning page after page.
We meet up with the dragonets after their disappointing meeting with Clay the Mudwing’s family. Each of the dragonets has dreamed of reuniting with their families for most of their lives, and the Seawing dragonet, Tsunami, is no exception. Not only that, but she is anxious to return to her kingdom because she just found out that she is most likely the heir to the throne—next in line to be Queen of the Seawings. Yet as she and her companions meet the Seawings and enter their secret palace, things take a sinister turn.
As Tsunami’s story unfolded, I found myself more and more drawn to her hopes and dreams and frustrations. Tui T. Sutherland has a writing style with excellent flow and keeps the reader on her toes, always revealing just enough to keep her guessing. And yes, she somehow does this while telling you a story from a dragon’s perspective! The incredible attention to detail in this dragon-world is another aspect of this series that keeps me glued. Pyrrhia is thoroughly conceptualized and thus extraordinarily believable and interesting—something I don’t find in many fantasies lately. From the colors and shapes on each dragon’s scales to the diverse array of sea creatures Tsunami encounters as she simply swims by, the descriptions are top-notch. Combine this with a plot that holds its own, and you’ve got a winner.
As the story moves along,Tsunami meets other family members and in turn begins to realize her true place in the Sea Kingdom—and that her part in the prophecy is more important than she imagined. Another worthy read from the fantastic land of Pyrrhia.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Dragon Wars

Tsunami has escaped from the control of the Talons of Peace with the other dragonets of the prophecy. She is tired of the neverending war between the different dragon factions and wants to finally meet her mother, Queen Coral of the SeaWings, since Tsunami was stolen from the royal nursery as an egg by Webs, who was merely trying to keep the dragonets safe. When Tsunami and the other dragons approach the SeaWing kingdom, Riptide rushes to attack them! Eventually, the misunderstanding is cleared up, and he takes the group to the Summer Palace. Queen Coral and her young daughter Anemone are pleased to see Tsunami but afraid of the other dragonets, who are placed under guard for their own safety. Tsunami finds that things are not going well in the SeaWing kingdom either-- the dragon eggs are being killed far too often. Tsunami is able to figure out what is happening, and prevents her mother from killing Webs when he returns to collect the dragonets so that they can continue to help with the war. The Hidden Kingdom, book three, comes out 1 June and centers on the RainWing kingdom.

Good Points
Here's the kicker-- Sutherland has written three of the highly addictive Erin Hunter books. I can't explain why reluctant readers like these books SO much, but they do! There is something about the different types of animals, the different factions, the territorial disputes and the general soap opera-ish feel of these that keeps young readers waiting breathlessly for the next installment. The same is true here, but it's even better than cats, polar bears or feral dogs-- it's dragons! The book is complete with maps of the dragon kingdoms as well as pictures of the different types as well as descriptions and explanations of which kind of dragon is aligned with which.
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

  

   

   

    

  

   

 

Latest Book Listings Added

cover60900-medium.png
Toby's sister and baby brother love their schools - they...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every Exquisite Thing
Nanette O'Hare is an unassuming teen who has played the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emma and Julia Love Ballet
Emma is little. Julia is big. They both love...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blobfish Book
Perfect for fans of Battle Bunny and Z Is for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5)
The long path to the throne has only just begun...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gemina (The Illuminae Files #2)
The highly anticipated sequel to the instant New York Times...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2)
Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ask Me How I Got Here
Addie has always known what she was running toward. In...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Time We Were Us
A passionate summer love story about a girl, her childhood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Way Back To You
In this witty, heart-tugging novel, two teens take a spontaneous...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Happens Now
"I know what it is to want something so badly,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
All I Need
The last night of summer is only the beginning. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Occasional Diamond Thief
What if you learned your father was a thief?...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Salarian Desert Game
What if someone you love gambled on her life? ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Truth About Forever
A long, hot summer... That's what Macy...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“The mother I knew would never do those things. ...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)