I Survived #7: I Survived the Battle of Gettysburg, 1863

I Survived #7: I Survived the Battle of Gettysburg, 1863 Featured

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
2479   1
Write Review
I Survived #7: I Survived the Battle of Gettysburg, 1863
Age Range
8+
Release Date
February 01, 2013
ISBN
9780545459365
Buy This Book
      
The bloodiest battle in American history is under way . . .

It's 1863, and Thomas and his little sister, Birdie, have fled the farm where they were born and raised as slaves. Following the North Star, looking for freedom, they soon cross paths with a Union soldier. Everything changes: Corporal Henry Green brings Thomas and Birdie back to his regiment, and suddenly it feels like they've found a new home. Best of all, they don't have to find their way north alone-they're marching with the army.

But then orders come through: The men are called to battle in Pennsylvania. Thomas has made it so far . . . but does he have what it takes to survive Gettysburg?

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

We Were There at the Battle of Gettsyburg

It's always great when there is historical fiction that children will read and enjoy. Years ago, there was a series called "We Were There" that placed children at the scene of many historical events, and the "I Survived" series is a nice update of that concept. The Civil War is always a topic that is popular, and this short book is a nice introduction.

Good Points
For short, easy-to-read books, this series packs a huge historical wallop. Tarshis mentions in a note the research involved in writing this book, and it shows. I loved the action and adventure, as well as the nice touches like the skunk throwing. These are perfect for elementary students, and certainly would have been something I order through the Scholastic book clubs when my own children were younger. For middle school students, these are fast, easy reads that also teach them a whole lot when they least expect it!
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

 

   

   

   

  

   

   

   

   

  

   

   

  

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Ninja Bunny: Sister vs. Brother
A hilarious new Ninja Bunny adventure featuring a humongous carrot,...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Lost and The Found
Fans of Lucy Christopher’s Stolen, Caroline B. Cooney’s The Face...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Dragons from Mars
For fans of Dragons Love Tacos comes a fun, silly...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Grandparents Love Me
From the illustrator of I Love Dad and I Love...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Be the Change: A Grandfather Gandhi Story
In this breathtaking companion to the award-winning Grandfather Gandhi, Arun...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Five-Minute True Stories: Animal BFFs
Joker the dog loves to dive in and swim with...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Applesauce Weather
When the first apple falls from the tree, Faith and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Killer In Me
Hasn't he lived long enough? Why not? I could take...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The domed city of Evanescence is in ruins. With nowhere...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“It’s dark magic brings him back.” ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mission Mumbai: A Novel of Sacred Cows, Snakes, and Stolen Toilets
Travel to the colorful and chaotic streets of India from...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreams
Moving on is the hardest thing she’ll ever have to...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Call
The Hunger Games meets horror in this unforgettable thriller...
 
3.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
Piper and Ash's story concludes in the fifth and final...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Piper is feeling a bit overwhelmed. With Seiya and Lyre...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
2015 Goodreads Choice Awards - Nominee in Best Fantasy ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)