Books Kids Fiction Hideout (Swindle #5)

Hideout (Swindle #5) Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/32/ae/7a/_15809619-1359212590.jpg
 
4.0
 
5.0 (1)
1542   1
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
January 01, 2013
ISBN
978-0545448666
Buy This Book
      
The Man With The Plan and his friends return in this fifth romp in the Swindle series!

HIDEOUT: a place to escape detection, especially when being chased by someone determined to have revenge. . .

When Griffin Bing and his friends first met Luthor, he was a vicious attack dog working for the slimy S. Wendell Palomino - as known as Swindle. The kids rescued Luthor, and never thought they'd see Swindle again.

But now Swindle's returned. And he wants his dog back.

Swindle has manipulated the law so that there's no way for Savannah Drysdale to keep Luthor in her house. Before he can be taken away, they decide to made him disappear - away from Swindle.

Six kids. Three hideouts. One extremely large dog.

What could possibly go wrong?

Editor reviews

I especially enjoyed that three different summer camps were visited and described.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Karen Yingling, Staff Reviewer Reviewed by Karen Yingling, Staff Reviewer January 26, 2013
Last updated: February 28, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (428)

Summer Camp Madness

I especially enjoyed that three different summer camps were visited and described.

Good Points
Giant dog? Check. Summer camp? Check. Kids out to thwart evil villian? Check!

This fifth book in the Swindle series is invigorated by changing venues. The only thing better than summer camp? Summer camp while hiding a giant dog FROM an evil villian!

This was a wild and completely unrealistic romp-- but not so totally out of the realm of possibility! Savannah calming Luthor down via iPod, hiding a giant dog in a theater, even getting rides on the various delivery trucks are all things that particularly clever kids could pull off. There is nonstop action and humor in these books, and Korman is an expert at weaving middle grade stories.
Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Hideout is 100% better than the last one, more action, mor adventure, and the best part not as many adults. The best part is when they are underneath Swindles cabin trying to get Luther back.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Andrew Reviewed by Andrew April 26, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (12)

Better Than The Last One

Hideout is 100% better than the last one, more action, mor adventure, and the best part not as many adults. The best part is when they are underneath Swindles cabin trying to get Luther back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: How It Ends by Catherine Lo + Giveaway (International)

    We have another great cover reveal for you, YABC! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for HOW IT ENDS by Catherine Lo, releasing June 7, 2016 from Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Books for Young Readers. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Catherine:   ...

  • What's New in YA

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!     When high school senior Kelsey’s identical twin sister, Michelle, dies in a car crash, Kelsey is left without her other half. The only person who doesn’t know about the trag ...

  • Giveaway: Damage Done by Amanda Panitch (US & Canada Only)

    DAMAGE DONE by Amanda Panitch Release Date: 7/21/2015     About the Book Family can be a real killer. DAMAGE DONE is a gripping YA debut about a girl trying to escape the past. In this deliciously disturbing, heart-in-your-throat psychological thriller, the tru ...

  • Diversify Your Shelves with WNDB

      Column by Maurene Goo   Maybe it’s because Comic Con is around the corner, or just the general languor that settles in when it’s hot—but summer always makes me want to crack into a good graphic novel and just completely escape. So here ar ...

  • Giveaway: 5 Seconds of Summer: All Exposed by Mick O'Shea (US & Canada Only)

    5 Seconds of Summer: All Exposed by Mick O’Shea Release Date: 10/07/2015   About the Book They've toured with One Direction and scored international super-hits in more than 50 countries across the globe but 5 Seconds of Summer are more than just another boy band. Like ...

  • Giveaway: The Princess & the Pony by Kate Beaton (US Only)

    THE PRINCESS AND THE PONY by Kate Beaton In stores June 30th   About the Book Princess Pinecone knows exactly what she wants for her birthday this year. A BIG horse. A STRONG horse. A horse fit for a WARRIOR PRINCESS! But when the day arrives, she doesn't quite get the ...

  • Giveaway: The Star Side of Bird Hill by Naomi Jackson (US Only)

    The Star Side of Bird Hill by Naomi Jackson   Release Date: 6/30/15   About the Book Summer, 1989: Sixteen-year-old Dionne Braithwaite and her younger sister Phaedra have just arrived in Bird Hill in Barbados. Sent from Brooklyn by their mother after she can no longe ...

  • Giveaway: Siren's Fury by Mary Weber (US Only)

    Siren’s Fury by Mary Weber Release Date: June 2, 2015   About the Book “I thrust my hand toward the sky as my voice begs the Elemental inside me to waken and rise. But it’s no use. The curse I’ve spent my entire life abhorring—the thing I trained so hard to control—no ...

  • Giveaway: Paperweight by Meg Haston (US Only)

    PAPERWEIGHT by Meg Haston   Release Date: July 7, 2015   About the Book In the vein of Laurie Halse Anderson's Wintergirls, this emotionally haunting and beautifully written young adult debut delves into the devastating impact of trauma and loss. Seventeen-ye ...

  • Giveaway: Wanted Series by Erin Johnson (US Only)

    About the Books   WANTED: Grace and the Guiltless (Book 1) by Erin Johnson Release Date: August 1, 2014 As the first book in the new young-adult series Wanted, Grace and the Guiltless is an edge-of-your-seat, gripping thrill ride. Set in the Wild West, the book pigg ...

  • Giveaway: Becoming Darkness by Lindsay Brambles (US & Canada Only)

    Becoming Darkness by Lindsay Brambles Release Date: October 1, 2015     About the Book Becoming Darkness is a dark, action-filled tale set in an alternate twenty-first century in which Hitler won World War II, our modern technologies never evolved, and the Nazi ...

  • Giveaway: Alive by Chandler Baker (US Only)

    ALIVE   by Chandler Baker Release Date: June 9, 2015     About the Book Stella Cross's heart is poisoned. After years on the transplant waiting list, she's running out of hope that she'll ever see her eighteenth birthday. Then, miraculously, Stella re ...

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

51iGVDfpBrL._SX327_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the tradition of Sharon Creech and Wendy Mass, Corey Ann Haydu's sparkling middle grade debut is a sister story...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
51VpiSn2KKL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
An engrossing fantasy, a high-seas adventure, an alternate history epic—this is the richly imagined and gorgeously realized new book from...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
51sUO9Zx62L._SX337_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
Ronan Truelove barely survived his first encounter with his father and the Bend Sinister. Now, he’s determined to become one...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Eva has always wanted to write a modern classic—one that actually appeals to her generation. The only problem is that...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
That sweaty, gut-clenching, suffocating, racing-heart feeling... that dull, never-ending sense that something's wrong. What is it? Anxiety, which together with...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twin sisters Kelsey and Michelle Maxfield look identical -- but they couldn't be more different. Kelsey is the captain of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Your day starts at 6 a.m. and ends at midnight -- if you're lucky. You keep up with all two...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Many people experience depression at one time or another in their lives, but during the adolescent years, the vast number...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mental Health Information for Teens, Fourth Edition: Health Tips About Mental Wellness and Mental Illness, Including Facts About Recognizing and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Making a difficult topic easier to comprehend, "Heads Up Psychology" offers big ideas, simply explained, for teen readers. Psychology is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Practice Makes Perfect. Everyone at Hundred Oaks High knows that career mentoring day is a joke....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
The first book in an epic new series for fans of The School for Good and Evil and The Land...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
*36:00:00* The clock activates so suddenly in my mind, my head involuntarily jerks a bit to...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gone Girl meets 13 Reasons Why in this stylish, sexy, and atmospheric story about friendship packed...
 
4.0 (2)
 
2.7 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Paper in the Wind is a compassionate and riveting story depicting a single father’s dedication to his daughter. In the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
THE CLIMATE IS CHANGING. Thousands are fleeing the chaos and social unrest. “You could almost imagine everything was like...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
THE CLIMATE IS CHANGING. Thousands are fleeing the chaos and social unrest. With their own water and power supplies, fourteen...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Zane is not that interested in the Gollywhopper Games. He'd rather play football and is sure that he's headed straight...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Chock-full of puzzles, riddles, and challenges for the reader to solve along with the main characters, this fast-paced companion to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
On his twelfth birthday, Archie Greene receives a mysterious package containing an ancient book in a language he doesn't recognize....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)