Books Kids Fiction Good Morning Sunshine

Good Morning Sunshine Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/33/99/c0/_000-1359002136.jpg
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
705   0
Age Range
1+
Release Date
February 01, 2013
ISBN
0545436451
Buy This Book
      
Start your morning off right with this interactive novelty story by the bestselling Sandra Magsamen!

Kids who like playing make-believe will love this interactive board book filled with pull tabs, flaps, and foil! Open the fridge, flip the eggs, squeeze the orange juice, and get ready for breakfast with Sandra Magsamen!

With so many manipulatives to use and play, it's fun for everyone!

Editor reviews

What I Loved:

The illustrations are bright, colorful, and immediately draw a young reader in. I read the book to my daughter who is nearly 3, and she loved the pictures. There are simple, recognizable items on each page, and young readers like to point out what they know and ask the names of the things they don't yet recognize.

I also loved most of the interactive features in the book. My daughter really enjoyed pulling tabs, flipping folds, and exclaiming over the book that was also an interactive toy.

What Left Me Wanting More:

The pull tab for the toast is difficult for young readers to work (even I had some trouble with it), and is in danger of being ripped if toddlers try too hard. I finally taught my daughter to pull the toast up herself instead of using the tab. The last page doesn't actually turn like a regular page, but instead needs to unfolded to a poster size picture of the completed breakfast. Once my daughter saw the poster, she was thrilled, but before that she kept trying to open the page the way it normally would, and she nearly ripped the poster as a result. A young reader who can be trained to be careful will have years of enjoyment out of this book, but a reader who is more impulsive or forgetful might rip some of the sections.

Final Verdict:

Good Morning Sunshine is a bright, vibrant book with plenty of opportunities for a young reader to interact with the story.
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
CJ Redwine, Editor Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor January 23, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (397)

Interactive Fun

What I Loved:

The illustrations are bright, colorful, and immediately draw a young reader in. I read the book to my daughter who is nearly 3, and she loved the pictures. There are simple, recognizable items on each page, and young readers like to point out what they know and ask the names of the things they don't yet recognize.

I also loved most of the interactive features in the book. My daughter really enjoyed pulling tabs, flipping folds, and exclaiming over the book that was also an interactive toy.

What Left Me Wanting More:

The pull tab for the toast is difficult for young readers to work (even I had some trouble with it), and is in danger of being ripped if toddlers try too hard. I finally taught my daughter to pull the toast up herself instead of using the tab. The last page doesn't actually turn like a regular page, but instead needs to unfolded to a poster size picture of the completed breakfast. Once my daughter saw the poster, she was thrilled, but before that she kept trying to open the page the way it normally would, and she nearly ripped the poster as a result. A young reader who can be trained to be careful will have years of enjoyment out of this book, but a reader who is more impulsive or forgetful might rip some of the sections.

Final Verdict:

Good Morning Sunshine is a bright, vibrant book with plenty of opportunities for a young reader to interact with the story.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
Tori Porter is best friends with her mom, and most of the time it’s awesome. Not many girls have a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
London's Youngest detective is back . . . Darkus Knightley, tweed-wearing, megabrained, fiercely logical thirteen-year-old investigator of the weird, was...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ari’s mother died four years ago, she had two final wishes: that Ari and her older brother, Gage, would...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A boy hunter, the president of the United States, and a terrorist plot converge to create an original and thrilling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rory and her friends are reeling from a series of sudden and tragic events. While racked with grief, Rory tries...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
For the most part, aspiring screenwriter Jack Bell is just your typical Midwestern kid. He’s got a crush on his...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
4.7 (1)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)