Books Kids Fiction Good Morning Sunshine

Good Morning Sunshine Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/33/99/c0/_000-1359002136.jpg
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
612   0
Age Range
1+
Release Date
February 01, 2013
ISBN
0545436451
Buy This Book
      
Start your morning off right with this interactive novelty story by the bestselling Sandra Magsamen!

Kids who like playing make-believe will love this interactive board book filled with pull tabs, flaps, and foil! Open the fridge, flip the eggs, squeeze the orange juice, and get ready for breakfast with Sandra Magsamen!

With so many manipulatives to use and play, it's fun for everyone!

Editor reviews

What I Loved:

The illustrations are bright, colorful, and immediately draw a young reader in. I read the book to my daughter who is nearly 3, and she loved the pictures. There are simple, recognizable items on each page, and young readers like to point out what they know and ask the names of the things they don't yet recognize.

I also loved most of the interactive features in the book. My daughter really enjoyed pulling tabs, flipping folds, and exclaiming over the book that was also an interactive toy.

What Left Me Wanting More:

The pull tab for the toast is difficult for young readers to work (even I had some trouble with it), and is in danger of being ripped if toddlers try too hard. I finally taught my daughter to pull the toast up herself instead of using the tab. The last page doesn't actually turn like a regular page, but instead needs to unfolded to a poster size picture of the completed breakfast. Once my daughter saw the poster, she was thrilled, but before that she kept trying to open the page the way it normally would, and she nearly ripped the poster as a result. A young reader who can be trained to be careful will have years of enjoyment out of this book, but a reader who is more impulsive or forgetful might rip some of the sections.

Final Verdict:

Good Morning Sunshine is a bright, vibrant book with plenty of opportunities for a young reader to interact with the story.
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
CJ Redwine, Editor Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor January 23, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (397)

Interactive Fun

What I Loved:

The illustrations are bright, colorful, and immediately draw a young reader in. I read the book to my daughter who is nearly 3, and she loved the pictures. There are simple, recognizable items on each page, and young readers like to point out what they know and ask the names of the things they don't yet recognize.

I also loved most of the interactive features in the book. My daughter really enjoyed pulling tabs, flipping folds, and exclaiming over the book that was also an interactive toy.

What Left Me Wanting More:

The pull tab for the toast is difficult for young readers to work (even I had some trouble with it), and is in danger of being ripped if toddlers try too hard. I finally taught my daughter to pull the toast up herself instead of using the tab. The last page doesn't actually turn like a regular page, but instead needs to unfolded to a poster size picture of the completed breakfast. Once my daughter saw the poster, she was thrilled, but before that she kept trying to open the page the way it normally would, and she nearly ripped the poster as a result. A young reader who can be trained to be careful will have years of enjoyment out of this book, but a reader who is more impulsive or forgetful might rip some of the sections.

Final Verdict:

Good Morning Sunshine is a bright, vibrant book with plenty of opportunities for a young reader to interact with the story.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)