Books Kids Fiction The Berenstain Bears and the Trouble with Things

The Berenstain Bears and the Trouble with Things Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/d7/23/21/_61gqnzucqil-sl500-aa300--1358871886.jpg
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
374   0
Publisher
Age Range
4+
Release Date
January 22, 2013
ISBN
978-0310720911
Buy This Book
      
In this new Berenstain Bear, Living Lights 8x8 The Berenstain Bears and The Trouble with Things, the Bears are dealing with a typical family issue ... the idea that they need 'things.' And even more things! Brother Bear wants a Space Grizzlies play set. Sister Bear begs for a Bearbie dream house. Even Papa Bear thinks he needs a new fishing rod! But thanks to Mama Bear's wisdom the family learns that God offers more than just material things.

Editor reviews

We all have things. Things we don't need, things we think we need, and things we don't even use. Once again, Jan and Mike Berenstain put a wonderful lesson into their story that the whole family can benefit from. Not only do Brother and Sister Bear have too many things and still want more, but Mama and Papa Bear do, too!

Reading through this book with my children was a blessing. Right now we are going through all of our things to donate somethings and throw away the broken items. It's hard in the world we live in today to not be consumed by all the things we think we need. Around every corner there is an advertisement for a new item, commercials, and Christmas and birthdays get worse every year. This book discusses the story of King Solomon and how God wrote not even in all of Solomon's splendor was he was beautiful as the simple flowers God gives us. I love that story about Kind Solomon and it's a great reminder to all of us, young and old, to remember where our focus should be.

In the back of the book there are discussion questions and we really enjoyed talking through them. My boys are now excited to go through their toys and donate the ones they never play with to those in need. I'm so grateful for The Berenstain Bear series! The books never disappoint me or my family!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Jillian Van Leer Reviewed by Jillian Van Leer January 22, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (304)

A lovely reminder on God's greatest gifts!

We all have things. Things we don't need, things we think we need, and things we don't even use. Once again, Jan and Mike Berenstain put a wonderful lesson into their story that the whole family can benefit from. Not only do Brother and Sister Bear have too many things and still want more, but Mama and Papa Bear do, too!

Reading through this book with my children was a blessing. Right now we are going through all of our things to donate somethings and throw away the broken items. It's hard in the world we live in today to not be consumed by all the things we think we need. Around every corner there is an advertisement for a new item, commercials, and Christmas and birthdays get worse every year. This book discusses the story of King Solomon and how God wrote not even in all of Solomon's splendor was he was beautiful as the simple flowers God gives us. I love that story about Kind Solomon and it's a great reminder to all of us, young and old, to remember where our focus should be.

In the back of the book there are discussion questions and we really enjoyed talking through them. My boys are now excited to go through their toys and donate the ones they never play with to those in need. I'm so grateful for The Berenstain Bear series! The books never disappoint me or my family!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: The Mirror King by Jodi Meadows + Giveaway (US Only)

    Welcome to another fabulous cover reveal, YABC! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for THE MIRROR KING by Jodi Meadows, releasing April 5, 2016 from Katherine Tegen Books/HarperCollins Publishers. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Jodi:   ...

  • What's New in YA

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!       When you’re in love with the wrong person for the right reasons, anything could happen. Tretch lives in a very small town where everybody's in everybody else ...

  • Books Aren't Dangerous Campaign

      Do you remember that book that changed your life as a reader, or maybe just your life in general? You do? That’s great!        Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl, authors of the BEAUTIFUL CREATURES series, have started a campaign called BOOKS AREN’T DANG ...

  • TOMORROWLAND - Drive Through Movie Review

    **********NO SPOILERS************ The Nerd Riders, Kristin and Clint, give their thoughts on the new Disney film TOMORROWLAND.    QUESTION: If you could go to an alternate universe what would you want to see there? ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: The Secret Side of Empty by Maria E. Andreu + Giveaway (US/Canada)

    Hi, YABC! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for THE SECRET SIDE OF EMPTY by Maria E. Andreu, releasing September 1, 2015 from Running Press. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Maria:   YABC Readers!  I’m so excited to share the pape ...

  • May 2015 YABC Book Haul

    Hey YABCers! Once again, our office has been innundated with books, books, and  more BOOKS! We've run out of shelf space which can only mean one thing .... it's time for the May Book Haul! Enjoy the video and let us know in the comments which books you can't wait to add to your TBR. &nbs ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: Insidious by Dawn Metcalf + Giveaway (US/Canada)

    Hello, YABC! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for INSIDIOUS by Dawn Metcalf, releasing August 25, 2015 from Harlequin TEEN. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Dawn:   You know when you finish a story, you never really finish because there' ...

  • What's New in YA

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!       A School for Unusual Girls is the first captivating installment in the Stranje House series for young adults by award-winning author Kathleen Baldwin. #1 New York ...

  • The Librarian's Corner

      This month's theme for the Librarian's corner is all about picture books you can share with teens! Picture books aren't just for kids and babies anymore. In fact, teens love storytime too!    For May, I am featuring some of my favorite picture books to share ...

  • The Greater Rochester Teen Book Festival

        The Greater Rochester Teen Book Festival--TBF 2015 Contributed by Kayla King, Blog Manager and Staff Reviewer   Here at Young Adult Books Central, we LOVE YA! Fortunately for us, The Greater Rochester Book Festival held at Nazareth Collge devotes itself to s ...

  • Giveaway: If You Feel Too Much by Jamie Tworkowski (US Only)

    If You Feel Too Much: Thoughts on Things Found and Lost and Hoped For By Jamie Tworkowski Release Date: May 26, 2015   About the Book In 2006 Jamie Tworkowski wrote a story called “To Write Love on Her Arms” about helping a friend through her struggle with drug addiction, ...

  • Giveaway: Nova by Margaret Fortune (US Only)

    Nova by Margaret Fortune   Release Date: June 2nd   About the Book *36:00:00* The clock activates so suddenly in my mind, my head involuntarily jerks a bit to the side. The fog vanishes, dissipated in an instant as though it never was. Memories come slotting ...

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Catherine Linka, the sequel and explosive conclusion to A Girl Called Fearless. Having survived a violent confrontation with the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When sixteen-year-old Tess Kendrick is sent to live with her older sister, Ivy, she has no idea that the infamous...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheEscape.jpg
Not everyone who goes into the woods comes out.... It was supposed to be a short hike, a way for...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The realities of teen prostitution are revealed in this eye-opening, heartbreaking story from the author of America, which Booklist called...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The_Dogst.jpg
Out of the corner of my eye, I catch something moving by the barn. When I look, it disappears. Wait....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A stunning re-imagining of Robin Hood, the first in an exciting new trilogy Forget everything you've ever heard about Robin...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A summer romance filled with danger and lies Jane is ready for a fantastic summer. In fact, she’s pretty sure...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fans of Pretty Little Liars and L.A. Candy will devour this fast-paced series from a writer New York Times bestselling...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mina is seventeen. A virgin. And pregnant. Mina is top of her class, girlfriend to the most ambitious guy in...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“I loved CHARMED . . . I couldn't turn the pages fast enough!” raves Amy Tintera, author of Reboot, of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Pagan Jones went from America's sweetheart to fallen angel in one fateful night in 1960: the night a car accident...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
An unforgettable new series from acclaimed author Katie McGarry about taking risks, opening your heart and ending up in a...
 
0.0
 
4.7 (1)
Category: Kids Fiction
A war torn country - a town that is burning. A single ship waits at the port for those who...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The sequel to the highly praised and intricately plotted Nearly Gone--a YA urban mystery that's perfect for fans of Bones,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sustain the weak. Destroy the strong . A dark fable in the vein of Animal Farm, Watership Down, and The...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
John Green's The Fault in Our Stars meets Rainbow Rowell's Eleanor & Park in this darkly funny novel from the...
 
0.0
 
3.7 (1)
Acclaimed writer Margo Rabb's Kissing in America is "a wonderful novel about friendship, love, travel, life, hope, poetry, intelligence, and...
 
0.0
 
2.7 (1)
Given the way love turned her heart in the New York Times bestselling To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
There’s school, and then there’s the real world. If you’re lucky enough to survive the first, you owe it to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Black Swan meets Pretty Little Liars in this soapy, drama-packed novel featuring diverse characters who will do anything to be...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)