The Berenstain Bears and the Trouble with Things

The Berenstain Bears and the Trouble with Things Featured

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
557   0
Write Review
The Berenstain Bears and the Trouble with Things
Publisher
Age Range
4+
Release Date
January 22, 2013
ISBN
978-0310720911
Buy This Book
      
In this new Berenstain Bear, Living Lights 8x8 The Berenstain Bears and The Trouble with Things, the Bears are dealing with a typical family issue ... the idea that they need 'things.' And even more things! Brother Bear wants a Space Grizzlies play set. Sister Bear begs for a Bearbie dream house. Even Papa Bear thinks he needs a new fishing rod! But thanks to Mama Bear's wisdom the family learns that God offers more than just material things.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

A lovely reminder on God's greatest gifts!

We all have things. Things we don't need, things we think we need, and things we don't even use. Once again, Jan and Mike Berenstain put a wonderful lesson into their story that the whole family can benefit from. Not only do Brother and Sister Bear have too many things and still want more, but Mama and Papa Bear do, too!

Reading through this book with my children was a blessing. Right now we are going through all of our things to donate somethings and throw away the broken items. It's hard in the world we live in today to not be consumed by all the things we think we need. Around every corner there is an advertisement for a new item, commercials, and Christmas and birthdays get worse every year. This book discusses the story of King Solomon and how God wrote not even in all of Solomon's splendor was he was beautiful as the simple flowers God gives us. I love that story about Kind Solomon and it's a great reminder to all of us, young and old, to remember where our focus should be.

In the back of the book there are discussion questions and we really enjoyed talking through them. My boys are now excited to go through their toys and donate the ones they never play with to those in need. I'm so grateful for The Berenstain Bear series! The books never disappoint me or my family!

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Nothando's Journey
Nothando’s Journey is a journey in self-discovery told through the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
sam miracle.png
This new fantasy-adventure series from N. D. Wilson, bestselling author...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Okay Cupid
Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart... Hazel McCallister...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)