Books Kids Fiction Wishful Thinking (Sophie's Mixed Up Magic #1)

Wishful Thinking (Sophie's Mixed Up Magic #1)

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/a4/ec/e1/_wishful-thinking-by-amanda-ashby-1358488044.jpg
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
443   0
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
May 31, 2012
ISBN
978-0142416495
Buy This Book
      
After Sophie accidentally gets herself turned into a djinn, she starts to think that it might not be so bad after all. (Of course, that's after she gets the whole orange skin problem sorted out.) Who wouldn't enjoy having the power to grant wishes! But when Sophie develops RWD (Random Wish Disorder) and can't STOP granting wishes, things get more than a little mixed-up!

Editor reviews

I love Amanda Ashby's books. They are always so much fun and have a great story to tell. Wishful Thinking is no different. Sophie is a super fun main character who I am excited to follow throughout the rest of the trilogy.

I love the liberties Amanda Ashby has taken with the traditional djinn tale. Whenever most people think genie or djinn, it is the traditional 3 wishes and a magic lamp, but Sophie quickly discovers this is not the case with the djinns in her world and her world is turned upside down. I loved learning more about the djinns.

Sophie is such a fun character and I love her crew of friends. What a great bunch! They have such a fun story to tell and I loved following along. I love that Wishful Thinking really personifies what it is like to be starting middle school, only for Sophie it is on this much bigger level with being turned into a djinn and all. The story takes a bit to pick up, but then it was smooth sailing and I couldn't put it down!

A must read for those looking for a good middle grade tale. It was fun and just a really great storyline. I cannot wait to pick up book 2 and see what is next for Sophie and her gang!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Erica, Editor Reviewed by Erica, Editor January 18, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (192)

A Super Cute Read

I love Amanda Ashby's books. They are always so much fun and have a great story to tell. Wishful Thinking is no different. Sophie is a super fun main character who I am excited to follow throughout the rest of the trilogy.

I love the liberties Amanda Ashby has taken with the traditional djinn tale. Whenever most people think genie or djinn, it is the traditional 3 wishes and a magic lamp, but Sophie quickly discovers this is not the case with the djinns in her world and her world is turned upside down. I loved learning more about the djinns.

Sophie is such a fun character and I love her crew of friends. What a great bunch! They have such a fun story to tell and I loved following along. I love that Wishful Thinking really personifies what it is like to be starting middle school, only for Sophie it is on this much bigger level with being turned into a djinn and all. The story takes a bit to pick up, but then it was smooth sailing and I couldn't put it down!

A must read for those looking for a good middle grade tale. It was fun and just a really great storyline. I cannot wait to pick up book 2 and see what is next for Sophie and her gang!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Every touch has its price Layla Shaw is trying to pick up the pieces of her shattered life—no easy task...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)