Books Kids Fiction Lily's Easter Party

Lily's Easter Party Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/a2/93/3a/_51c-ycikzl-sl500-aa300--1357677197.jpg
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
603   0
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Age Range
4+
Release Date
January 22, 2013
ISBN
978-0310725954
Buy This Book
      
This Easter, Lily's mom and dad plan an egg hunt that goes beyond chocolate bunnies, and you can, too! Based on the bestselling teaching tool from FamilyLife, this special neighborhood egg hunt leads Lily, her friends, and young readers on a search for the greatest prize of all: the miraculous story of Jesus' death and resurrection, as discovered through symbols presented in the twelve eggs from the Resurrection Eggs. An explanation of each egg and accompanying scripture reference is included.

Editor reviews

Easter can get a bit tricky sometimes for Christian households. Sometimes the message of Easter (Jesus dying on the cross and rising 3 days later) gets pushed back and the Easter bunny, eggs, and chocolate get pushed to the front. I know in my household we do our best to keep Jesus at the forefront, and books like this make it easier to do so. A few years back, we actually made Resurrection Eggs and we go through them every year. My boys love them and it helps us all to remember the true meaning of Easter. In this book, Lily knows that her parents are planning a very special Easter surprise and she invites all her friends over to join them. As it turns out, the surprise is Resurrection Eggs.

Each egg represents a different part of the Easter story. For example one egg may have thorns in it to represent the crown of thorns Jesus wore on the cross, a piece of bread to represent the Last Supper, but always at the end is an empty egg to signify Jesus rising out of the tomb. It's a wonderful way to keep the excitement of Easter egg hunting and the true meaning of Easter together. This book goes into great depth with each egg and is truly a treasure for the Christian household.

I highly recommend this book for those of you trying to keep Jesus at the forefront of your Easter celebrations each year. And I highly recommend making your own set of Resurrection Eggs!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Inspiring Story to share on Easter

Easter can get a bit tricky sometimes for Christian households. Sometimes the message of Easter (Jesus dying on the cross and rising 3 days later) gets pushed back and the Easter bunny, eggs, and chocolate get pushed to the front. I know in my household we do our best to keep Jesus at the forefront, and books like this make it easier to do so. A few years back, we actually made Resurrection Eggs and we go through them every year. My boys love them and it helps us all to remember the true meaning of Easter. In this book, Lily knows that her parents are planning a very special Easter surprise and she invites all her friends over to join them. As it turns out, the surprise is Resurrection Eggs.

Each egg represents a different part of the Easter story. For example one egg may have thorns in it to represent the crown of thorns Jesus wore on the cross, a piece of bread to represent the Last Supper, but always at the end is an empty egg to signify Jesus rising out of the tomb. It's a wonderful way to keep the excitement of Easter egg hunting and the true meaning of Easter together. This book goes into great depth with each egg and is truly a treasure for the Christian household.

I highly recommend this book for those of you trying to keep Jesus at the forefront of your Easter celebrations each year. And I highly recommend making your own set of Resurrection Eggs!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)