Finding Zasha Featured Hot

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
4676   0
Write Review
Finding Zasha
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
11+
Release Date
January 01, 2013
ISBN
9780545452182
Buy This Book
      
Randi Barrow is back with another gripping heroic World War II story about a boy and his best friend, a German shepherd!

In 1941, the Germans began the long, bloody siege on Leningrad. During the chaos, twelve-year-old Ivan is sent to live with relatives when his mother's job is moved to the mountains. But it is a long and dangerous journey to get out of Leningrad. After settling into a new town it falls under Nazi occupation and Ivan is picked by Axel Recht, an especially heinous soldier, to come work for the Nazis. One of Ivan's more pleasant tasks is to train Alex's dogs. Yet Ivan is determined to use his position to undermine the Nazis and rescue the dogs. But Ivan underestimates Axel's attachment to Zasha and Thor, and soon finds himself being hunted by a ruthless soldier who will stop at nothing to get his dogs back. As World War II rages around them, Ivan must find a way to hide from Axel, protect Zasha and Thor, avoid the constant barrage of deadly bombings, and survive in the devastating conditions of a city cut off from the world.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

World War II-- Germans and German Shepherds

This prequel to Saving Zasha recounts the story of Ivan, who is living in an apartment in Leningrad with his mother. When the city is bombed, a neighbor comes to live with them, and Auntie, who has lived through the revolution, shows Ivan many tricks that he needs to survive. She has hoarded food under floorboards, has rubles stuffed into table legs, and is unemotional about burning her furniture and books for fuel when times get tough. When Ivan's mother's job in a factory gets moved to another city, Ivan and Auntie head off to his Uncle Boris' cabin. After a harrowing journey, which involved walking six miles over a frozen lake when the truck they are in breaks down as well as a run in with partisans, Ivan decides to stay with Auntie at her relative's house. Galina knows that danger is coming, but is glad of having Ivan's help. Most of the small neighborhood is deserted, with residents heading off to Moscow, but the remaining people are trying to fight the Nazis. When the local commander, Axel Recht, sees Ivan play the concertina, he asks Ivan to come live at the base. Ivan agrees because he can spy on the Germans there, and also because he is worried for two German Shepherd puppies, Zasha and Thor. He wants to help them escape for their own safety, and also so that the partisans can use them instead of the Nazis. This, of course, is fraught with danger, but Ivan manages to break free of the Nazis and live through the war without bringing himself to their attention. Axel Recht, however, is a horrible man bent on revenge, and he is bound and determined to find Ivan and the dogs.


Good Points
I liked the first book, but am very glad that this came out. It is filled with all of the excitement that Saving Zasha could have used. Survival in Leningrad, a perilous journey away from the city, dealing with the Nazis and eventually escaping them-- excellent stuff. Now that we know Zasha's backstory, reading about what happens to her after the war makes a lot more sense. The covers of both of these are both beautiful and scary at the same time!
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

 

   

   

  

Latest Book Listings Added

Bob and Joss Get Lost
Perfect for fans of I’m Bored, Bob and Joss Get...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tugboat Bill and the River Rescue
Fans of Little Tug and Chugga-Chugga Choo-Choo will love this...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Charlie Piechart and the Case of the Missing Hat
Charlie Piechart’s second math mystery takes place at school—when a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fly Guy's Ninja Chistmas (Fly Guy #16)
In the new book in Tedd Arnold's New York Times...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
How to Keep a Boy from Kissing You
Executor of the Find a Prince Program™ and future...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Allegedly
Mary B. Addison killed a baby. Allegedly. She didn’t...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Avenged (Vanished #2)
Avenged is the conclusion to the Vanished duology, an...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Hard Count
Nico Medina’s world is eleven miles away from mine....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
City of Saints & Thieves
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo meets Gone Girl...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
RoseBlood
In this modern day spin on Leroux’s gothic tale...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fish Girl
The triple Caldecott winner David Wiesner brings his rich visual...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Macarons at Midnight
When Lise Santos stumbles into a bakery's midnight taste test,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
One Silver Summer
After losing her mom in an accident, Sass is sent...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Villain's Assistan
Secret designs and dark ambition have split the kingdom of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
NanoBots
A boy inventor creates the ultimate in high-tech superheroes that...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Hannah Hoffman - Pathway to Dragons - Book Cover - 100616 - Crop.jpg
Nine-year-old Billy Jones dreams of having a pet dragon! After...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)