The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle

The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle Featured

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
911   0
Write Review
The True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle
Author(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
September 12, 2012
ISBN
9780545477116
Buy This Book
      
Avi's treasured Newbery Honor Book now in expanded After Words edition!

Thirteen-year-old Charlotte Doyle is excited to return home from her school in England to her family in Rhode Island in the summer of 1832.

But when the two families she was supposed to travel with mysteriously cancel their trips, Charlotte finds herself the lone passenger on a long sea voyage with a cruel captain and a mutinous crew. Worse yet, soon after stepping aboard the ship, she becomes enmeshed in a conflict between them! What begins as an eagerly anticipated ocean crossing turns into a harrowing journey, where Charlotte gains a villainous enemy . . . and is put on trial for murder!

After Words material includes author Q & A, journal writing tips, and other activities that bring Charlotte's world to life!

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Adventure on the high seas

When the families that are supposed to accompany Charlotte to America from England don't show up, Charlotte should have known that the ocean voyage would be precarious. Luckily, the captain seems like a cultured man, and she settles herself in to her cabin for the duration, with help from the cook, Zachariah. Things quickly go awry, however, when a sailor who was badly mistreated comes back and tries to get the other sailors to mutiny. Charlotte decides to side with the crew, dons pants, and takes on the same work that they do, even though this is completely at odds with her proper upbringing. While there is plenty of danger, there is also an unprecedented amount of freedom for Charlotte, and watching her revel in this is the best part of the book.

Good Points
I'd read this book years ago, but upon rereading it was struck by the classic feel of the prose. It made for a great afternoon of reading, snuggled up safely while reading about all the privations at sea through which Charlotte suffered! She's such a great, spunky character that I think I would have reread this constantly had I picked this up when I was 12! The new cover is great-- the original one does look a bit dated-- and the notes at the end are a good addition, since many schools use this as a class novel. I rarely reread titles, so I'm glad a new edition came out so I could have another go at adventure on the high seas!
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Nothando's Journey
Nothando’s Journey is a journey in self-discovery told through the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
sam miracle.png
This new fantasy-adventure series from N. D. Wilson, bestselling author...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Okay Cupid
Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart... Hazel McCallister...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)