Books Kids Fiction Tell Me About Colors, Shapes, and Opposites

Tell Me About Colors, Shapes, and Opposites Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/c7/80/7c/14492_000-1356206017.jpg
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
636   0
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Age Range
1+
Release Date
October 16, 2012
ISBN
1926973542
Buy This Book
      
In highly stylized illustrations and short bits of text, Tell Me about Colors, Shapes, and Opposites invites readers to join two friends (and a mischievous cat!) as they play, learn, attend a party, go on vacation, and more.

Each of the book’s six scenarios is its own separate chapter and deals with a distinct basic concept. From locations and positions (above, outside) to size (small, long), from an array of colors to shapes and patterns, from special treats like eating cake (a slice, a piece) to taking a trip (time of day, time of year), this book helps readers develop word recognition strategies for everyday objects and situations.

Editor reviews

This book is ambitious in scope. It introduces children to colors, shapes, patterns, and locations (i.e. under, above, to the left etc.). I read it to my toddler, and she was interested in following the black cat who shows up on nearly every page and in pointing out colors. I did experience some frustration in trying to read it to her because the narrative set-up suggests a story (i.e. starting a section with the question "Where are you hiding?") but then there are only one or two words on most pages. It left me having to fill in the blanks so that it could make sense. I don't mind being an active participant in the storytelling, but it's worth mentioning.

The illustrations felt very retro to me. The entire book is very gray/white/black with a few splashes of color and the drawings felt like they'd been taken out of books published in the sixties and seventies. There's nothing wrong with that, and my daughter was fully engaged in the book, but it certainly has a different look and feel to it than most books published today. Readers looking for bright, cheery books might look elsewhere, but readers looking for books that offer multiple educational opportunities for their children, along with delightfully vintage-feeling illustrations, might really enjoy this title.

Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
3.0
CJ Redwine, Editor Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor December 22, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (397)

Feels Vintage

This book is ambitious in scope. It introduces children to colors, shapes, patterns, and locations (i.e. under, above, to the left etc.). I read it to my toddler, and she was interested in following the black cat who shows up on nearly every page and in pointing out colors. I did experience some frustration in trying to read it to her because the narrative set-up suggests a story (i.e. starting a section with the question "Where are you hiding?") but then there are only one or two words on most pages. It left me having to fill in the blanks so that it could make sense. I don't mind being an active participant in the storytelling, but it's worth mentioning.

The illustrations felt very retro to me. The entire book is very gray/white/black with a few splashes of color and the drawings felt like they'd been taken out of books published in the sixties and seventies. There's nothing wrong with that, and my daughter was fully engaged in the book, but it certainly has a different look and feel to it than most books published today. Readers looking for bright, cheery books might look elsewhere, but readers looking for books that offer multiple educational opportunities for their children, along with delightfully vintage-feeling illustrations, might really enjoy this title.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)