Books Kids Fiction Tell Me About Colors, Shapes, and Opposites

Tell Me About Colors, Shapes, and Opposites Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/c7/80/7c/14492_000-1356206017.jpg
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
480   0
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Age Range
1+
Release Date
October 16, 2012
ISBN
1926973542
Buy This Book
      
In highly stylized illustrations and short bits of text, Tell Me about Colors, Shapes, and Opposites invites readers to join two friends (and a mischievous cat!) as they play, learn, attend a party, go on vacation, and more.

Each of the book’s six scenarios is its own separate chapter and deals with a distinct basic concept. From locations and positions (above, outside) to size (small, long), from an array of colors to shapes and patterns, from special treats like eating cake (a slice, a piece) to taking a trip (time of day, time of year), this book helps readers develop word recognition strategies for everyday objects and situations.

Editor reviews

This book is ambitious in scope. It introduces children to colors, shapes, patterns, and locations (i.e. under, above, to the left etc.). I read it to my toddler, and she was interested in following the black cat who shows up on nearly every page and in pointing out colors. I did experience some frustration in trying to read it to her because the narrative set-up suggests a story (i.e. starting a section with the question "Where are you hiding?") but then there are only one or two words on most pages. It left me having to fill in the blanks so that it could make sense. I don't mind being an active participant in the storytelling, but it's worth mentioning.

The illustrations felt very retro to me. The entire book is very gray/white/black with a few splashes of color and the drawings felt like they'd been taken out of books published in the sixties and seventies. There's nothing wrong with that, and my daughter was fully engaged in the book, but it certainly has a different look and feel to it than most books published today. Readers looking for bright, cheery books might look elsewhere, but readers looking for books that offer multiple educational opportunities for their children, along with delightfully vintage-feeling illustrations, might really enjoy this title.

Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
3.0
CJ Redwine, Editor Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor December 22, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (378)

Feels Vintage

This book is ambitious in scope. It introduces children to colors, shapes, patterns, and locations (i.e. under, above, to the left etc.). I read it to my toddler, and she was interested in following the black cat who shows up on nearly every page and in pointing out colors. I did experience some frustration in trying to read it to her because the narrative set-up suggests a story (i.e. starting a section with the question "Where are you hiding?") but then there are only one or two words on most pages. It left me having to fill in the blanks so that it could make sense. I don't mind being an active participant in the storytelling, but it's worth mentioning.

The illustrations felt very retro to me. The entire book is very gray/white/black with a few splashes of color and the drawings felt like they'd been taken out of books published in the sixties and seventies. There's nothing wrong with that, and my daughter was fully engaged in the book, but it certainly has a different look and feel to it than most books published today. Readers looking for bright, cheery books might look elsewhere, but readers looking for books that offer multiple educational opportunities for their children, along with delightfully vintage-feeling illustrations, might really enjoy this title.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Young Adult Indie
College was supposed to be perfect. She was supposed to be perfect. For Lily Drummond, life is about following...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
For fans of The Guild and Scott Pilgrim comes a story of Xbox, Denny’s, and awkward beginnings… Not too...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
You're Stormy Jones, a pregnant 17-year-old punk rock chick with "sky eyes" and a pink tipped blond Mohawk with spear...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
NEWNokosee Front CoverMorePix.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
Cultures clash, sparks fly, love blooms, people die, and two kids, one a little bit punk and the other way...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Rayne is bored with life, until a new family moves in next door. Why do they look so happy? Rayne...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
James Patterson introduces the best selling "illustrated fiction" format to teens! It's "Middle School" for high schoolers! In James Patterson's...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everlong Cover 2 Amazonprint.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
When love is a matter of life and death, it's not about losing your heart, but saving it. On...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Alissa Sullivan has high hopes that the new year will bring a fresh start for her and her best friend....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Alissa Sullivan has got it made -- a supportive, loving family, a cause she believes in, and her new boyfriend....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Alan Rivers wakes up one morning and discovers all the adults in his neighborhood and worldwide are in a deep...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When a plane crashes in the woods near Jess’s home, the boy of her dreams falls out of the sky—literally....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Experience the wonder of the river in this haunting debut novel, where family is lost, friends are found, and hope...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Post tornado, the Soccer Tommies and Baseball Mommies compete for home field advantage. Is it ‘Win-Win’ or, will the community...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two years ago, sixteen-year-old Jamie Henry breathed a sigh of relief when a judge sentenced his older sister to juvenile...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Like watching a movie frame by frame, we watch Lexi is come unglued in this novel in verse. She's alienated...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winner of Reader's Favorite 5-Star Seal Reader’s Favorite reviewer Patricia Reding says it best: “Just sixteen, pregnant, betrayed by boyfriend...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One Night with the Prince
The rules were simple:. 15 girls were chosen from royal bloodlines to be with the Prince. They are given one...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
live performance by YA author
Category: Young Adult Indie
Love can make you do crazy things as Ruby Parker discovers when she dies and returns from the grave to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Its king murdered in cold blood by friend and foe alike, the once magnificent kingdom of Arenhed has fallen to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fifteen top voices in speculative fiction explore the intersection of fear and love in a haunting, at times hilarious, darkly...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)