Books Kids Fiction Jangles: A BIG Fish Story

Jangles: A BIG Fish Story Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/8a/89/99/_171908887-1354289826.jpg
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
829   0
Author(s)
Genre(s)
Age Range
4+
Release Date
October 01, 2012
ISBN
978-0545143127
Buy This Book
      

Breathtaking oil paintings bursting with energy pull
readers along into Big Lake, the home of Jangles, the
biggest fish anyone has seen. Fishing alone at dusk,
a boy feels a tug on his line and comes face-to-face
with the gigantic trout--whose enormous jaw is covered
with so many lures and fish hooks that he jingles and
jangles when he swims. Terrified by the sight, the boy is
shocked when Jangles befriends him and takes him on an
adventure to the bottom of the lake. A surprise ending
will leave readers laughing and shaking their heads. Here
is Shannon at his very best-in a wild and witty story that
begs repeated reading.

Editor reviews

I am a huge David Shannon fan, so when I saw this book I about freaked out! We love his 'No David' book (we read it just about everyday), so I was hoping this would be a book we could throw into our usual mix. I was not surprised when after reading it, my boys and I wanted to read it again, immediately. In true David Shannon fashion, this book delivers not only a story with a relate-able main character, but also a fun story to share again and again.

The illustrations are fun, and honestly maybe a tad scary for young readers. Those of you who have read David Shannon's previous works will find the illustrations familiar.

I really enjoyed the 'tall tale' aspect of this story and look forward to reading it over and over again with my children.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

A fun read for the whole family!

I am a huge David Shannon fan, so when I saw this book I about freaked out! We love his 'No David' book (we read it just about everyday), so I was hoping this would be a book we could throw into our usual mix. I was not surprised when after reading it, my boys and I wanted to read it again, immediately. In true David Shannon fashion, this book delivers not only a story with a relate-able main character, but also a fun story to share again and again.

The illustrations are fun, and honestly maybe a tad scary for young readers. Those of you who have read David Shannon's previous works will find the illustrations familiar.

I really enjoyed the 'tall tale' aspect of this story and look forward to reading it over and over again with my children.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is not your average trip to Fairyland… Selkie Stewart has just saved her quasi-boyfriend, Ben, from a fairy prison...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
THE GIRL WHO NEVER WAS is the story of Selkie Stewart, who thinks she’s a totally normal teenager growing up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
A dragon named Nickerbacher guards a princess "because his papa told him to." However, he practices his jokes on Princess...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)