Books Kids Fiction The Tell-Tale Start (The Misadventures of Edgar & Allan Poe #1)

The Tell-Tale Start (The Misadventures of Edgar & Allan Poe #1) Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/37/04/b8/_the-tell-tale-start-by-gordon-mcalpine-1353478037.jpg
 
4.0
 
4.5 (1)
809   0
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
8+
Release Date
January 10, 2013
ISBN
978-0670784912
Buy This Book
      
Meet Edgar and Allan Poe -- twelve-year-old identical twins, the great-great-great-great-grandnephews of Edgar Allan Poe. They look and act so much alike that they're almost one mischievous, prank-playing boy in two bodies. When their beloved black cat, Roderick Usher, is kidnapped and transported to the Midwest, Edgar and Allan convince their guardians that it's time for a road trip. Along the way, mayhem and mystery ensue, as well as deeper questions: What is the boys' telepathic connection? Is Edgar Allan Poe himself reaching out to them from the Great Beyond? And why has a mad scientist been spying on the Poe family for years?

With a mix of literary humor, mystery, a little quantum physics, and fun extras like fortune cookie messages, letters in code, license plate clues -- and playful illustrations thoughout -- this series opener is a perfect choice for smart, funny tweens who love the Time Warp Trio, Roald Dahl, and Lemony Snicket.

Editor reviews

I love me a good middle grade and The Tell-Tale Start by Gordon McAlpine is as good as they come. It was quirky, fun, and one heck of a tale. I had so much fun reading The Tell-Tale Start!

The adventures of Edgar and Allan were too awesome. I loved the wit they brought with every page. They made every day occurrences into an adventure, which made The Tell-Tale Start that much more enjoyable.

The characters were pretty awesome as well. I loved how big of a role Edgar and Allan's cat played in the book - it was like he was an actual person. Aunt Judith and Uncle Jack were complete hoots - I would love to have them as an aunt and uncle!

The illustrations in the book were awesome - they served as such a nice guide and companion to the story line, enhancing it with every appearance. They were so fun!

Reminiscent of Lemony Snicket, this fun new series will sweep you off your feet. It's fun and it's charming. I read straight through this one in one sitting, just loving every page.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Erica, Editor Reviewed by Erica, Editor November 21, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (192)

A Cute Start

I love me a good middle grade and The Tell-Tale Start by Gordon McAlpine is as good as they come. It was quirky, fun, and one heck of a tale. I had so much fun reading The Tell-Tale Start!

The adventures of Edgar and Allan were too awesome. I loved the wit they brought with every page. They made every day occurrences into an adventure, which made The Tell-Tale Start that much more enjoyable.

The characters were pretty awesome as well. I loved how big of a role Edgar and Allan's cat played in the book - it was like he was an actual person. Aunt Judith and Uncle Jack were complete hoots - I would love to have them as an aunt and uncle!

The illustrations in the book were awesome - they served as such a nice guide and companion to the story line, enhancing it with every appearance. They were so fun!

Reminiscent of Lemony Snicket, this fun new series will sweep you off your feet. It's fun and it's charming. I read straight through this one in one sitting, just loving every page.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0  (1)
The Tell-tale Start is a typical middle grade novel. It was funny and was quite an adventure. The twins will sweep you off to their world from the beginning and leave you reeling!
From the first page I was hoked. The adventure they went on started from the very beginning and I was never left bored with them. The plot moved quickly, which made for an awesome story.
I also loved the characters. They were all so fun and the twins were so clever. I connected to them all and loved everything they brought to the story.
What I liked most about this book, was how the author used the poets and showed their "afterlife" as being effective to the events in present time. It was a very interesting concept that hadn't been done before and that freshness alone made it even more enjoyable.
This fun series will take you on a quirky trip until the very last page. I will be sure to pass this on to the teacher of the class I am student teaching.
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Nikki H Reviewed by Nikki H November 30, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (99)

A Tell-tale Start by Gordon McAlpine

The Tell-tale Start is a typical middle grade novel. It was funny and was quite an adventure. The twins will sweep you off to their world from the beginning and leave you reeling!
From the first page I was hoked. The adventure they went on started from the very beginning and I was never left bored with them. The plot moved quickly, which made for an awesome story.
I also loved the characters. They were all so fun and the twins were so clever. I connected to them all and loved everything they brought to the story.
What I liked most about this book, was how the author used the poets and showed their "afterlife" as being effective to the events in present time. It was a very interesting concept that hadn't been done before and that freshness alone made it even more enjoyable.
This fun series will take you on a quirky trip until the very last page. I will be sure to pass this on to the teacher of the class I am student teaching.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Young Adult Indie
College was supposed to be perfect. She was supposed to be perfect. For Lily Drummond, life is about following...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
For fans of The Guild and Scott Pilgrim comes a story of Xbox, Denny’s, and awkward beginnings… Not too...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
You're Stormy Jones, a pregnant 17-year-old punk rock chick with "sky eyes" and a pink tipped blond Mohawk with spear...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
NEWNokosee Front CoverMorePix.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
Cultures clash, sparks fly, love blooms, people die, and two kids, one a little bit punk and the other way...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Rayne is bored with life, until a new family moves in next door. Why do they look so happy? Rayne...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
James Patterson introduces the best selling "illustrated fiction" format to teens! It's "Middle School" for high schoolers! In James Patterson's...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everlong Cover 2 Amazonprint.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
When love is a matter of life and death, it's not about losing your heart, but saving it. On...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Alissa Sullivan has high hopes that the new year will bring a fresh start for her and her best friend....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Alissa Sullivan has got it made -- a supportive, loving family, a cause she believes in, and her new boyfriend....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Alan Rivers wakes up one morning and discovers all the adults in his neighborhood and worldwide are in a deep...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When a plane crashes in the woods near Jess’s home, the boy of her dreams falls out of the sky—literally....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Experience the wonder of the river in this haunting debut novel, where family is lost, friends are found, and hope...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Post tornado, the Soccer Tommies and Baseball Mommies compete for home field advantage. Is it ‘Win-Win’ or, will the community...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two years ago, sixteen-year-old Jamie Henry breathed a sigh of relief when a judge sentenced his older sister to juvenile...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Like watching a movie frame by frame, we watch Lexi is come unglued in this novel in verse. She's alienated...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winner of Reader's Favorite 5-Star Seal Reader’s Favorite reviewer Patricia Reding says it best: “Just sixteen, pregnant, betrayed by boyfriend...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One Night with the Prince
The rules were simple:. 15 girls were chosen from royal bloodlines to be with the Prince. They are given one...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
live performance by YA author
Category: Young Adult Indie
Love can make you do crazy things as Ruby Parker discovers when she dies and returns from the grave to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Its king murdered in cold blood by friend and foe alike, the once magnificent kingdom of Arenhed has fallen to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fifteen top voices in speculative fiction explore the intersection of fear and love in a haunting, at times hilarious, darkly...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)