Books Kids Fiction The Tell-Tale Start (The Misadventures of Edgar & Allan Poe #1)

The Tell-Tale Start (The Misadventures of Edgar & Allan Poe #1) Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/37/04/b8/_the-tell-tale-start-by-gordon-mcalpine-1353478037.jpg
 
4.0
 
4.5 (1)
902   0
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
8+
Release Date
January 10, 2013
ISBN
978-0670784912
Buy This Book
      
Meet Edgar and Allan Poe -- twelve-year-old identical twins, the great-great-great-great-grandnephews of Edgar Allan Poe. They look and act so much alike that they're almost one mischievous, prank-playing boy in two bodies. When their beloved black cat, Roderick Usher, is kidnapped and transported to the Midwest, Edgar and Allan convince their guardians that it's time for a road trip. Along the way, mayhem and mystery ensue, as well as deeper questions: What is the boys' telepathic connection? Is Edgar Allan Poe himself reaching out to them from the Great Beyond? And why has a mad scientist been spying on the Poe family for years?

With a mix of literary humor, mystery, a little quantum physics, and fun extras like fortune cookie messages, letters in code, license plate clues -- and playful illustrations thoughout -- this series opener is a perfect choice for smart, funny tweens who love the Time Warp Trio, Roald Dahl, and Lemony Snicket.

Editor reviews

I love me a good middle grade and The Tell-Tale Start by Gordon McAlpine is as good as they come. It was quirky, fun, and one heck of a tale. I had so much fun reading The Tell-Tale Start!

The adventures of Edgar and Allan were too awesome. I loved the wit they brought with every page. They made every day occurrences into an adventure, which made The Tell-Tale Start that much more enjoyable.

The characters were pretty awesome as well. I loved how big of a role Edgar and Allan's cat played in the book - it was like he was an actual person. Aunt Judith and Uncle Jack were complete hoots - I would love to have them as an aunt and uncle!

The illustrations in the book were awesome - they served as such a nice guide and companion to the story line, enhancing it with every appearance. They were so fun!

Reminiscent of Lemony Snicket, this fun new series will sweep you off your feet. It's fun and it's charming. I read straight through this one in one sitting, just loving every page.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Erica, Editor Reviewed by Erica, Editor November 21, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (192)

A Cute Start

I love me a good middle grade and The Tell-Tale Start by Gordon McAlpine is as good as they come. It was quirky, fun, and one heck of a tale. I had so much fun reading The Tell-Tale Start!

The adventures of Edgar and Allan were too awesome. I loved the wit they brought with every page. They made every day occurrences into an adventure, which made The Tell-Tale Start that much more enjoyable.

The characters were pretty awesome as well. I loved how big of a role Edgar and Allan's cat played in the book - it was like he was an actual person. Aunt Judith and Uncle Jack were complete hoots - I would love to have them as an aunt and uncle!

The illustrations in the book were awesome - they served as such a nice guide and companion to the story line, enhancing it with every appearance. They were so fun!

Reminiscent of Lemony Snicket, this fun new series will sweep you off your feet. It's fun and it's charming. I read straight through this one in one sitting, just loving every page.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0  (1)
The Tell-tale Start is a typical middle grade novel. It was funny and was quite an adventure. The twins will sweep you off to their world from the beginning and leave you reeling!
From the first page I was hoked. The adventure they went on started from the very beginning and I was never left bored with them. The plot moved quickly, which made for an awesome story.
I also loved the characters. They were all so fun and the twins were so clever. I connected to them all and loved everything they brought to the story.
What I liked most about this book, was how the author used the poets and showed their "afterlife" as being effective to the events in present time. It was a very interesting concept that hadn't been done before and that freshness alone made it even more enjoyable.
This fun series will take you on a quirky trip until the very last page. I will be sure to pass this on to the teacher of the class I am student teaching.
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Nikki H Reviewed by Nikki H November 30, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (99)

A Tell-tale Start by Gordon McAlpine

The Tell-tale Start is a typical middle grade novel. It was funny and was quite an adventure. The twins will sweep you off to their world from the beginning and leave you reeling!
From the first page I was hoked. The adventure they went on started from the very beginning and I was never left bored with them. The plot moved quickly, which made for an awesome story.
I also loved the characters. They were all so fun and the twins were so clever. I connected to them all and loved everything they brought to the story.
What I liked most about this book, was how the author used the poets and showed their "afterlife" as being effective to the events in present time. It was a very interesting concept that hadn't been done before and that freshness alone made it even more enjoyable.
This fun series will take you on a quirky trip until the very last page. I will be sure to pass this on to the teacher of the class I am student teaching.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)