The Cow Went Over the Mountain

The Cow Went Over the Mountain Featured

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
817   0
Write Review
The Cow Went Over the Mountain
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
1+
Release Date
July 24, 2012
ISBN
0375870164
Buy This Book
      
Little Cow thinks life will be better on the "other mountain," and convinces a few animals that the grass will be munchier, the bugs crunchier, the water sploshier, the mud sloshier . . . but when they get there, they find that the grass isn't really greener on the other side. This simple, witty tale, brought to life by Caldecott medalist Feodor Rojankovsky, was originally published in 1963 and is now back in print as a Little Golden Book Classic.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0  (1)
(Updated: November 20, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

The Grass Isn't Always Greener...

I don't know about you, but every time I open a Golden Book, I'm immediately swept back to my childhood. The Poky Little Puppy was always my favorite. This book awakened the same nostalgia. I hope to collect all of the classic Golden Books for my home library. They're just too good to pass up.

The artwork in THE COW WENT OVER THE MOUNTAIN is certainly classic, but also lovely and whimsical. There's a vintage feel that I adore. This would make a great addition to any vintage-lover's collection.

The moral of the story is a good one too, albeit quiet simple. Cow decides the next mountain over is greener than his, so everything there must be better. The bugs must be crunchier, the water sloshier, even the honey gooier. He convinces his friends to join him on his journey to the other mountain, but when they get there, things aren't as perfect as they thought they would be. In fact, the mountain they just left looks greener now. When they return home, they realize that they had it pretty darn good all along.

I think we've all thought things were greener on the other side at some point in our lives. We break free from the mundane and explore the other side, only to discover that home wasn't so mundane after all. It's a sweet sentiment -- one that is captured succinctly in this adorable Golden Book.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

  

   

   

    

  

   

 

Latest Book Listings Added

cover60900-medium.png
Toby's sister and baby brother love their schools - they...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every Exquisite Thing
Nanette O'Hare is an unassuming teen who has played the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emma and Julia Love Ballet
Emma is little. Julia is big. They both love...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blobfish Book
Perfect for fans of Battle Bunny and Z Is for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5)
The long path to the throne has only just begun...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gemina (The Illuminae Files #2)
The highly anticipated sequel to the instant New York Times...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2)
Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ask Me How I Got Here
Addie has always known what she was running toward. In...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Time We Were Us
A passionate summer love story about a girl, her childhood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Way Back To You
In this witty, heart-tugging novel, two teens take a spontaneous...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Happens Now
"I know what it is to want something so badly,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
All I Need
The last night of summer is only the beginning. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Occasional Diamond Thief
What if you learned your father was a thief?...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Salarian Desert Game
What if someone you love gambled on her life? ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Truth About Forever
A long, hot summer... That's what Macy...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“The mother I knew would never do those things. ...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)