The Cow Went Over the Mountain

The Cow Went Over the Mountain

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1103   0
Write Review
The Cow Went Over the Mountain
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
1+
Release Date
July 24, 2012
ISBN
0375870164
Buy This Book
      
Little Cow thinks life will be better on the "other mountain," and convinces a few animals that the grass will be munchier, the bugs crunchier, the water sploshier, the mud sloshier . . . but when they get there, they find that the grass isn't really greener on the other side. This simple, witty tale, brought to life by Caldecott medalist Feodor Rojankovsky, was originally published in 1963 and is now back in print as a Little Golden Book Classic.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0  (1)
(Updated: November 20, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

The Grass Isn't Always Greener...

I don't know about you, but every time I open a Golden Book, I'm immediately swept back to my childhood. The Poky Little Puppy was always my favorite. This book awakened the same nostalgia. I hope to collect all of the classic Golden Books for my home library. They're just too good to pass up.

The artwork in THE COW WENT OVER THE MOUNTAIN is certainly classic, but also lovely and whimsical. There's a vintage feel that I adore. This would make a great addition to any vintage-lover's collection.

The moral of the story is a good one too, albeit quiet simple. Cow decides the next mountain over is greener than his, so everything there must be better. The bugs must be crunchier, the water sloshier, even the honey gooier. He convinces his friends to join him on his journey to the other mountain, but when they get there, things aren't as perfect as they thought they would be. In fact, the mountain they just left looks greener now. When they return home, they realize that they had it pretty darn good all along.

I think we've all thought things were greener on the other side at some point in our lives. We break free from the mundane and explore the other side, only to discover that home wasn't so mundane after all. It's a sweet sentiment -- one that is captured succinctly in this adorable Golden Book.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
Hundreds of laugh-out-loud jokes featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
Why does Squishy have to share everything with her new...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Wood
After her father goes missing in the woods that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
release.jpg
nspired by Judy Blume’s Forever and Virginia Woolf’s Mrs....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Words on Bathroom Walls
Adam has just been diagnosed with schizophrenia. He sees...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Stray
 
3.8
"'Stray' by Joni Johnson has an interesting premise. When Lila finds out that her father is about to kick her..."
 
3.5
"The story: Brooke dies in a car accident and discovers she’s no longer alive but a silhouette, still in her..."
Prophecy of Darkness (Legends of the Tri-Gard) (Volume 1)
 
5.0
"When Trystan is named Toha, he becomes the protector of the realm instead of the ordinary prince. Because of this..."
 
5.0
"An excellent follow up. The story: We meet Emma again when she is still in the early stages of..."
 
3.5
"An interesting plot with a lot of potential. The story: Katie has been raised by her mother and..."
The Good Citizen
 
4.3
"The story: In a futuristic society that oppresses immigrants and requires citizens, including children, to use guns to enforce..."
The Girl Who Saved Ghosts
 
4.0
"The Girl Who Saves Ghosts is as engaging, adventerous, and mysterious as the first in the series! There is murder,..."
The Girl Who Ignored Ghosts (The Unbelievables #1)
 
4.0
"The Girl Who Ignored Ghosts surprised me in a good way. I went in with very little expectations and now..."
The Key of F
 
5.0
"The Key of F- Freedom Fight Trilogy#1 by Jennifer Haskin (Goodreads Author) 27143663 Steph Warren's review Nov 18, 2017..."
 
5.0
"Into the Abyss: Vault of Verona is an enticing tale of empowered females and strong role models for its young..."
Sunshine at the Academy: Book 1 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.5
"I really enjoyed this book. It's a futuristic coming of age novel reminiscent of Harry Potter although no magic is..."
Blood Oath (The Darkest Drae Book 1)
 
5.0
"I’ve always enjoyed Kelly St. Clare’s series and I’ve always enjoyed Raye Wagner’s as well, but together, these authors are..."
White (The Wings Trilogy, #1)
 
4.3
"With Claire's parents gone, she is uprooted and moves to Aurora with her sister. Here, she finds a new fascination..."
 
5.0
"What I loved about reading this book was the realness and the real hope. It would be so good if..."
Heart of Mist
 
5.0
"Heart of Mist (The Oremere Chronicales #1) by Heather Scheuerer The Story: Bleak, the town drunk, is hiding a..."
 
4.0
"Premonition (The Division Series, #1) by Leigh Walker The Story: With a drunk for a mother, Riley can’t..."
Blood Magic (Abnormals Underground #1)
 
4.5
"Blood Magic (Abnormals Underground, #1) The Story: In a world where paranormal species are outcasts, Alyssa is bitten..."
 
5.0
"A thrilling new addition to a fantastic series. The story: Crown's shield picks up right where Rebel's Blade leaves..."
That Night
 
3.0
"‘That Night’ is the story of Kayla and her two best friends Sarah, and Cassidy. Kayla is an honors student..."