Books Kids Fiction The Cow Went Over the Mountain

The Cow Went Over the Mountain Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/37/44/22/_the-cow-went-over-the-mountain-1353434339.jpg
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
616   0
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
1+
Release Date
July 24, 2012
ISBN
0375870164
Buy This Book
      
Little Cow thinks life will be better on the "other mountain," and convinces a few animals that the grass will be munchier, the bugs crunchier, the water sploshier, the mud sloshier . . . but when they get there, they find that the grass isn't really greener on the other side. This simple, witty tale, brought to life by Caldecott medalist Feodor Rojankovsky, was originally published in 1963 and is now back in print as a Little Golden Book Classic.

Editor reviews

I don't know about you, but every time I open a Golden Book, I'm immediately swept back to my childhood. The Poky Little Puppy was always my favorite. This book awakened the same nostalgia. I hope to collect all of the classic Golden Books for my home library. They're just too good to pass up.

The artwork in THE COW WENT OVER THE MOUNTAIN is certainly classic, but also lovely and whimsical. There's a vintage feel that I adore. This would make a great addition to any vintage-lover's collection.

The moral of the story is a good one too, albeit quiet simple. Cow decides the next mountain over is greener than his, so everything there must be better. The bugs must be crunchier, the water sloshier, even the honey gooier. He convinces his friends to join him on his journey to the other mountain, but when they get there, things aren't as perfect as they thought they would be. In fact, the mountain they just left looks greener now. When they return home, they realize that they had it pretty darn good all along.

I think we've all thought things were greener on the other side at some point in our lives. We break free from the mundane and explore the other side, only to discover that home wasn't so mundane after all. It's a sweet sentiment -- one that is captured succinctly in this adorable Golden Book.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
MG Buehrlen, Site Manager Reviewed by MG Buehrlen, Site Manager November 20, 2012
Last updated: November 20, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (59)

The Grass Isn't Always Greener...

I don't know about you, but every time I open a Golden Book, I'm immediately swept back to my childhood. The Poky Little Puppy was always my favorite. This book awakened the same nostalgia. I hope to collect all of the classic Golden Books for my home library. They're just too good to pass up.

The artwork in THE COW WENT OVER THE MOUNTAIN is certainly classic, but also lovely and whimsical. There's a vintage feel that I adore. This would make a great addition to any vintage-lover's collection.

The moral of the story is a good one too, albeit quiet simple. Cow decides the next mountain over is greener than his, so everything there must be better. The bugs must be crunchier, the water sloshier, even the honey gooier. He convinces his friends to join him on his journey to the other mountain, but when they get there, things aren't as perfect as they thought they would be. In fact, the mountain they just left looks greener now. When they return home, they realize that they had it pretty darn good all along.

I think we've all thought things were greener on the other side at some point in our lives. We break free from the mundane and explore the other side, only to discover that home wasn't so mundane after all. It's a sweet sentiment -- one that is captured succinctly in this adorable Golden Book.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
This charming story about the summer three California sisters spend on Cape Cod is perfect for fans of The Penderwicks...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
One
Tippi and Grace. Grace and Tippi. For them, it's normal to step into the same skirt. To hook their arms...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Josh Chester loves being a Hollywood bad boy, coasting on his good looks, his parties, his parents' wealth, and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After almost a year in Japan, Katie Greene has finally unearthed the terrible secret behind her boyfriend Tomohiro's deadly ability...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Paint a mural. Start a battle. Change the world. Sierra Santiago planned an easy summer of making art and hanging...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Lexi Shaw seduced Oakfield High's resident bad boy Tyler Flynn at the beginning of senior year, he seemed perfectly...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“Do not ignore a call from me when you know I am feeling neurotic about a boy. That is Best...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Summer has finally arrived and fifteen-year-old Harper McCallister intends to spend her days at the mall shopping or by the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
chain reactions.jpg
Category: Kids Nonfiction
LEGO Chain Reactions is packed full of ideas, instructions, and inspiration for 10 LEGO machines that spin, swing, pivot, roll,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Nonfiction
They've toured with One Direction and scored international super-hits in more than 50 countries across the globe but 5 Seconds...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Princess Pinecone knows exactly what she wants for her birthday this year. A BIG horse. A STRONG horse. A horse...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Summer, 1989: Sixteen-year-old Dionne Braithwaite and her younger sister Phaedra have just arrived in Bird Hill in Barbados. Sent from...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“I thrust my hand toward the sky as my voice begs the Elemental inside me to waken and rise. But...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the vein of Laurie Halse Anderson's Wintergirls, this emotionally haunting and beautifully written young adult debut delves into the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The second book in the gripping Wanted series, this Western revenge epic is a must-read for teen readers who are...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
As the first book in the new young-adult series Wanted, Grace and the Guiltless is an edge-of-your-seat, gripping thrill ride....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Becoming Darkness is a dark, action-filled tale set in an alternate twenty-first century in which Hitler won World War II,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
For decades, Sami has kept the key to the geniean and human races hidden. She is used to a life...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
From New York Times bestselling author and former NFL player Tim Green comes a riveting new stand-alone football novel. When...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Joel Ross debuts a thrilling adventure series in which living in the sky is the new reality and a few...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)