Books Kids Fiction The Cow Went Over the Mountain

The Cow Went Over the Mountain Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/37/44/22/_the-cow-went-over-the-mountain-1353434339.jpg
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
495   0
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
1+
Release Date
July 24, 2012
ISBN
0375870164
Buy This Book
      
Little Cow thinks life will be better on the "other mountain," and convinces a few animals that the grass will be munchier, the bugs crunchier, the water sploshier, the mud sloshier . . . but when they get there, they find that the grass isn't really greener on the other side. This simple, witty tale, brought to life by Caldecott medalist Feodor Rojankovsky, was originally published in 1963 and is now back in print as a Little Golden Book Classic.

Editor reviews

I don't know about you, but every time I open a Golden Book, I'm immediately swept back to my childhood. The Poky Little Puppy was always my favorite. This book awakened the same nostalgia. I hope to collect all of the classic Golden Books for my home library. They're just too good to pass up.

The artwork in THE COW WENT OVER THE MOUNTAIN is certainly classic, but also lovely and whimsical. There's a vintage feel that I adore. This would make a great addition to any vintage-lover's collection.

The moral of the story is a good one too, albeit quiet simple. Cow decides the next mountain over is greener than his, so everything there must be better. The bugs must be crunchier, the water sloshier, even the honey gooier. He convinces his friends to join him on his journey to the other mountain, but when they get there, things aren't as perfect as they thought they would be. In fact, the mountain they just left looks greener now. When they return home, they realize that they had it pretty darn good all along.

I think we've all thought things were greener on the other side at some point in our lives. We break free from the mundane and explore the other side, only to discover that home wasn't so mundane after all. It's a sweet sentiment -- one that is captured succinctly in this adorable Golden Book.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
MG Buehrlen, Senior Editor Reviewed by MG Buehrlen, Senior Editor November 20, 2012
Last updated: November 20, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (59)

The Grass Isn't Always Greener...

I don't know about you, but every time I open a Golden Book, I'm immediately swept back to my childhood. The Poky Little Puppy was always my favorite. This book awakened the same nostalgia. I hope to collect all of the classic Golden Books for my home library. They're just too good to pass up.

The artwork in THE COW WENT OVER THE MOUNTAIN is certainly classic, but also lovely and whimsical. There's a vintage feel that I adore. This would make a great addition to any vintage-lover's collection.

The moral of the story is a good one too, albeit quiet simple. Cow decides the next mountain over is greener than his, so everything there must be better. The bugs must be crunchier, the water sloshier, even the honey gooier. He convinces his friends to join him on his journey to the other mountain, but when they get there, things aren't as perfect as they thought they would be. In fact, the mountain they just left looks greener now. When they return home, they realize that they had it pretty darn good all along.

I think we've all thought things were greener on the other side at some point in our lives. We break free from the mundane and explore the other side, only to discover that home wasn't so mundane after all. It's a sweet sentiment -- one that is captured succinctly in this adorable Golden Book.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)