One Plus One Equals Blue

One Plus One Equals Blue

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1279   0
Write Review
One Plus One Equals Blue
Author(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
April 20, 2013
ISBN
0805094059
Buy This Book
      
Twelve year-old Basil knows he’s special—he’s been associating numbers with colors since he was a kid. His gift (or curse) has turned him into somewhat of a loner, but his world begins to change when he meets Tenzie, the new girl in school who has similar freakisms. She, too, has synesthesia (a condition in which one type of stimulation evokes the sensation of another). At first, Basil is somewhat annoyed with Tenzie’s pushiness, but after Basil’s estranged mother returns, his life is turned upside down . . . and Tenzie may be the only person to help him put it back together again.

Once again, MJ Auch has written a thoughtful coming-of-age novel that explores friendship, family, and fitting in.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
(Updated: April 30, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

A Touching Story of Family and Friendship

What I Loved:
What lured me to One Plus One Equals Blue was the fact that the two main characters both have synesthesia, which I find fascinating and magical. Though One Plus One Equals Blue did not turn out to focus heavily on synesthesia itself, this novel is still a great read, and one sure to please middle grade readers. Auch's novel focuses primarily on accepting oneself and learning to appreciate the good things in life.

Since I read so much young adult fiction, it's always nice to read middle grade, which generally focuses more on family dynamics and friendship than on romance. Basil Feeney is an outcast. Having been homsechooled up until the seventh grade, he had little chance of popularity. However, what sealed his fate as the biggest loser in school was when he told his friend why he was so bad at math: the numbers appear to him as colors, and some of the colors are repeated. Ever since, he's been a freak, isolated from everyone else.

When a weird new girl, Tenzie, arrives, she throws his world for a loop. She sits at his lunch table (errr, desk), joins him on the bus, and invites herself over after school. Tenzie is just about the biggest pest he could ever imagine, and the cover captures his early attitude perfectly. He doesn't want her to get him noticed, and doesn't want to get close to her only to have her make fun of him later for being a freak. Plus, she takes his grandmother's attention away from him where it belongs.

When he realizes that she also sees numbers as colors, though, they really begin to develop a friendship. With some research, he realizes that they are not alone, and that what they are is synesthetic. I loved that, though they had somewhat similar synesthesia, it functioned quite differently for both of them, giving me a better idea of how varied synesthesia can be. The story shifts then from his friendship with Tenzie, though they do continue to grow closer throughout, with little setbacks along the way. Their friendship is very well-handled.

The rest of the book focuses on Basil's, and to a lesser degree Tenzie's, familial relationships. Basil never knew his father, was abandoned by his mother who went to Hollywood to pursue her dreams of being a star, and was raised by his Gram. Shortly after his life was changed by the introduction of the indefatigable Tenzie, he's thrown for a loop once again, when his mother makes her first appearance in seven years.

What Left Me Wanting More:
Carly Feeney is every bit the unreliable, neglectful mother so common in fiction. She has itchy feet, and likes the idea of being a caring mother much better than the reality of a sulky kid, which, even at the best of times, Basil rather is. Carly sweeps everyone else off their feet, though, helping out with the school play. Tenzie, especially, looks up to Carly, desperate for affection and affection, since her parents ignore her. Basil is torn between hope that his mom will finally love him and wishing she would just leave. All the poor parenting is a bit trite, but at least Basil's grandmother is loving and supportive, and also a totally awesome hippie, who listens to The Beatles and makes stained glass.

The Final Verdict:
With well-drawn characters and realistic emotional arcs, One Plus One Equals Blue is a touching story of teenage outcasts finding one another and coming to terms with their family situations.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Solo
From award-winning and New York Times bestselling author Kwame Alexander,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Refugee.jpg
JOSEF is a Jewish boy living in 1930s Nazi Germany....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
SwingitSunnyjpg
Summer's over and it's time for Sunny Lewin to enter...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheWitchBoy.jpg
n thirteen-year-old Aster's family, all the girls are raised to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Let's Investigate with Nate #1: The Water Cycle
Bill Nye the Science Guy meets The Magic School Bus!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The 12 Dares of Christa
Christa is a holiday junkie. What’s not to love? There’s...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Frazzled: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes
Things are looking up for Abbie Wu: this year she’ll...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
See Fred Run
Learning to read has never been more fun than it...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Monster of Selkirk Book I: The Duality of Nature
Monsters come in many forms, and not everyone knows a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where's Waldo? 30th Anniversary Edition
The amazing original that set off the worldwide search for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Little Girl Who Didn't Want to Go to Bed
The internet’s “World’s Best Father," award-winning photographer Dave Engledow, makes...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Being Fishkill
Fishkill Carmel fends for herself, with her fists if need...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Goldeline
Perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Namsara
Kristen Ciccarelli’s debut fantasy explores an intricately woven world of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Speak Easy, Speak Love
Six teenagers’ lives intertwine during one thrilling summer full of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mr. Biddles
A funny picture book about friendship, in the tradition of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

See Fred Run
 
3.5
"'See Fred Run' by Kevin Bolger, and illustrated by Ben Hodson, is a story about main character Fred and his..."
Where's Waldo? 30th Anniversary Edition
 
5.0
"Where's Waldo is an iconic search and find activity book that has been entertaining people for 30 years. This 30th..."
The Little Girl Who Didn't Want to Go to Bed
 
4.5
"THE LITTLE GIRL WHO DIDN'T WANT TO GO TO BED is about a girl who will do anything to stay..."
Mr. Biddles
 
5.0
"MR. BIDDLES stars a cat named Mr. Biddles who is an inventor. He creates all types of new gadgets and..."
Uni the Unicorn and the Dream Come True
 
4.5
"In UNI THE UNICORN AND THE DREAM COME TRUE, magic is weakening amongst the unicorns because of the never-ending rain...."
Pashmina
 
3.5
"Priyanka Das’s mother does not like Priyanka asking questions about India and her life there, but that doesn’t stop Pri..."
Penguins Love Their ABC's
 
4.0
"In PENGUINS LOVE THEIR ABC'S, Mama Penguin hides ABC's in the snow for her six children to seek out. They..."
Even Fairies Fart
 
5.0
"EVEN FAIRIES FART teaches that nobody's perfect. As children, we listen to fairy tales and dream of having perfect lives..."
Little Penguin and the Lollipop
 
4.5
"LITTLE PENGUIN AND THE LOLLIPOP is interactive and encourages the reader to help Little Penguin by being silly. It makes..."
Flowers for Sarajevo
 
5.0
"Haunting and hopeful. The bombing one of the last working bakeries in the city of Sarajevo might have been..."
Beanstalker and Other Hilarious Scarytales
 
4.5
"If you know me you know that I absolutely love retellings, so when I requested this book I was expecting..."
Plankton Is Pushy
 
4.0
"A quick and comical read, rife with sarcasm. A particular plankton is used to eliciting a response from every..."
Dragonwatch: A Fablehaven Adventure
 
4.0
"DRAGONWATCH is a captivating, action-packed story that is filled with all type of creatures such as trolls, goblins, dragons, nipsies,..."
Once Upon a Cruise
 
4.0
"What I Loved: After Ainsley’s mom took a cruise director job aboard what is essentially a mockbuster Disney cruise, Ainsley..."
Five Elements #2: The Shadow City
 
4.0
"THE SHADOW CITY starts off where I expected it to. The elementals are trying to decide on their next move...."
Will Wilder #2: The Lost Staff of Wonders
 
4.0
"In THE LOST STAFF OF WONDERS, the legendary staff of Moses is stolen by a powerful demon named Amon who..."
Cavern of Secrets (Wing and Claw #2)
 
4.0
"Raffa, Kuma, and Garith have escaped Gilden with their animal companions in CAVERN OF SECRETS. Raffa has Echo the Bat..."
Black Moon Rising (The Library Book 2)
 
5.0
"Marcus, along with his friends Lu and Theo, are struggling to make it through middle school. Lu gets a bad..."
Pig the Winner
 
4.5
"This book is a winner (no pun intended). This hilarious story paired with the most perfect illustrations will definitely leave..."
Rolling Thunder
 
5.0
"A touching memorandum and homage to the armed forces—wrapped in a gentle and beautifully illustrated teaching tool. The premise..."