The Santa Trap

The Santa Trap Featured

 
4.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
876   0
Write Review
The Santa Trap
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Genre(s)
Age Range
4+
Release Date
October 01, 2012
ISBN
978-1561456703
Buy This Book
      
Bradley Bartleby is bad. Very bad. To avoid Bradley's wrath, his wealthy parents buy him whatever he wants. All the adults in Bradley's life are running scared - except for Santa Claus, who refuses to give him anything but socks.

But Bradley vows to get what he deserves. If Santa won't give him the gifts he wants, Bradley will just have to steal them.

It takes Bradley a full year to execute his plan. In the end, he transforms his house into a trap so fearsome even his parents refuse to enter it. With dynamite, trapdoors, guillotines, and tigers in his path, Santa doesn't stand a chance. Or does he?

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.8
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.5  (2)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (2)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Trapping Santa has never been so fun!

When I saw the cover of The Santa Trap by Jonathan Emmett, I knew I had to read it. From the darkly mischievous boy claiming the throne-like red chair to the background cluttered with contractions of some kind, I knew it would be a fun read.

Was it ever.

Bradley Bartleby has been bad since the day he was born. His parents are afraid of him and give him all he desires. But not Santa. Every year, Santa brings Bradley socks. This year, Bradley is determined to get what he feels he rightfully deserves. So, he sets out to trap Santa.

The deep hued illustrations by Poly Bernatene work in perfect unison with the story text. The expressions on Bradley’s face and his body language add a healthy dose of tongue-in-cheek humor as each of his sinister traps are sprung not by Santa, but by himself.

The Santa Trap is a must-have addition to any library, even if for merely its humor. But it could also serve as a kindly reminder to even the most “spirited” of children that Santa is not to be trifled with. Try as one might to outwit the big man in red, one may find themselves the proud owner of a new pair of socks this Christmas.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 15, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

A fun read!

What a fun story! This story is great to read with young children. It's a fun read, but allows for discussion, too. Not only is Bradley bad, he is very bad. Because of his behavior, Bradley does not get the presents he wants from Santa Claus. This story opens the door for great discussion on behavior, how to treat others and selfishness.

My boys and I love this book. We were laughing and giggling throughout the entire book, especially in the end when Bradley gets what he deserves for Christmas. What an overall fun book to read and enjoy with the family over the holidays. The illustrations are delightful and fun as well!

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Okay Cupid
Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart... Hazel McCallister...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Starflight
Solara Brooks needs a fresh start, someplace where nobody cares...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
summer marked.jpg
Fresh off a break-up with her boyfriend, Kadie's glad to...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)