Books Kids Fiction The Third Wheel (Diary of a Wimpy Kid #7)

The Third Wheel (Diary of a Wimpy Kid #7) Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/ce/fe/a8/_13563669-1352212504.jpg
 
4.0
 
5.0 (2)
2310   0
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
November 13, 2012
ISBN
1419705849
Buy This Book
      
Love is in the air—but what does that mean for Greg Heffley?

A Valentine’s Day dance at Greg’s middle school has turned his world upside down. As Greg scrambles to find a date, he’s worried he’ll be left out in the cold on the big night. His best friend, Rowley, doesn’t have any prospects either, but that’s a small consolation.

An unexpected twist gives Greg a partner for the dance and leaves Rowley the odd man out. But a lot can happen in one night, and in the end, you never know who’s going to be lucky in love.

Editor reviews

Greg is back, and his life is as complicated as ever. His Uncle Gary has moved in with the family and is sleeping on the couch, and Manny is as obnoxious as ever. When the student council is replaced because no one attended meetings, Greg talks Rowley in to running for social committee chairman. He wins, and plans get under way for a dance. Greg would like to ask someone, but he manages to irritate every girl in whom he is interested. Finally, he and Rowley decide to go as a "group of friends" with Abigail, but the dance ends in disaster as senior citizens take over the hall, a chicken pox epidemic takes off, and Abigail decides that she prefers Rowley.



Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Less wimpy all the time!

Greg is back, and his life is as complicated as ever. His Uncle Gary has moved in with the family and is sleeping on the couch, and Manny is as obnoxious as ever. When the student council is replaced because no one attended meetings, Greg talks Rowley in to running for social committee chairman. He wins, and plans get under way for a dance. Greg would like to ask someone, but he manages to irritate every girl in whom he is interested. Finally, he and Rowley decide to go as a "group of friends" with Abigail, but the dance ends in disaster as senior citizens take over the hall, a chicken pox epidemic takes off, and Abigail decides that she prefers Rowley.



Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 2 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0  (2)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (2)
You won't stop laughing until you read the last page and then you'll want to cry because it is over!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Joshua Cresswell Reviewed by Joshua Cresswell January 04, 2013
  -   View all my reviews (1)

Third Wheel Keeps Me Rolling

You won't stop laughing until you read the last page and then you'll want to cry because it is over!

Was this review helpful to you? 
I love Diary of a Wimpy Kid, and always will. It has so much humour and laughter poured into it, that it becomes are super funny masterpiece, Jeff Kinney being the artist, of both the words and the pictures.

All the cartoons in the book are brilliant, and hilarious. Most of the time they are similar to the words, but sometimes they are variations of what is being said, and they always add another layer of comical humour on top. I've always loved how Jeff Kinney draws Greg, a stick figure, it makes him look truly wimpy indeed, especially since all the rest of the characters are chunky and thick.

Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Third Wheel is a great addition to the Wimpy Kid family. Its full of laughter and jokes that both children and adults alike will enjoy. It is a perfect read, gift and present. Maybe consider giving it as a christmas present?
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Casog Reviewed by Casog December 09, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (261)

Valentine's Dance

I love Diary of a Wimpy Kid, and always will. It has so much humour and laughter poured into it, that it becomes are super funny masterpiece, Jeff Kinney being the artist, of both the words and the pictures.

All the cartoons in the book are brilliant, and hilarious. Most of the time they are similar to the words, but sometimes they are variations of what is being said, and they always add another layer of comical humour on top. I've always loved how Jeff Kinney draws Greg, a stick figure, it makes him look truly wimpy indeed, especially since all the rest of the characters are chunky and thick.

Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Third Wheel is a great addition to the Wimpy Kid family. Its full of laughter and jokes that both children and adults alike will enjoy. It is a perfect read, gift and present. Maybe consider giving it as a christmas present?

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: Endure by Sara B. Larson + Giveaway (US Only)

    Hello, everyone! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for ENDURE by Sara B. Larson, releasing January 5, 2016 from Scholastic. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Sara:   Hi YABCers!! I am so thrilled to be here today to share with you the cover ...

  • What's New in YA

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!       When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land ...

  • Blog Tour: All the Rage by Courtney Summers

      The YABC tour is thrilled to be revealing a quote from Courtney Summers' newest YA novel, All the Rage, as part of the book's blog tour!   Are you ready for that quote we mentioned above?   Just keep scrolling...   ---   & ...

  • Live Chat with Ally Carter

      There is an exciting event for Ally Carter fans taking place this upcoming Tuesday! Scholastic will be hosting a LIVE video chat with the New York Times bestselling author of the Heist Society and Gallagher Girls series alongside some special guest stars. Did you lo ...

  • Diversify Your Shelves with WNDB

      Column by Karen Sandler I’m so delighted to have the opportunity to blog here on YABC. There isn’t much I love more than talking about books, and in particular talking about diversity and inclusiveness in kidlit. And since my favorite genre is ...

  • Giveaway: The Originals - Resurrection by Julie Plec (US & Canada Only)

    The Originals: The Resurrection by Julie Plec Release Date: Tuesday, May 26   About the Book The Originals: The Rise: Family is power. The Original vampire family swore it to each other a thousand years ago. They pledged to remain together always and forever. But even wh ...

  • Giveaway: Overtaken by Mark Kruger (US Only)

    Overtaken by Mark H. Kruger Release Date: May 5th     About the Book Nica struggles to decipher the nefarious forces ruling her small town in this electrifying sequel to Overpowered, which VOYA says “offers all the conspiracy and intrigue of the best dystopian ...

  • Giveaway: The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey (US & Canada Only)

    The Girl At Midnight by Melissa Grey Release Date: 4/28/2015     About the Book Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidde ...

  • Giveaway: Gabby Duran and the Unsittables by Elise Allen and Daryle Conners (US Only)

    GABBY DURAN AND THE UNSITTABLES by Elise Allen and Daryle Conners In stores May 12th   About the Book Case File: The First Unsittable   Summary: The Association Linking Intergalatics and Earthlings (hereby known as A.L.I.E.N.) has a new member. After months of i ...

  • Giveaway: Tracked by Jenny Martin (US Only)

    TRACKED by Jenny Martin Release Date: May 5, 2015   About the Book   On corporately controlled Castra, rally racing is a high-stakes game that seventeen-year-old Phoebe Van Zant knows all too well. Phee’s legendary racer father disappeared mysteriously, but that h ...

  • Giveaway: Zeroboxer by Fonda Lee (US & Canada Only)

    Zeroboxer   by Fonda Lee Release Date: April 8, 2015   About the Book A rising star in the weightless combat sport of zeroboxing, Carr “the Raptor” Luka dreams of winning the championship title. Recognizing his talent, the Zero Gravity Fighting Association a ...

  • Giveaway: Challenger Deep by Neal Shusterman (US Only)

    CHALLENGER DEEP by NEAL SHUSTERMAN Release Date: 4/21/15   About the Book New York Times bestselling author Neal Shusterman has a devoted and passionate following of young fans worldwide because his novels and stories get to the heart of young people’s experiences.  ...

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Young Adult Indie
From USA Today bestselling author Kate Bridges... Time separates them and red dice reunite them. Jennifer Marks, the irresistible...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mirror mirror, hear my call... In the Fire world, seventeen-year-old Leah is the illegitimate daughter of one of the realm's...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rejected by the exclusive women’s college she has her heart set on, Tess Seibert dreads the hot, aimless summer ahead,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Vic Howard never wanted to go to the party. He's the Invisible Guy at school, a special kind of hell...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Ever since Jackie moved to her uncle's sleepy farming town, she's been flirting way too much--and with her own cousin,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Juliet Newman has it all. A picture-perfect family; a handsome, loving boyfriend; and a foolproof life plan: ace her SATs,...
 
4.0
 
3.0 (1)
deviate.jpg
Tormented after a daring escape, Cora Sandoval must find a way to stop the Arrazi from murdering innocent people and...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
In all of Tyme, from the Redlands to the Grey, no one is as lucky as Rapunzel. She lives in...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
They say death can be beautiful. But after the death of her mother, seventeen-year-old Raven Weathersby gives up her dream...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Vachtor Finds a Home: Vachtor is found and learns what it means to be part of a family. Meet Vachtor,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Introducing Tor Maddox, a heroine for our times with book I in the series, Tor Maddox: UNLEASHED. When sixteen-year...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of If I Stay or Imaginary Girls, Dust to Dust is the mysterious, thoughtful, and poignant sequel...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What is Normal? For Trevor normal was fast guitar licks, catching game-winning passes and partying all night. Until a car...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lois Lane is starting a new life in Metropolis. An Army brat, Lois has lived all over--and seen all kinds...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Surfing is sixteen-year-old Iris's world, and when the ultra-talented Zeke walks into her life, it soon becomes her passion. Over...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bestselling author Julie Cross teams up with Ford model Mark Perini to pen a poignant and gritty YA novel about...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lola Carlyle is lonely, out of sorts, and in for a boring summer. So when her best friend, Sydney, calls...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The hilarious new YA from acclaimed author Tina Connolly. Camellia's adopted mother wants Cam to grow up to be just...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Will it be a summer of fresh starts or second chances? For Lucy, the Jersey Shore isn't just the perfect...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Gia Montgomery's boyfriend, Bradley, dumps her in the parking lot of her high school prom, she decides to do...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)