Books Kids Fiction Maggie's Chopsticks

Maggie's Chopsticks Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/4b/ef/b3/14188_000-1352063857.jpg
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1012   0
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Genre(s)
Age Range
4+
Release Date
August 01, 2012
ISBN
1554536197
Buy This Book
      
Poor Maggie struggles to master her chopsticks -- it seems nearly everyone around the dinner table has something to say about the "right" way to hold them! But when Father reminds her not to worry about everyone else, Maggie finally gets a grip on an important lesson.

Editor reviews

I really enjoyed this book. The illustrations are heartwarming and beautiful. The story, while focusing specifically on a little girl learning how to use chopsticks, will resonate with a broader audience of young readers as every child knows what it feels like to be the only one in a room who has yet to learn a difficult task.

I especially appreciated the authentic Asian culture represented in the book, from the illustrations, to the names of the food dishes, to the altar for Maggie's ancestors. I think young readers are always fascinated by unfamiliar cultures, and this story should be a hit with them.

Finally, I was pleased that while everyone from Maggie's grandmother to her brother was telling her she wasn't holding her chopsticks right (and to look at their example instead, even though each example was slightly different from the one before), Maggie's father sees her discouragement and tells her that everyone is unique and there is no one right way to hold chopsticks. This gives Maggie the confidence to find her own way to use her chopsticks, and the larger message for young readers is a valuable one.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Lovely

I really enjoyed this book. The illustrations are heartwarming and beautiful. The story, while focusing specifically on a little girl learning how to use chopsticks, will resonate with a broader audience of young readers as every child knows what it feels like to be the only one in a room who has yet to learn a difficult task.

I especially appreciated the authentic Asian culture represented in the book, from the illustrations, to the names of the food dishes, to the altar for Maggie's ancestors. I think young readers are always fascinated by unfamiliar cultures, and this story should be a hit with them.

Finally, I was pleased that while everyone from Maggie's grandmother to her brother was telling her she wasn't holding her chopsticks right (and to look at their example instead, even though each example was slightly different from the one before), Maggie's father sees her discouragement and tells her that everyone is unique and there is no one right way to hold chopsticks. This gives Maggie the confidence to find her own way to use her chopsticks, and the larger message for young readers is a valuable one.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: I Love Him, I Love Him Not by Ella Martin + Giveaway (US Only)

    Hi, YABCers! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for I LOVE HIM, I LOVE HIM NOT by Ella Martin, releasing September 29, 2015 from Clean Reads/Astraea Press. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Ella:   Hi, guys! Thanks for joining me ...

  • Author Chat with Pat Schmatz

      Contributed by Eden Grey   Eden Grey: Where did the concept of Lizard Radio come from? Did you start with the main character, Kivali, or was it something else? Pat Schmatz: The concept for Lizard Radio started in my sketch book a few summ ...

  • First in Line--Press Release

      RANDOM HOUSE CHILDREN’S BOOKS LAUNCHES NEW YOUNG ADULT PROGRAM “FIRST IN LINE” First In Line offers YA readers exclusive advance access to authors and behind-the-book content. New York, NY—Random House Children ...

  • YABC August Book Haul

    It's here! It's Here! The August Book Haul is finally here! Enjoy this mountain of wordy-filled goodness.  Yay for books! ...

  • Giveaway: Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials (US Only)

    MAZE RUNNER: THE SCORCH TRIALS 20th Century Fox In theaters September 18, 2015   The Maze was just the beginning! See Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials in theaters September 18   In this next chapter of the epic “Maze Runner” saga, Thomas (Dylan O’Brien) a ...

  • Celebrating National Dog Day with Richard Torrey!

    TOO COOL TO BRAG. TORREY’S MY DOG, BOB, INTRODUCES KIDS TO A DIFFERENT WAY TO BE GREAT Raab Associates   Quiet dignity is vastly underrated, but it’s a quality shared by those who are truly fortunate to have learne ...

  • Author Trisha Leigh's TOP 5 OTPs

    Today we welcome Trisha Leigh, author of RETURN ONCE MORE, to the blog to share with us her top 5 OTPs!  RETURN ONCE MORE is a book about a teenage girl caught between her responsibility to document the past and her desire to use time travel in order to meet her one true love—even if he ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: Emerge: The Edge by Melissa A. Craven + Giveaway (US Only)

    Welcome to today's cover reveal! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for EMERGE: THE EDGE by Melissa A. Craven, releasing September 29, 2015 from Midnight Hour Studio. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Melissa:   Hello YABCers! And welc ...

  • On the Horizon

      DC Comics’ Lois Lane Returns in Lois Lane: Double Down from Switch Press  Second Book in the New Young Adult Series by Gwenda Bond   MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. (August 24, 2015) – DC Comics’ iconic character Lois Lane will be back for more in Lois Lane: Dou ...

  • What's New in YA--August 25, 2015

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!       Inspired by Victor Hugo’s classic, Les Miserables, A Little in Love beautifully conveys the heartbreaking story of street girl Eponine.   Paris, 1832 ...

  • Exclusive Sneak Peek at LIGHTLESS by C.A. Higgins + Giveaway (US Only)

    LIGHTLESS by C.A. Higgins Release Date: September 29, 2015 Publisher: Ballantine / Del Rey Hardcover   About the Book With deeply moving human drama, nail-biting suspense—and bold speculation informed by a degree in physics—C. A. Higgins spins a riveting science fict ...

  • Love Letters to Literature #1

      Contributed by Kayla King, Blog Manager and Staff Reviewer   Dear J.K. Rowling,   I suppose the best way to begin this letter would be to say thank you! Many readers might say that you changed their lives with the inception of your boy wizard. I'm su ...

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Follow alongside of ten-year-old Tammy Wurtherington, the little doll girl from River Falls, Ohio in this exciting new adventure that...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Washington, D.C. 2112 United States Time Travel Bureau Regina Bellows, junior agent at the U.S. Time Travel Bureau, is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Lark Singer’s relationship with her mother is prickly to say the least. As she enters a musical competition that could...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sequel to A Thousand Pieces of You by New York Times bestselling author Claudia Gray, Marguerite races through...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A girl’s dark destiny could cause the unraveling of the world in this spellbinding novel from the author of A...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
"A publisher in New York asked me to write down what I know about the Greek gods, and I was...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
17 year old Ember Denning has made an art of isolating herself. She prefers the dead. She spends her days...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
n this exciting and action-packed adventure by an award-winning author, a young girl discovers her secret ancient bloodline. The fate...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
ELIDAIRE_The_Tome_of_Knowledge_COVER.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
Four years after the murder of his mother, Revel Harcourt, leader of a group of an ancient race of demon-hunting...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Metal crumpled, screamed as the force sent bodies in all directions. Instant stink of burnt rubber, glimpse of an arm...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes, blackmail is the only weapon a girl has… Haley Patterson has had a crush on...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the sequel to the award-winning Killer of Enemies, Apache teen Lozen and her family are looking for a place...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
nspired by Victor Hugo's classic, Les Miserables, A Little in Love beautifully conveys the heartbreaking story...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
13 days.jpg
When Luke Manchett’s estranged father dies unexpectedly, he leaves his son a dark inheritance: a collection...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The world is a far different place in 2259. Thirty years of world war, rampant bombing, and the melting of...
 
0.0
 
4.9 (3)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Leia Swanson has always believed in monsters, especially after one killed her parents when she was seven years old. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The second book in the gripping Wanted series, this Western revenge epic is a must-read for...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
The whimsical "autobiography" of an imaginary friend who doesn't know he's imaginary—perfect for fans of The Miraculous Journey of Edward...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
When seventeen-year-old Lilliana Young enters the Metropolitan Museum of Art one morning during spring break, the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Remarque, a lonely boy raised by his grandfather, discovers a gateway that could lead him to everything he's ever wanted......
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)