Maggie's Chopsticks

Maggie's Chopsticks Featured

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1205   0
Write Review
Maggie's Chopsticks
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Genre(s)
Age Range
4+
Release Date
August 01, 2012
ISBN
1554536197
Buy This Book
      
Poor Maggie struggles to master her chopsticks -- it seems nearly everyone around the dinner table has something to say about the "right" way to hold them! But when Father reminds her not to worry about everyone else, Maggie finally gets a grip on an important lesson.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Lovely

I really enjoyed this book. The illustrations are heartwarming and beautiful. The story, while focusing specifically on a little girl learning how to use chopsticks, will resonate with a broader audience of young readers as every child knows what it feels like to be the only one in a room who has yet to learn a difficult task.

I especially appreciated the authentic Asian culture represented in the book, from the illustrations, to the names of the food dishes, to the altar for Maggie's ancestors. I think young readers are always fascinated by unfamiliar cultures, and this story should be a hit with them.

Finally, I was pleased that while everyone from Maggie's grandmother to her brother was telling her she wasn't holding her chopsticks right (and to look at their example instead, even though each example was slightly different from the one before), Maggie's father sees her discouragement and tells her that everyone is unique and there is no one right way to hold chopsticks. This gives Maggie the confidence to find her own way to use her chopsticks, and the larger message for young readers is a valuable one.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

  

   

   

    

  

   

 

Latest Book Listings Added

cover60900-medium.png
Toby's sister and baby brother love their schools - they...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every Exquisite Thing
Nanette O'Hare is an unassuming teen who has played the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emma and Julia Love Ballet
Emma is little. Julia is big. They both love...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blobfish Book
Perfect for fans of Battle Bunny and Z Is for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5)
The long path to the throne has only just begun...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gemina (The Illuminae Files #2)
The highly anticipated sequel to the instant New York Times...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2)
Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ask Me How I Got Here
Addie has always known what she was running toward. In...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Time We Were Us
A passionate summer love story about a girl, her childhood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Way Back To You
In this witty, heart-tugging novel, two teens take a spontaneous...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Happens Now
"I know what it is to want something so badly,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
All I Need
The last night of summer is only the beginning. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Occasional Diamond Thief
What if you learned your father was a thief?...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Salarian Desert Game
What if someone you love gambled on her life? ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Truth About Forever
A long, hot summer... That's what Macy...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“The mother I knew would never do those things. ...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)