Books Kids Fiction Maggie's Chopsticks

Maggie's Chopsticks Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/4b/ef/b3/14188_000-1352063857.jpg
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
786   0
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Genre(s)
Age Range
4+
Release Date
August 01, 2012
ISBN
1554536197
Buy This Book
      
Poor Maggie struggles to master her chopsticks -- it seems nearly everyone around the dinner table has something to say about the "right" way to hold them! But when Father reminds her not to worry about everyone else, Maggie finally gets a grip on an important lesson.

Editor reviews

I really enjoyed this book. The illustrations are heartwarming and beautiful. The story, while focusing specifically on a little girl learning how to use chopsticks, will resonate with a broader audience of young readers as every child knows what it feels like to be the only one in a room who has yet to learn a difficult task.

I especially appreciated the authentic Asian culture represented in the book, from the illustrations, to the names of the food dishes, to the altar for Maggie's ancestors. I think young readers are always fascinated by unfamiliar cultures, and this story should be a hit with them.

Finally, I was pleased that while everyone from Maggie's grandmother to her brother was telling her she wasn't holding her chopsticks right (and to look at their example instead, even though each example was slightly different from the one before), Maggie's father sees her discouragement and tells her that everyone is unique and there is no one right way to hold chopsticks. This gives Maggie the confidence to find her own way to use her chopsticks, and the larger message for young readers is a valuable one.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
CJ Redwine, Editor Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor November 04, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (397)

Lovely

I really enjoyed this book. The illustrations are heartwarming and beautiful. The story, while focusing specifically on a little girl learning how to use chopsticks, will resonate with a broader audience of young readers as every child knows what it feels like to be the only one in a room who has yet to learn a difficult task.

I especially appreciated the authentic Asian culture represented in the book, from the illustrations, to the names of the food dishes, to the altar for Maggie's ancestors. I think young readers are always fascinated by unfamiliar cultures, and this story should be a hit with them.

Finally, I was pleased that while everyone from Maggie's grandmother to her brother was telling her she wasn't holding her chopsticks right (and to look at their example instead, even though each example was slightly different from the one before), Maggie's father sees her discouragement and tells her that everyone is unique and there is no one right way to hold chopsticks. This gives Maggie the confidence to find her own way to use her chopsticks, and the larger message for young readers is a valuable one.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Every touch has its price Layla Shaw is trying to pick up the pieces of her shattered life—no easy task...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)