Who Pushed Humpty Dumpty?: And Other Notorious Nursery Tale Mysteries

Who Pushed Humpty Dumpty?: And Other Notorious Nursery Tale Mysteries Featured

 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
1266   0
Write Review
Who Pushed Humpty Dumpty?: And Other Notorious Nursery Tale Mysteries
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Genre(s)
Age Range
4+
Release Date
September 25, 2012
ISBN
978-0375841958
Buy This Book
      
Break-in at the Three Bears family home? It could only be one dame. Wicked witch gone missing from her candied cottage? Hansel and Gretel claim it was self-defense. Did Humpty Dumpty really just fall off that wall, or was he pushed? Here are five fairy-tale stories with a twist, all told from the point of view of a streetwise police officer called Binky, who just happens to be a toad in a suit and a fedora. When Snow White doesn't make it to the beauty pageant, Officer Binky is the first to find the apple core lying by her bed. When an awful giant mysteriously crashes to the ground, upsetting the whole town, Binky discovers exactly who is responsible. Author David Levinthal and illustrator John Nickle retell these classic stories in the style of a 1940s noir detective novel—for kids!

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
3.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
3.0

A Detective/Police Officer Dishes the Truth on Some Classic Fairy Tales

Told from the perspective of Mr Binky, a detective/policefrog, this book features 5 classic fairy tales which get a reworking from the original. This book has a fun ‘voice,’ as I found myself reading it in my mind as if I were in a 40’s-black-and-white, detective-smoking-behind-the-desk-with-his-feet-up-and-a-fancy-broad-in-his-office type voice. Know what I mean? Just the thought of talking about what happened to Snow White, Humpty Dumpty, Goldilocks, Hansel and Gretel, and Jack (of beanstalk fame) in that way is enough to make me crack up. Mr. Binky gets to the bottom of every story and gets all of the culprits (minus two) where they belong—-in the slammer. Hee hee hee…

I wasn’t as big a fan of the illustrations, though they are the type that may be appealing to some. They are slightly more of the ‘grotesque’ style than I would like for my young children (ages 4 and 2). There are also a couple of images that could be frightening to some (Gretel kicking a witch into a fiery oven, for example), but I think this book should be fine for kids 7 and up.

Good Points
Fun and silly to read out loud.
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

 

   

   

  

Latest Book Listings Added

Bob and Joss Get Lost
Perfect for fans of I’m Bored, Bob and Joss Get...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tugboat Bill and the River Rescue
Fans of Little Tug and Chugga-Chugga Choo-Choo will love this...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Charlie Piechart and the Case of the Missing Hat
Charlie Piechart’s second math mystery takes place at school—when a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fly Guy's Ninja Chistmas (Fly Guy #16)
In the new book in Tedd Arnold's New York Times...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
How to Keep a Boy from Kissing You
Executor of the Find a Prince Program™ and future...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Allegedly
Mary B. Addison killed a baby. Allegedly. She didn’t...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Avenged (Vanished #2)
Avenged is the conclusion to the Vanished duology, an...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Hard Count
Nico Medina’s world is eleven miles away from mine....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
City of Saints & Thieves
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo meets Gone Girl...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
RoseBlood
In this modern day spin on Leroux’s gothic tale...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fish Girl
The triple Caldecott winner David Wiesner brings his rich visual...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Macarons at Midnight
When Lise Santos stumbles into a bakery's midnight taste test,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
One Silver Summer
After losing her mom in an accident, Sass is sent...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Villain's Assistan
Secret designs and dark ambition have split the kingdom of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
NanoBots
A boy inventor creates the ultimate in high-tech superheroes that...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Hannah Hoffman - Pathway to Dragons - Book Cover - 100616 - Crop.jpg
Nine-year-old Billy Jones dreams of having a pet dragon! After...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)