Books Kids Fiction Room for the Baby

Room for the Baby Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/58/2e/f9/_room-for-baby-1351883093.jpg
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
437   0
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
4+
Release Date
September 25, 2012
ISBN
978-0375870903
Buy This Book
      
UH-OH!

What's a family to do when there's a baby on the way but no place to put a crib?

The big brother-to-be is worried. His mom does have a sewing room, but its every nook and cranny is stuffed with cast-off items and outgrown clothes that people have given her to recycle and reuse—some day. Now that day has come—because the new arrival will need someplace to sleep and something to wear. So the resourceful mom gets to work, making new clothes from old to outfit the baby-to-be.

Inspired by her creativity, the neighbors get involved, and soon everyone is stitching and knitting something. As the months go by and the family celebrates the Jewish holidays from Passover to Hanukkah, big brother helps his mom get ready, too. But things move slowly and he continues to worry: will there ever be room for the baby?

Editor reviews

Told from the perspective of a soon-to-be big brother in a Jewish family, this story highlights the family’s 9-month preparations for a new baby as they clear out the mother’s sewing room to change into a nursery. This book was not what I expected, but I was pleasantly surprised! The added element of following Jewish holidays brought the story more to life, and I couldn’t wait to see what the mother made out of all of her hand-me-down sewing materials each month. This book is yet another of a lot I’ve read lately that highlight the value of old things and encourage readers to get creative, see them in a new light, and make something useful out of something that might otherwise be thrown out. The mother in the story makes things not only for her own child, but takes the time to make things for neighbors as well. The finale shows the friends she’s helped returning her generosity as they take the last things out of the sewing room and turn them into gifts to give back in the now cleared up room. This book was truly a delight, and seeing as I am currently expecting, I plan to read it again and again to my daughters.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Creativity and Resourcefulness in Preparation for a New Little One

Told from the perspective of a soon-to-be big brother in a Jewish family, this story highlights the family’s 9-month preparations for a new baby as they clear out the mother’s sewing room to change into a nursery. This book was not what I expected, but I was pleasantly surprised! The added element of following Jewish holidays brought the story more to life, and I couldn’t wait to see what the mother made out of all of her hand-me-down sewing materials each month. This book is yet another of a lot I’ve read lately that highlight the value of old things and encourage readers to get creative, see them in a new light, and make something useful out of something that might otherwise be thrown out. The mother in the story makes things not only for her own child, but takes the time to make things for neighbors as well. The finale shows the friends she’s helped returning her generosity as they take the last things out of the sewing room and turn them into gifts to give back in the now cleared up room. This book was truly a delight, and seeing as I am currently expecting, I plan to read it again and again to my daughters.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)