Books Kids Fiction The Land of Neverbelieve

The Land of Neverbelieve Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/a6/a2/0b/_the-land-of-neverbelieve-1351882776.jpeg
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
833   0
Genre(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
October 09, 2012
ISBN
978-0763660215
Buy This Book
      
Explore the Land of Neverbelieve in these lush, vibrantly illustrated pages. Meet the island’s gentle, doll-like inhabitants. Discover its boggling collection of trees, such as the pasta tree, the rope tree, and the chocolate tree (taste the peppermint center if you have a chance). Be certain to visit Book Mountain, which whispers stories at bedtime. Observe the volcanic turtle and screaming night moth from afar. And beware the Spooky Dark Mountains, a horribly horrible area full of never-ending nastiness. Above all, don’t go swimming or sailing, lest the island get up and walk away. Investigating the Land of Neverbelieve is a fantastical adventure for imaginative young readers.

Editor reviews

Now this, my friends—this is not a book for those lacking imagination. I am sure no one reading this review lacks in that department, however, so let me go a little deeper. This is a book filled with wonders! It doesn’t have much of a story for reading to your children, but serves rather as a field guide to a magical land with fanciful creatures and landscapes that live beyond the imagination. Each drawing has a short explanation alongside it, detailing the explorer’s observations about that particular aspect of the land of Neverbelieve. I know that as a young reader I would have enjoyed this type of book, taking my time reading about each picture and anecdote and possibly being inspired to create some of my own imaginary creatures and places. And that’s the beauty of this book—it has very imaginative and unique creations within it, but also serves as inspiration for the reader himself. When you read about all of the mysterious and strange, scary and luscious and gorgeous things that make Neverbelieve what it is, you may begin to contemplate that perhaps the worlds in your dreams, be they during the day or night, could be real and even documented.
The Land of Neverbelieve has some ‘scary’ illustrations (my 4-year-old said, “We need to call the author and tell him not to draw mean mountains!” She's probably too young for this!) so be wary of your child’s age and personal fears/temperament, although this book is mostly filled with lovely and beautiful drawings of the things the author saw in the land of Neverbelieve. As he reiterates time and again, you would ‘never believe it!’
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Nicholette Tilghman Reviewed by Nicholette Tilghman November 02, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (120)

Not Your Average Storybook, to Say the Least

Now this, my friends—this is not a book for those lacking imagination. I am sure no one reading this review lacks in that department, however, so let me go a little deeper. This is a book filled with wonders! It doesn’t have much of a story for reading to your children, but serves rather as a field guide to a magical land with fanciful creatures and landscapes that live beyond the imagination. Each drawing has a short explanation alongside it, detailing the explorer’s observations about that particular aspect of the land of Neverbelieve. I know that as a young reader I would have enjoyed this type of book, taking my time reading about each picture and anecdote and possibly being inspired to create some of my own imaginary creatures and places. And that’s the beauty of this book—it has very imaginative and unique creations within it, but also serves as inspiration for the reader himself. When you read about all of the mysterious and strange, scary and luscious and gorgeous things that make Neverbelieve what it is, you may begin to contemplate that perhaps the worlds in your dreams, be they during the day or night, could be real and even documented.
The Land of Neverbelieve has some ‘scary’ illustrations (my 4-year-old said, “We need to call the author and tell him not to draw mean mountains!” She's probably too young for this!) so be wary of your child’s age and personal fears/temperament, although this book is mostly filled with lovely and beautiful drawings of the things the author saw in the land of Neverbelieve. As he reiterates time and again, you would ‘never believe it!’

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

  • What's New in YA

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!       When you’re in love with the wrong person for the right reasons, anything could happen. Tretch lives in a very small town where everybody's in everybody else ...

  • Books Aren't Dangerous Campaign

      Do you remember that book that changed your life as a reader, or maybe just your life in general? You do? That’s great!        Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl, authors of the BEAUTIFUL CREATURES series, have started a campaign called BOOKS AREN’T DANG ...

  • TOMORROWLAND - Drive Through Movie Review

    **********NO SPOILERS************ The Nerd Riders, Kristin and Clint, give their thoughts on the new Disney film TOMORROWLAND.    QUESTION: If you could go to an alternate universe what would you want to see there? ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: The Secret Side of Empty by Maria E. Andreu + Giveaway (US/Canada)

    Hi, YABC! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for THE SECRET SIDE OF EMPTY by Maria E. Andreu, releasing September 1, 2015 from Running Press. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Maria:   YABC Readers!  I’m so excited to share the pape ...

  • May 2015 YABC Book Haul

    Hey YABCers! Once again, our office has been innundated with books, books, and  more BOOKS! We've run out of shelf space which can only mean one thing .... it's time for the May Book Haul! Enjoy the video and let us know in the comments which books you can't wait to add to your TBR. &nbs ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: Insidious by Dawn Metcalf + Giveaway (US/Canada)

    Hello, YABC! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for INSIDIOUS by Dawn Metcalf, releasing August 25, 2015 from Harlequin TEEN. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Dawn:   You know when you finish a story, you never really finish because there' ...

  • What's New in YA

      Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!       A School for Unusual Girls is the first captivating installment in the Stranje House series for young adults by award-winning author Kathleen Baldwin. #1 New York ...

  • The Librarian's Corner

      This month's theme for the Librarian's corner is all about picture books you can share with teens! Picture books aren't just for kids and babies anymore. In fact, teens love storytime too!    For May, I am featuring some of my favorite picture books to share ...

  • The Greater Rochester Teen Book Festival

        The Greater Rochester Teen Book Festival--TBF 2015 Contributed by Kayla King, Blog Manager and Staff Reviewer   Here at Young Adult Books Central, we LOVE YA! Fortunately for us, The Greater Rochester Book Festival held at Nazareth Collge devotes itself to s ...

  • Giveaway: If You Feel Too Much by Jamie Tworkowski (US Only)

    If You Feel Too Much: Thoughts on Things Found and Lost and Hoped For By Jamie Tworkowski Release Date: May 26, 2015   About the Book In 2006 Jamie Tworkowski wrote a story called “To Write Love on Her Arms” about helping a friend through her struggle with drug addiction, ...

  • Giveaway: Nova by Margaret Fortune (US Only)

    Nova by Margaret Fortune   Release Date: June 2nd   About the Book *36:00:00* The clock activates so suddenly in my mind, my head involuntarily jerks a bit to the side. The fog vanishes, dissipated in an instant as though it never was. Memories come slotting ...

  • It's live!! Cover Reveal: Briar Rose by Jane Yolen

    Happy Friday, YABCers! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for BRIAR ROSE by Jane Yolen, releasing April 19, 2016 from Tor Teen.      Ready to see? Scroll, YABCers! Scroll! ...       ...     ...

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

The sequel to the highly praised and intricately plotted Nearly Gone--a YA urban mystery that's perfect for fans of Bones,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sustain the weak. Destroy the strong . A dark fable in the vein of Animal Farm, Watership Down, and The...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
John Green's The Fault in Our Stars meets Rainbow Rowell's Eleanor & Park in this darkly funny novel from the...
 
0.0
 
3.7 (1)
Acclaimed writer Margo Rabb's Kissing in America is "a wonderful novel about friendship, love, travel, life, hope, poetry, intelligence, and...
 
0.0
 
2.7 (1)
Given the way love turned her heart in the New York Times bestselling To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
There’s school, and then there’s the real world. If you’re lucky enough to survive the first, you owe it to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Black Swan meets Pretty Little Liars in this soapy, drama-packed novel featuring diverse characters who will do anything to be...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The author of OPENLY STRAIGHT returns with an epic road trip involving family history, gay history, the girlfriend our hero...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
It was an average day at Harry Buttz Elementary until . . . KABLAM! The five-bean burritos churning in Darren...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
This powerful middle-grade novel from the Newbery Honor author of RULES explores a friendship between a small-town girl and the...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Twenty-year-old Ethan Jones has a secret that even his parents and foraging companions don't know - he's a mutant. And...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Olivia Davenport knows what she needs to be happy. Now, if only she could get the rest of the world...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Josie and her brothers uncover a haunted camera, the Mothman legend becomes a terrifying reality that threatens their entire...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Laura Martin is visiting Rome on a class trip, and she's entranced by the majestic Colosseum, the Trevi Fountain, the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The youngest of six talented sisters, Elyse d’Abreau was destined for stardom—until a boating accident took everything from her. Now,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
The Stick Dog series continues in author-illustrator Tom Watson's hilarious Stick Dog Dreams of Ice Cream. In the follow-up to...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Ranger, the time-traveling golden retriever, is back for the second book in Kate Messner's new chapter book series. This time,...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
22635844.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
Rye O'Chanter was shocked to discover that her father was the leader of the notorious band of outlaws known as...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lois Lane is starting a new life in Metropolis. An Army brat, Lois has lived all...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kiera Cass's #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series has enchanted readers from the very first...
 
3.7
 
3.7 (2)