The Land of Neverbelieve

The Land of Neverbelieve Featured

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1226   0
Write Review
The Land of Neverbelieve
Genre(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
October 09, 2012
ISBN
978-0763660215
Buy This Book
      
Explore the Land of Neverbelieve in these lush, vibrantly illustrated pages. Meet the island’s gentle, doll-like inhabitants. Discover its boggling collection of trees, such as the pasta tree, the rope tree, and the chocolate tree (taste the peppermint center if you have a chance). Be certain to visit Book Mountain, which whispers stories at bedtime. Observe the volcanic turtle and screaming night moth from afar. And beware the Spooky Dark Mountains, a horribly horrible area full of never-ending nastiness. Above all, don’t go swimming or sailing, lest the island get up and walk away. Investigating the Land of Neverbelieve is a fantastical adventure for imaginative young readers.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Not Your Average Storybook, to Say the Least

Now this, my friends—this is not a book for those lacking imagination. I am sure no one reading this review lacks in that department, however, so let me go a little deeper. This is a book filled with wonders! It doesn’t have much of a story for reading to your children, but serves rather as a field guide to a magical land with fanciful creatures and landscapes that live beyond the imagination. Each drawing has a short explanation alongside it, detailing the explorer’s observations about that particular aspect of the land of Neverbelieve. I know that as a young reader I would have enjoyed this type of book, taking my time reading about each picture and anecdote and possibly being inspired to create some of my own imaginary creatures and places. And that’s the beauty of this book—it has very imaginative and unique creations within it, but also serves as inspiration for the reader himself. When you read about all of the mysterious and strange, scary and luscious and gorgeous things that make Neverbelieve what it is, you may begin to contemplate that perhaps the worlds in your dreams, be they during the day or night, could be real and even documented.
The Land of Neverbelieve has some ‘scary’ illustrations (my 4-year-old said, “We need to call the author and tell him not to draw mean mountains!” She's probably too young for this!) so be wary of your child’s age and personal fears/temperament, although this book is mostly filled with lovely and beautiful drawings of the things the author saw in the land of Neverbelieve. As he reiterates time and again, you would ‘never believe it!’

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

 

   

   

   

  

   

   

   

   

  

   

   

  

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Ninja Bunny: Sister vs. Brother
A hilarious new Ninja Bunny adventure featuring a humongous carrot,...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Lost and The Found
Fans of Lucy Christopher’s Stolen, Caroline B. Cooney’s The Face...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Dragons from Mars
For fans of Dragons Love Tacos comes a fun, silly...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Grandparents Love Me
From the illustrator of I Love Dad and I Love...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Be the Change: A Grandfather Gandhi Story
In this breathtaking companion to the award-winning Grandfather Gandhi, Arun...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Five-Minute True Stories: Animal BFFs
Joker the dog loves to dive in and swim with...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Applesauce Weather
When the first apple falls from the tree, Faith and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Killer In Me
Hasn't he lived long enough? Why not? I could take...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The domed city of Evanescence is in ruins. With nowhere...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“It’s dark magic brings him back.” ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mission Mumbai: A Novel of Sacred Cows, Snakes, and Stolen Toilets
Travel to the colorful and chaotic streets of India from...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreams
Moving on is the hardest thing she’ll ever have to...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Call
The Hunger Games meets horror in this unforgettable thriller...
 
3.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
Piper and Ash's story concludes in the fifth and final...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Piper is feeling a bit overwhelmed. With Seiya and Lyre...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
2015 Goodreads Choice Awards - Nominee in Best Fantasy ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)