The Land of Neverbelieve

The Land of Neverbelieve Featured

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1161   0
Write Review
The Land of Neverbelieve
Genre(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
October 09, 2012
ISBN
978-0763660215
Buy This Book
      
Explore the Land of Neverbelieve in these lush, vibrantly illustrated pages. Meet the island’s gentle, doll-like inhabitants. Discover its boggling collection of trees, such as the pasta tree, the rope tree, and the chocolate tree (taste the peppermint center if you have a chance). Be certain to visit Book Mountain, which whispers stories at bedtime. Observe the volcanic turtle and screaming night moth from afar. And beware the Spooky Dark Mountains, a horribly horrible area full of never-ending nastiness. Above all, don’t go swimming or sailing, lest the island get up and walk away. Investigating the Land of Neverbelieve is a fantastical adventure for imaginative young readers.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Not Your Average Storybook, to Say the Least

Now this, my friends—this is not a book for those lacking imagination. I am sure no one reading this review lacks in that department, however, so let me go a little deeper. This is a book filled with wonders! It doesn’t have much of a story for reading to your children, but serves rather as a field guide to a magical land with fanciful creatures and landscapes that live beyond the imagination. Each drawing has a short explanation alongside it, detailing the explorer’s observations about that particular aspect of the land of Neverbelieve. I know that as a young reader I would have enjoyed this type of book, taking my time reading about each picture and anecdote and possibly being inspired to create some of my own imaginary creatures and places. And that’s the beauty of this book—it has very imaginative and unique creations within it, but also serves as inspiration for the reader himself. When you read about all of the mysterious and strange, scary and luscious and gorgeous things that make Neverbelieve what it is, you may begin to contemplate that perhaps the worlds in your dreams, be they during the day or night, could be real and even documented.
The Land of Neverbelieve has some ‘scary’ illustrations (my 4-year-old said, “We need to call the author and tell him not to draw mean mountains!” She's probably too young for this!) so be wary of your child’s age and personal fears/temperament, although this book is mostly filled with lovely and beautiful drawings of the things the author saw in the land of Neverbelieve. As he reiterates time and again, you would ‘never believe it!’

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

    

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Lily and Dunkin
For readers who enjoyed Wonder and Counting by 7's, award-winning...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Secret Daughter of the Tsar
A compelling alternate history of the Romanov family in which...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Science Experiments You Can Eat
With revised and updated material, a brand-new look, and hours...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
"MouseStar 1" is surrounded by floating space junk! It's yucky...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The famouse opera singer Violetta von Cacklefur is in Gloomeria...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Thea Sisters are visiting a friend in sunny California...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Fault In Our Stars
Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wandering Wild
"I believe in possibility. Of magic, of omens, of compasses,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Hello, My Name Is Tiger
A reassuring picture book for back-to-school jitters! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Read Me Like A Book
In her first novel for young adults, New York Times...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What This Story Needs Is a Hush and a Shush
Join Pig in another fun read-aloud adventure on the farm...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Camp Dork (Pack of Dorks #2)
Lucy and her pack are back, in this sequel to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where She Went (If I Stay #2)
It's been three years since the devastating accident . ....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dill & Bizzy: An Odd Duck and a Strange Bird
Dill is a duck. A perfectly ordinary duck. At least...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Shadow Hour (The Girl at Midnight #2)
verything in Echo's life changed in a blinding flash when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Replica
Gemma has been in and out of hospitals since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)