Marco Impossible

Marco Impossible

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1556   0
Write Review
Marco Impossible
Age Range
10+
Release Date
March 19, 2013
ISBN
1596437219
Buy This Book
      
Thirteen-year-old best friends Stephen and Marco attempt a go-for-broke heist to break into the high school prom and get Marco onstage to confess his love for (and hopefully steal the heart of) Benji, the adorable exchange student and bass player of the prom band. Of course, things don't always go according to plan, and every heist comes with its fair share of hijinks.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Touching Look at Friendship

What I Loved:
Marco Impossible is my second Moskowitz novel, and it could hardly be more disparate from Teeth. Sure, both have male first person POVs (interestingly, both are told from the perspective of the character you wouldn't expect to be the main character) and LGBT themes, but the mood and writing of the two pieces are so different. Marco Impossible is often frustrating, but ultimately so satisfying, sure to leave you with a smile on your face.

Why the book is titled Marco Impossible becomes apparent really quickly. Marco's a force to be reckoned with, and he'll steamroll anyone who gets in his way. He's tiny, he's loud, he's proud, and he's completely determined to declare his love to Benji, the hot British bass player he's been crushing on, before he transfers schools. In true Marco fashion, he can't tell Benji via a letter or in person at school; no, he has to make a dramatic gesture. Thus begins a complicated series of events as Marco and his best friend, Stephen, plan to break into the Prom, where Benji's band is playing, so Marco can confess.

Actually,though, the story is less about Marco's relationship with Benji than his relationship with Stephen. Benji and Stephen have been best friends for ages, partners in solving crime. Even their families are close, which is why Marco's staying with Stephen's huge family while his parents are in Japan adopting a baby girl. Lately, or maybe not just recently, Stephen's been feeling frustrated with their friendship, with being the sidekick, with being the straight man (both literally and figuratively) on the Marco Show.

Stephen supports Marco with everything and will even take hits for him (since not everyone's cool about Marco's being gay), but a lot of the time he can't really remember anymore why they're best friends. He hates that Marco never listens to him or takes his advice. For example, Marco is being a total brat about his new sister, because he likes being an only child. Stephen, who has five siblings of his own, keeps trying to convince Marco that he'll love his little sister, but Marco continues to whine endlessly.

What really has Stephen upset, though, is that Marco is leaving him behind. How can Marco go to some fancy prep school and leave Stephen alone? Stephen doesn't even know why he's going. It's one thing being just a sidekick, but now he feels like he's being abandoned by the hero. Throughout Marco Impossible, Stephen becomes more and more fed up with Marco, and the way Marco never wants the spotlight on anyone but himself and ignores Stephen's input and feelings. I was really surprised by how painful most of this book was to read, because I've had a lot of problems with friends in the past, and this just got me in the feels.

What Left Me Wanting More:
No worries, though, because the story does end in a happy place, which, normally, I might complain about, but it was just right for this middle grade story. Marco and Stephen needed to have a happy ending, or at least a happy closing to their heist. That said, I would have appreciated a little bit more closure on some of the familial plot lines, most especially Marco's issues with his family's changes.

The Final Verdict:
Hannah Moskowitz tends to write darker novels, but she does an excellent job with this touching middle grade story. Marco Impossible is full of heart, focused on the difficulties of loving someone, even your very best friend.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Restart
Chase's memory just went out the window. Chase doesn't remember...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tori Douglas hates her life. Struggling to make the people...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It Should Have Been You
Seventeen-year-old Clara Seibert ghostwrites an advice column for her school’s...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A Round of Robins
Food Fight Jumble, jostle, rumble, squirm; ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emerson Page and Where the Light Enters
Thirteen-year-old Emerson Page wants to know what happened to...
 
3.8
 
5.0 (1)
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
Kady, Ezra, Hanna, and Nik narrowly escaped with their lives...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ace of Shades
Welcome to the City of Sin, where casino families...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Premonition (The Division Series Book 1)
When Riley heads off to boarding school for a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Stealing Liberty
 
5.0
"Hidden underneath the rubble and remains of a burned out school library, lies a treasure - a real library that..."
Devils Unto Dust
 
4.7
"In this alternative history the time after the Civil War has caused not only bad times to come to Daisy..."
The Traitor's Game
 
4.7
"THE TRAITOR'S GAME alternates between two main characters: Kestra and Simon. When Kestra is called back home to her father's..."
Better Than This
 
4.7
"The story: Samantha “Sam” Becker wants only one thing – to go to Juilliard. She’s a veritable prodigy with..."
The Poet X
 
4.0
"The Poet X felt like coming home. I felt the presence of the bodegas as if I walked by them..."
Zenith: The Androma Saga
 
4.0
"ZENITH: THE ANDROMA SAGA by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings is a young adult science fiction novel that follows the..."
Miles Away From You
 
3.7
"Grief is a funny thing, it's usually messy--and rarely neat--with the barest of touches, it makes a wreck of your..."
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
 
5.0
"Prepare yourself, Winter Glass is set to destroy all the feels! This stunning conclusion full of sisterly love, romance, and..."
Restart
 
4.0
"Middle grade mystery with an amnesic twist—a friendship-centric tale of lost-and-found. Readers are introduced to a cruel boy..."
Crossing the Line
 
3.3
"Ryan Hess escapes his abusive stepfather and flees to Mexico, hoping to train with a former famous boxer. He doesn't..."
It Should Have Been You
 
3.7
"This book had me at the tagline: “Once I decided to kill her, the rest was surprisingly easy.” ..."
The Last Thing You Said
 
3.7
"The Last Thing You Said by Sara Biren is a story about love and loss. Ben and Lucy are..."
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
 
5.0
"Obsidio starts off right where Gemina left off and we are introduced to a few new characters who follow in..."
Pretty Dead Girls
 
3.3
"PRETTY DEAD GIRLS by Monica Murphy is a YA thriller in which all the popular senior girls at Cape Bonita..."
Ace of Shades
 
5.0
"When Enne's mother doesn't return home, Enne travels to the City of Sin and she's desperate to find her. It's..."
Not if I Save You First
 
5.0
"Maddie's father is a Secret Service agent who is protecting Logan's father, the president of the United States. "Mad Dog"..."
How You Ruined My Life
 
4.7
"Rodney's father left, so he and his mother struggle to get by. When his well-to-do aunt and uncle decide to..."
Zombie Abbey
 
4.0
"It's been a long time since I had read a zombie novel and even more, one as entertaining as Zombie..."
The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games #1)
 
5.0
"i really loved this book, the plot and the characters. I'm looking forward to reading the next book in the..."
Kat and Meg Conquer the World
 
3.7
"WHAT I LOVED: The course of friendship, like love, doesn’t run smoothly. Epcot at Disney World nearly broke up my..."