The Fire Chronicle (The Books of Beginning #2)

The Fire Chronicle (The Books of Beginning #2)

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1515   0
Write Review
The Fire Chronicle (The Books of Beginning #2)
Author(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
October 09, 2012
ISBN
0375868712
Buy This Book
      
After the tumultuous events of last winter, Kate, Michael, and Emma long to continue the hunt for their missing parents. But they themselves are now in great danger, and so the wizard Stanislaus Pym hides the children at the Edgar Allan Poe Home for Hopeless and Incorrigible Orphans. There, he says, they will be safe. How wrong he is.

The children are soon discovered by their enemies, and a frantic chase sends Kate a hundred years into the past, to a perilous, enchanted New York City. Searching for a way back to her brother and sister, she meets a mysterious boy whose fate is intricately—and dangerously—tied to her own.

Meanwhile, Michael and Emma have set off to find the second of the Books of Beginning. A series of clues leads them into a hidden world where they must brave harsh polar storms, track down an ancient order of warriors, and confront terrible monsters. Will Michael and Emma find the legendary book of fire—and master its powers—before Kate is lost to them forever?

Exciting, suspenseful, and brimming with humor and heart, the next installment of the bestselling Books of Beginning trilogy will lead Kate, Michael, and Emma closer to their family—and to the magic that could save, or destroy, them all.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Best of Middle School Fantasy Available

The Fire Chronicle is the second book in The Books of Beginning Series. This second book takes place a little while after Atlas. John Stephens wastes no time getting right into the action. The evil finds Kate, Michael, and Emma in their new horrible orphanage and separates our three heroes.

There are epic battles, dark wraiths, wizards and heroes. The book is packed with action describing Michael and Emma's journey as they hunt for the second book. They visit graveyards, fairy lands, and have to fight mythical creatures.

John Stephens creates excellent character development and battle sequences, keeping the reader on the edge of their seats. The narration switches between Michael and Kate's point of view. But, this does not distract from the story telling. Kate's story line is simple with great plot twists that come at unexpected times.

The humor also sets this book apart from other middle grade fantasy novels. John Stephen's humor appeals to children, teens, and adults as well. When things get intense in the plot the humor adds a refreshing twist. Stephens knows how to include humor in such a way it adds to the suspense.

The Fire Chronicles was definitely worth the wait. I am looking forward to the third installment.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everless (Everless #1)
In the kingdom of Sempera, time is currency—extracted from blood,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lifeline
Popular high school senior Eli Ross has the perfect life....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Restart
Chase's memory just went out the window. Chase doesn't remember...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tori Douglas hates her life. Struggling to make the people...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It Should Have Been You
Seventeen-year-old Clara Seibert ghostwrites an advice column for her school’s...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A Round of Robins
Food Fight Jumble, jostle, rumble, squirm; ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emerson Page and Where the Light Enters
Thirteen-year-old Emerson Page wants to know what happened to...
 
3.8
 
5.0 (1)
Obsidio (The Illuminae Files #3)
Kady, Ezra, Hanna, and Nik narrowly escaped with their lives...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Soraya: A Wielders of Arantha Prequel
 
5.0
"This story starts with Sahria and several other girls captured to be sold as slaves. Sahria becomes like a mentor..."
Calmer Girls
 
3.5
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Young love makes one foolish. The story: Samantha is not the girl people..."
Challenge Accepted
 
4.8
"Readers will find 'Challenge Accepted' by Amanda Abram hard to put down. Her writing style perfectly captures teenage life, from..."
Shadow Wings
 
5.0
"Summary King Irdelron is dead. Lord Irrik is now Lord Tyrrik and free from his blood oath. Ryn is..."
 
4.8
"I'm not a big fan of Lord of the Rings or Game of Thrones or most Fantasy. There is nothing..."
Seventeen
 
5.0
"I loved this novel, I liked the way it was written and it had me hooked. The plot flowed smoothly..."
Legacy of Light (Legends of the Tri-Gard Book 2)
 
5.0
"LEGACY OF LIGHT picks right up where the first one left off. They're all mourning Davi's death and are still..."
Something of Substance
 
5.0
"A heartbreaking look into a real-life problem. The story: Grace has lived her life feeling as if she wasn't..."
Challenge Accepted
 
4.0
"A fun enemies to lovers romance. The story: Emma wants to find love... or at the very least, a..."
Ignited (Dance of the Elements, #1)
 
3.8
"The Republic is located in the desert and is ruled by the Thirteen. When Jura discovers a blood chain on..."
The Wing Collector
 
5.0
"Wow oh wow. Where to start? THE WING COLLECTOR is a completely original take on a faerie story and is..."
Soraya: A Wielders of Arantha Prequel
 
5.0
"SORAYA is a prequel that introduces the reader to how the all-female Ixtrayu tribe came to be. After reading PAWNS,..."
Queens (The Wielders of Arantha Book 2)
 
5.0
"QUEENS picks up right where PAWNS left off . The message Maeve received from her husband in the first book..."
Pawns (The Wielders of Arantha)
 
5.0
"Maeve and her son Davin find themselves stuck on a primitive planet that holds secrets they'll soon uncover. In PAWNS,..."
Seventeen
 
4.7
"I enjoyed the fact that this story was set in Australia. I liked the characters and enjoyed seeing them face..."
Acceptance The Jewel Trilogy Book one
 
5.0
"What I Liked: This was amazing! This is easily one of the best books I have read this year...."
Into Darkness
 
4.3
"The story: Fifteen-year-old Alexandra Spencer has led a life of privilege. That all disintegrates when her boyfriend Marcus..."
Fracture
 
5.0
"'Fracture' by Melanie Hooyenga was a fantastic sequel to 'Flicker,' the first in the book series. Biz's ability to flicker..."
Fathom
 
4.0
" FATHOM is a haunting and alluring story with the undeniable presence of Kira's mother who's supposed to be..."
ALEX HUNT and the Chase for Rhapta
 
3.5
"When Alex's dad goes missing, she is the only one who can find him because she's also the only one..."