Books Kids Fiction The Fire Chronicle (The Books of Beginning #2)

The Fire Chronicle (The Books of Beginning #2)

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/26/fa/8c/_13262797-1349875995.jpg
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
904   0
Author(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
October 09, 2012
ISBN
0375868712
Buy This Book
      
After the tumultuous events of last winter, Kate, Michael, and Emma long to continue the hunt for their missing parents. But they themselves are now in great danger, and so the wizard Stanislaus Pym hides the children at the Edgar Allan Poe Home for Hopeless and Incorrigible Orphans. There, he says, they will be safe. How wrong he is.

The children are soon discovered by their enemies, and a frantic chase sends Kate a hundred years into the past, to a perilous, enchanted New York City. Searching for a way back to her brother and sister, she meets a mysterious boy whose fate is intricately—and dangerously—tied to her own.

Meanwhile, Michael and Emma have set off to find the second of the Books of Beginning. A series of clues leads them into a hidden world where they must brave harsh polar storms, track down an ancient order of warriors, and confront terrible monsters. Will Michael and Emma find the legendary book of fire—and master its powers—before Kate is lost to them forever?

Exciting, suspenseful, and brimming with humor and heart, the next installment of the bestselling Books of Beginning trilogy will lead Kate, Michael, and Emma closer to their family—and to the magic that could save, or destroy, them all.

Editor reviews

The Fire Chronicle is the second book in The Books of Beginning Series. This second book takes place a little while after Atlas. John Stephens wastes no time getting right into the action. The evil finds Kate, Michael, and Emma in their new horrible orphanage and separates our three heroes.

There are epic battles, dark wraiths, wizards and heroes. The book is packed with action describing Michael and Emma's journey as they hunt for the second book. They visit graveyards, fairy lands, and have to fight mythical creatures.

John Stephens creates excellent character development and battle sequences, keeping the reader on the edge of their seats. The narration switches between Michael and Kate's point of view. But, this does not distract from the story telling. Kate's story line is simple with great plot twists that come at unexpected times.

The humor also sets this book apart from other middle grade fantasy novels. John Stephen's humor appeals to children, teens, and adults as well. When things get intense in the plot the humor adds a refreshing twist. Stephens knows how to include humor in such a way it adds to the suspense.

The Fire Chronicles was definitely worth the wait. I am looking forward to the third installment.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Joanne, Editor Reviewed by Joanne, Editor January 07, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (110)

Best of Middle School Fantasy Available

The Fire Chronicle is the second book in The Books of Beginning Series. This second book takes place a little while after Atlas. John Stephens wastes no time getting right into the action. The evil finds Kate, Michael, and Emma in their new horrible orphanage and separates our three heroes.

There are epic battles, dark wraiths, wizards and heroes. The book is packed with action describing Michael and Emma's journey as they hunt for the second book. They visit graveyards, fairy lands, and have to fight mythical creatures.

John Stephens creates excellent character development and battle sequences, keeping the reader on the edge of their seats. The narration switches between Michael and Kate's point of view. But, this does not distract from the story telling. Kate's story line is simple with great plot twists that come at unexpected times.

The humor also sets this book apart from other middle grade fantasy novels. John Stephen's humor appeals to children, teens, and adults as well. When things get intense in the plot the humor adds a refreshing twist. Stephens knows how to include humor in such a way it adds to the suspense.

The Fire Chronicles was definitely worth the wait. I am looking forward to the third installment.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
When Nic, a slave in the mines outside of Rome, is forced to enter a sealed cavern containing the lost...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
After a year at the king's palace, Miri has learned all about being a proper princess. But the tables turn...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Hopper is just an ordinary pet shop mouse before he escapes. Soon he finds himself below the bustling streets of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
The battle to free Titus's camps is over, and Hopper, Zucker, Firren, and their loyal followers are working to rebuild....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Tori Porter is best friends with her mom, and most of the time it’s awesome. Not many girls have a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
London's Youngest detective is back . . . Darkus Knightley, tweed-wearing, megabrained, fiercely logical thirteen-year-old investigator of the weird, was...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ari’s mother died four years ago, she had two final wishes: that Ari and her older brother, Gage, would...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A boy hunter, the president of the United States, and a terrorist plot converge to create an original and thrilling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rory and her friends are reeling from a series of sudden and tragic events. While racked with grief, Rory tries...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
For the most part, aspiring screenwriter Jack Bell is just your typical Midwestern kid. He’s got a crush on his...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
4.7 (1)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)