Books Kids Fiction The Fire Chronicle (The Books of Beginning #2)

The Fire Chronicle (The Books of Beginning #2)

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/26/fa/8c/_13262797-1349875995.jpg
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
841   0
Author(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
October 09, 2012
ISBN
0375868712
Buy This Book
      
After the tumultuous events of last winter, Kate, Michael, and Emma long to continue the hunt for their missing parents. But they themselves are now in great danger, and so the wizard Stanislaus Pym hides the children at the Edgar Allan Poe Home for Hopeless and Incorrigible Orphans. There, he says, they will be safe. How wrong he is.

The children are soon discovered by their enemies, and a frantic chase sends Kate a hundred years into the past, to a perilous, enchanted New York City. Searching for a way back to her brother and sister, she meets a mysterious boy whose fate is intricately—and dangerously—tied to her own.

Meanwhile, Michael and Emma have set off to find the second of the Books of Beginning. A series of clues leads them into a hidden world where they must brave harsh polar storms, track down an ancient order of warriors, and confront terrible monsters. Will Michael and Emma find the legendary book of fire—and master its powers—before Kate is lost to them forever?

Exciting, suspenseful, and brimming with humor and heart, the next installment of the bestselling Books of Beginning trilogy will lead Kate, Michael, and Emma closer to their family—and to the magic that could save, or destroy, them all.

Editor reviews

The Fire Chronicle is the second book in The Books of Beginning Series. This second book takes place a little while after Atlas. John Stephens wastes no time getting right into the action. The evil finds Kate, Michael, and Emma in their new horrible orphanage and separates our three heroes.

There are epic battles, dark wraiths, wizards and heroes. The book is packed with action describing Michael and Emma's journey as they hunt for the second book. They visit graveyards, fairy lands, and have to fight mythical creatures.

John Stephens creates excellent character development and battle sequences, keeping the reader on the edge of their seats. The narration switches between Michael and Kate's point of view. But, this does not distract from the story telling. Kate's story line is simple with great plot twists that come at unexpected times.

The humor also sets this book apart from other middle grade fantasy novels. John Stephen's humor appeals to children, teens, and adults as well. When things get intense in the plot the humor adds a refreshing twist. Stephens knows how to include humor in such a way it adds to the suspense.

The Fire Chronicles was definitely worth the wait. I am looking forward to the third installment.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Joanne, Editor Reviewed by Joanne, Editor January 07, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (99)

Best of Middle School Fantasy Available

The Fire Chronicle is the second book in The Books of Beginning Series. This second book takes place a little while after Atlas. John Stephens wastes no time getting right into the action. The evil finds Kate, Michael, and Emma in their new horrible orphanage and separates our three heroes.

There are epic battles, dark wraiths, wizards and heroes. The book is packed with action describing Michael and Emma's journey as they hunt for the second book. They visit graveyards, fairy lands, and have to fight mythical creatures.

John Stephens creates excellent character development and battle sequences, keeping the reader on the edge of their seats. The narration switches between Michael and Kate's point of view. But, this does not distract from the story telling. Kate's story line is simple with great plot twists that come at unexpected times.

The humor also sets this book apart from other middle grade fantasy novels. John Stephen's humor appeals to children, teens, and adults as well. When things get intense in the plot the humor adds a refreshing twist. Stephens knows how to include humor in such a way it adds to the suspense.

The Fire Chronicles was definitely worth the wait. I am looking forward to the third installment.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)