Books Kids Fiction Mimi's Village

Mimi's Village Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/3f/8c/2f/_mimis-village-1349728612.jpg
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
725   0
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
8+
Release Date
August 01, 2012
ISBN
978-1554537228
Buy This Book
      
In this newest addition to the CitizenKidTM collection of inspiring stories from around the globe, Mimi Malaho and her family help bring basic health care to their community. By making small changes like sleeping under mosquito nets and big ones like building a clinic with outside help, the Malahos and their neighbors transform their Kenyan village from one afraid of illness to a thriving community. "A great resource for introducing children to the issues surrounding global health and empowering them to get involved." -- Ophelia Dahl, Executive Director, Partners In Health

Editor reviews

Sad, encouraging, and informative all at once, Mimi’s Village is a fantastic introduction to the value of health care to the lives of every person on this planet. The story begins with the main character, Mimi, finding herself in a situation (because of lack of clean water) where she endangers her younger sister. She gets extremely sick and the family is forced to travel to the nearest village where there is a nurse and a health clinic. As you read about the very basic care this family receives it becomes apparent how privileged we are in America and how important even simple health education can be to a family’s standard of living. At the end of the book are resources bout how you and your child can help families like Mimi’s. Because of the personal story in this book, rather than just spouting off facts, it made the reality of Mimi’s family’s need that much more real, and I believe it will be a great book to encourage compassion and empathy in my children for people who are in need. I am grateful I am able to add this to my collection! What an inspiring and truly educational book.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Gain an Understanding of the Importance of Healthcare

Sad, encouraging, and informative all at once, Mimi’s Village is a fantastic introduction to the value of health care to the lives of every person on this planet. The story begins with the main character, Mimi, finding herself in a situation (because of lack of clean water) where she endangers her younger sister. She gets extremely sick and the family is forced to travel to the nearest village where there is a nurse and a health clinic. As you read about the very basic care this family receives it becomes apparent how privileged we are in America and how important even simple health education can be to a family’s standard of living. At the end of the book are resources bout how you and your child can help families like Mimi’s. Because of the personal story in this book, rather than just spouting off facts, it made the reality of Mimi’s family’s need that much more real, and I believe it will be a great book to encourage compassion and empathy in my children for people who are in need. I am grateful I am able to add this to my collection! What an inspiring and truly educational book.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)