Mimi's Village

Mimi's Village

Featured
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1668   0
Write Review
Mimi's Village
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
8+
Release Date
August 01, 2012
ISBN
978-1554537228
Buy This Book
      
In this newest addition to the CitizenKidTM collection of inspiring stories from around the globe, Mimi Malaho and her family help bring basic health care to their community. By making small changes like sleeping under mosquito nets and big ones like building a clinic with outside help, the Malahos and their neighbors transform their Kenyan village from one afraid of illness to a thriving community. "A great resource for introducing children to the issues surrounding global health and empowering them to get involved." -- Ophelia Dahl, Executive Director, Partners In Health

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Gain an Understanding of the Importance of Healthcare

Sad, encouraging, and informative all at once, Mimi’s Village is a fantastic introduction to the value of health care to the lives of every person on this planet. The story begins with the main character, Mimi, finding herself in a situation (because of lack of clean water) where she endangers her younger sister. She gets extremely sick and the family is forced to travel to the nearest village where there is a nurse and a health clinic. As you read about the very basic care this family receives it becomes apparent how privileged we are in America and how important even simple health education can be to a family’s standard of living. At the end of the book are resources bout how you and your child can help families like Mimi’s. Because of the personal story in this book, rather than just spouting off facts, it made the reality of Mimi’s family’s need that much more real, and I believe it will be a great book to encourage compassion and empathy in my children for people who are in need. I am grateful I am able to add this to my collection! What an inspiring and truly educational book.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

My Weird School Fast Facts: Explorers, Presidents, and Toilets
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Weird School Fast Facts: Space, Humans, and Farts
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I am Alex Hunt, daughter of the famous Archaeological Hunt...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Simon Barnacle is falling apart. Literally. His body is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Serafina and the Splintered Heart
 
5.0
"The night is quiet. Serafina is panicking, thrashing around. She is trapped, alone, with no idea where she is. It..."
The Little Book of Little Activists
 
5.0
"A book that represents hope for the future. The Book: Pages after pages of children raising their voices, adding..."
Fuecho Y Pablo
 
4.0
"A funny and endearing tale of a summer day gone wrong. The story: Ugly cat just wants a paleta...."
Little i
 
3.5
"A fun alphabet adventure. The story: Little i loses his dot. It fell of and rolled away so..."
Dragonfly Song
 
5.0
"Aissa is the first-born daughter of the Lady of an island, and as such she should be raised in a..."
Christmas Stories
 
5.0
"Laura Ingalls Wilder takes you into the pioneer world and what it was like to spend the holiday season in..."
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
 
5.0
"DC Super Heroes and jokes are the perfect combination for a fun, laugh-out-loud read. This book contains over 400 jokes..."
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
 
4.0
"When "Squishy" Taylor moves in with her dad and his new wife, she has to share a room with her..."
Dear Girl
 
5.0
"A fantastic way to empower little girls. The story: The book follows a little girl as she's told most..."
Curse of the Bane (The Last Apprentice #2)
 
3.0
" In this second installment of the series, Thomas ward is now 13 and has been the Spook’s apprentice for..."
Hero on a Bicycle
 
5.0
"HERO ON A BICYCLE by Shirley Hughes is a middle grades novel set in 1944 in Florence, Italy and its..."
The Digger and the Flower
 
4.5
"'The Digger and the Flower' by Joseph Kuefler shows the power of goodness when everything else seems to be overtaking..."
Zog and the Flying Doctors
 
5.0
"'Zog and the Flying Doctors' is another great story by Julia Donaldson, and illustrated by Axel Scheffler. The two have..."
Superbat
 
5.0
"Is it a bird? Is it a plane? No, it's a bat in a costume! Pat the bat is a..."
Danny and the Dinosaur A Very Merry Christmas
 
5.0
"Whoever thought of putting stickers inside of children's books is a genius. The story: The dinosaur has never..."
In a Dark, Dark Room and Other
 
4.5
"This book contains seven folktales that have been retold and rewritten to be easily read. This book is level two..."
Wide-Awake Bear
 
5.0
"In WIDE-AWAKE BEAR, baby cub Elliott is supposed to be hibernating with his mom and sleeping until spring. The only..."
Rapunzel and the Lost Lagoon
 
5.0
"My daughter and I love to watch the Tangled Series on the Disney Channel together, so I was so excited..."
Pig the Elf
 
4.0
"PIG THE ELF is about a dog named Pig who loves Christmas, but it isn't for the spirit or joy...."
Old MacDonald Had A Farn
 
4.0
"It was fun reading OLD MACDONALD HAD A FARM to my daughter. As I read, my daughter danced because it..."