Mimi's Village

Mimi's Village Featured

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1275   0
Write Review
Mimi's Village
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
8+
Release Date
August 01, 2012
ISBN
978-1554537228
Buy This Book
      
In this newest addition to the CitizenKidTM collection of inspiring stories from around the globe, Mimi Malaho and her family help bring basic health care to their community. By making small changes like sleeping under mosquito nets and big ones like building a clinic with outside help, the Malahos and their neighbors transform their Kenyan village from one afraid of illness to a thriving community. "A great resource for introducing children to the issues surrounding global health and empowering them to get involved." -- Ophelia Dahl, Executive Director, Partners In Health

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Gain an Understanding of the Importance of Healthcare

Sad, encouraging, and informative all at once, Mimi’s Village is a fantastic introduction to the value of health care to the lives of every person on this planet. The story begins with the main character, Mimi, finding herself in a situation (because of lack of clean water) where she endangers her younger sister. She gets extremely sick and the family is forced to travel to the nearest village where there is a nurse and a health clinic. As you read about the very basic care this family receives it becomes apparent how privileged we are in America and how important even simple health education can be to a family’s standard of living. At the end of the book are resources bout how you and your child can help families like Mimi’s. Because of the personal story in this book, rather than just spouting off facts, it made the reality of Mimi’s family’s need that much more real, and I believe it will be a great book to encourage compassion and empathy in my children for people who are in need. I am grateful I am able to add this to my collection! What an inspiring and truly educational book.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

 

   

   

   

  

   

   

   

   

  

   

   

  

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Ninja Bunny: Sister vs. Brother
A hilarious new Ninja Bunny adventure featuring a humongous carrot,...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Lost and The Found
Fans of Lucy Christopher’s Stolen, Caroline B. Cooney’s The Face...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Dragons from Mars
For fans of Dragons Love Tacos comes a fun, silly...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Grandparents Love Me
From the illustrator of I Love Dad and I Love...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Be the Change: A Grandfather Gandhi Story
In this breathtaking companion to the award-winning Grandfather Gandhi, Arun...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Five-Minute True Stories: Animal BFFs
Joker the dog loves to dive in and swim with...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Applesauce Weather
When the first apple falls from the tree, Faith and...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Killer In Me
Hasn't he lived long enough? Why not? I could take...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The domed city of Evanescence is in ruins. With nowhere...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“It’s dark magic brings him back.” ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mission Mumbai: A Novel of Sacred Cows, Snakes, and Stolen Toilets
Travel to the colorful and chaotic streets of India from...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreams
Moving on is the hardest thing she’ll ever have to...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Call
The Hunger Games meets horror in this unforgettable thriller...
 
3.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
Piper and Ash's story concludes in the fifth and final...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Piper is feeling a bit overwhelmed. With Seiya and Lyre...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
2015 Goodreads Choice Awards - Nominee in Best Fantasy ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)