Books Kids Fiction Mimi's Village

Mimi's Village Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/3f/8c/2f/_mimis-village-1349728612.jpg
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
793   0
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Age Range
8+
Release Date
August 01, 2012
ISBN
978-1554537228
Buy This Book
      
In this newest addition to the CitizenKidTM collection of inspiring stories from around the globe, Mimi Malaho and her family help bring basic health care to their community. By making small changes like sleeping under mosquito nets and big ones like building a clinic with outside help, the Malahos and their neighbors transform their Kenyan village from one afraid of illness to a thriving community. "A great resource for introducing children to the issues surrounding global health and empowering them to get involved." -- Ophelia Dahl, Executive Director, Partners In Health

Editor reviews

Sad, encouraging, and informative all at once, Mimi’s Village is a fantastic introduction to the value of health care to the lives of every person on this planet. The story begins with the main character, Mimi, finding herself in a situation (because of lack of clean water) where she endangers her younger sister. She gets extremely sick and the family is forced to travel to the nearest village where there is a nurse and a health clinic. As you read about the very basic care this family receives it becomes apparent how privileged we are in America and how important even simple health education can be to a family’s standard of living. At the end of the book are resources bout how you and your child can help families like Mimi’s. Because of the personal story in this book, rather than just spouting off facts, it made the reality of Mimi’s family’s need that much more real, and I believe it will be a great book to encourage compassion and empathy in my children for people who are in need. I am grateful I am able to add this to my collection! What an inspiring and truly educational book.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Gain an Understanding of the Importance of Healthcare

Sad, encouraging, and informative all at once, Mimi’s Village is a fantastic introduction to the value of health care to the lives of every person on this planet. The story begins with the main character, Mimi, finding herself in a situation (because of lack of clean water) where she endangers her younger sister. She gets extremely sick and the family is forced to travel to the nearest village where there is a nurse and a health clinic. As you read about the very basic care this family receives it becomes apparent how privileged we are in America and how important even simple health education can be to a family’s standard of living. At the end of the book are resources bout how you and your child can help families like Mimi’s. Because of the personal story in this book, rather than just spouting off facts, it made the reality of Mimi’s family’s need that much more real, and I believe it will be a great book to encourage compassion and empathy in my children for people who are in need. I am grateful I am able to add this to my collection! What an inspiring and truly educational book.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)