I Like Old Clothes

I Like Old Clothes

Featured
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
1375   0
Write Review
I Like Old Clothes
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Genre(s)
Age Range
1+
Release Date
August 14, 2012
ISBN
978-0375869518
Buy This Book
      
I like old clothes, / Hand-me-down clothes, / Worn outgrown clothes, / Not-my-own clothes. . . . Originally published by Knopf in 1976 (with illustrations by Jacqueline Chwast), this poem—an exuberant celebration of hand-me-down clothes—is just as relevant and accessible today as it was over 30 years ago. Children's Poet Laureate Mary Ann Hoberman offers a bouncy, fun-to-read-aloud text and a refreshingly agreeable, resourceful protagonist who likes old clothes for their "history" and "mystery." Illustrator Patrice Barton brings new, contemporary life to the poem, with an adorable little girl and her younger brother playing dress-up, making crafts, and happily treasuring their hand-me-downs.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
(Updated: October 10, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Me too!

Ah! Another book illustrated by Patrice Barton. I LOVE her illustrations. And this old-but-new poem reinvents itself with her exuberant drawings of cute kids trying on and wearing and sporting all kinds of different old clothes. This is a great book to expose to kids to show them the value of things, stuff--even if they are old. It could even help thrifty parents have a chance to talk about why they get hand-me-downs, or why Mommy likes to go to the second-hand store. I LOVED "I Like Old Clothes," and I'm pretty sure you and your kids will too!

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Pirate Queen: The Legend of Grace O'Malley
A captivating retelling of the story of Grace O’Malley, the...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Let's Call It a Doomsday
There are many ways the world could end. A fire....
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The moment I declared the last word, I felt a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Surface Breaks: A Reimagining of The Little Mermaid
Think you know the story of the Little Mermaid? Think...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Professor Renoir’s Collection of Oddities, Curiosities, and Delights
By her fourteenth birthday, Babe Killingsworth measures 6ʹ9ʺ and weighs...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Girl Who Loved Ghosts
She’d do anything to save her friends and family. But...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the latest...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Truman
After his best friend Sarah leaves for her first day...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Day the Universe Exploded My Head: Poems to Take You into Space and Back Again
Hang on tight for a raucous bounce through the solar...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blue Key
Seleste is turning sixteen. A milestone birthday. A birthday that...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fallen Empires (Cleopatra in Space #5)
Cleo goes into hiding after a mysterious death at Yasiro...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Season
Seventeen year old Lady Alexandra is strong-willed and sharp-tongued; in...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The Exact Opposite of Okay
Eighteen-year-old Izzy O’Neill knows exactly who she is—a loyal friend,...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Girl Gone Viral
For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Patron Saints of Nothing
A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
This Time Will Be Different
For fans of Jenny Han, Morgan Matson, and Sandhya Menon,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Super Humans
 
4.3
"The story: Best friends Chloe and Miranda, eager to start their college careers, move into an old, off-campus Victorian..."
North To Nara (Crimson Sash, Book 1)
 
5.0
"I’ve always been a sucker for dystopian. This is not a secret. The obsession with The Hunger Games is still..."
Goddess Ascending
 
4.3
"Elidi is a Goddess, or she will be when she ascends but to do that she must survive an attack..."
 
5.0
"Lemon's story focuses on finding an identity when you don't have one. She has to overcome her unforgettable name and..."
Falling For My Nemesis
 
4.8
"This book was so good. The Story: Mia and Carson have always hated each other. As Carson's brother's best..."
The F Word (Redefining Me book 1)
 
5.0
"Some books hit you right in the feels (or a bit lower). This is one of them. In the..."
 
4.0
"This book is not like anything else I have ever read and I thought it was great!!! you will need..."
Above The Star
 
5.0
""Though reminiscent of beloved fantasies -- think A Wrinkle in Time meets The Princess Bride -- Above the Star is..."
The F Word (Redefining Me book 1)
 
5.0
"I'm not going to lie, I was a bit skeptical when I started this book. As someone in a wheelchair,..."
My Virtual Prince Charming
 
4.0
"Luke is one of the popular crowd, but he has a nerdy secret. He loves to play the online game..."
Oath Taker
 
3.0
"OATH TAKER starts out super intriguing. As the reader, you’re immediately pulled into a world of light and dark magic,..."
The F Word (Redefining Me book 1)
 
5.0
"The story: Peyton has lost so much over the past eighteen months. Her brother passed away in a horrible accident,..."
Catching Ivy
 
4.8
"Feedback There are certain things I don’t like in books. Insta-love and perfect plans out of nowhere - just to..."
We Thought We Were Invincible
 
4.8
"Callie is trying to survive high school and get out of her small Florida town. When her best friend moves..."
A Straw Man
 
5.0
"n the third and final installment in the ‘The Clay Lion’ trilogy, Charlie’s little sister Melody takes her own trip..."
The Girl with Seven Wishes
 
5.0
"After helping her sister Lalana escape with her true love, Zadie must face the consequences. The new sultan of Astaran..."
The F Word (Redefining Me book 1)
 
5.0
"I’ve been a big fan of both Craven and MacQueen for many years so when I heard they were collaborating..."
What He Hides
 
4.8
"Fans of Karen McManus will enjoy the twists and turns in WHAT HE HIDES. When Lauren’s mom becomes the..."
Two Like Me and You
 
4.8
"TWO LIKE ME AND YOU is a laugh-out-loud, heartwarming story that fans of John Green will adore. Edwin gets..."
Twelfth Knight
 
4.5
"This story kept me engaged from the first page to the last. The Story: Violet is a new student..."