Books Kids Fiction The Capture (Animorphs Book 6)

The Capture (Animorphs Book 6)

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/6f/b9/3d/13830_capture-1351285811.jpeg
 
0.0
 
4.0 (1)
277   0
Age Range
10+
Release Date
March 01, 2012
ISBN
978-0545291583
Buy This Book
      
It was bad when Jake found out his brother was one of them. A Human-Controller. A slave. But that was nothing compared to this.

When the Animorphs decide to visit the Yeerks' new base, it seems simple. But then they get caught and Jake falls -- just for a moment -- into the Yeerk pool.

Now they're out, and his friends can't see it. To them he's just like normal. But Jake is screaming for help. His worst fear has finally come true. He's become the enemy.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Finally we get a glimpse at the Controller experience in the sixth installment of the Animorphs series, The Capture. Unfortunately for us, it’s Jake who gets an intergalactic space slug in his brain. But fortunately for us, it all works out as we all know thanks to the fact that there are fifty some odd books in the series.

All this drama goes down thanks to a pretty smart (yet terrible) plan by the Yeerks. They have installed a portable Yeerk pool in a local hospital to make involuntary hosts out of unsuspecting hospital patients. The Yeerks have timed this just right as the governor of the unnamed Animorphs’ state (we’re protecting their identity, remember) is about to go under the knife. What makes this even more advantageous for the Yeerks is that said governor plans to run for president in the next election. That’s a great person to have on your side during a space invasion. Jake gets a slug in his head during a mishap in their mission to destroy the portable Yeerk pool.

The best part of this book is the drama of it all! Will Jake escape free and clear? Can the Animorphs keep a watchful enough eye on him to ensure that he doesn’t escape as a Controller? Will the Yeerk force him to morph into some deadly creature and injure another Animorph? The suspense was killing me!

Another great part of this book is getting some more Yeerk history out of Temrash One-One-Four, the Yeerk who has grabbed control of Jake’s body. We learn how Yeerks evolved, what species they began to infest on their home world, and how the Yeerk story progressed from there. Obviously, Temrash leaves out just the right amount of information to keep us hooked for the story reveals as the series progresses. On to the next book!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Finally Some Yeerk Inner Thoughts

Finally we get a glimpse at the Controller experience in the sixth installment of the Animorphs series, The Capture. Unfortunately for us, it’s Jake who gets an intergalactic space slug in his brain. But fortunately for us, it all works out as we all know thanks to the fact that there are fifty some odd books in the series.

All this drama goes down thanks to a pretty smart (yet terrible) plan by the Yeerks. They have installed a portable Yeerk pool in a local hospital to make involuntary hosts out of unsuspecting hospital patients. The Yeerks have timed this just right as the governor of the unnamed Animorphs’ state (we’re protecting their identity, remember) is about to go under the knife. What makes this even more advantageous for the Yeerks is that said governor plans to run for president in the next election. That’s a great person to have on your side during a space invasion. Jake gets a slug in his head during a mishap in their mission to destroy the portable Yeerk pool.

The best part of this book is the drama of it all! Will Jake escape free and clear? Can the Animorphs keep a watchful enough eye on him to ensure that he doesn’t escape as a Controller? Will the Yeerk force him to morph into some deadly creature and injure another Animorph? The suspense was killing me!

Another great part of this book is getting some more Yeerk history out of Temrash One-One-Four, the Yeerk who has grabbed control of Jake’s body. We learn how Yeerks evolved, what species they began to infest on their home world, and how the Yeerk story progressed from there. Obviously, Temrash leaves out just the right amount of information to keep us hooked for the story reveals as the series progresses. On to the next book!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)