Books Kids Fiction The Message (Animorphs Book 4)

The Message (Animorphs Book 4)

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/f5/94/83/_images-1-1349656899.jpeg
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
312   0
Age Range
10+
Release Date
September 01, 2011
ISBN
978-0545291569
Buy This Book
      
It all started with the dreams. But Cassie didn't pay much attention to them. She and her friends have been having nightmares ever since they acquired the power to morph. But when Cassie discovers that Tobias has been having dreams too -- the exact same dreams -- about the ocean, and a voice that's calling to them for help, she decides it's time to start listening. Now she and the others have to figure out if the dreams are a message, or a trap.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
This one gives us a whole new take on Flipper! In Animorphs #4 "The Message," readers are taken into the thoughts of Cassie, the most talented morpher of the bunch. This is due in large part to her connection with animals, and it is this connection and awareness of other species that presents Cassie with the greatest conundrum of the book: whether or not it is okay to morph into a dolphin.

Cassie questions whether or not it is morally right to morph into dolphins. She is in awe of dolphin intelligence and wonders if it is okay to take the form of something that is so aware of the world and others in it. This theme of morality is yet another thought-provoking message that makes the Animorphs series so much more than just a moneymaking machine.

What always makes these books a bit more exciting is when we are served up some Andalite realness, and we sure get that in "The Message." This is the book where Ax comes into play and becomes a key member of the group. Through the introduction of Ax and his revelation that the Yeerks aren’t only seeking to control humans, but destroy the entire planet, Cassie decides that it’s not about whether or not she gets permission from a dolphin to acquire its DNA. Instead, she realizes that without the ability to morph into all species, the entire dolphin race, and every other species on Earth, could be wiped out.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

A Whole New Perspective on Flipper

This one gives us a whole new take on Flipper! In Animorphs #4 "The Message," readers are taken into the thoughts of Cassie, the most talented morpher of the bunch. This is due in large part to her connection with animals, and it is this connection and awareness of other species that presents Cassie with the greatest conundrum of the book: whether or not it is okay to morph into a dolphin.

Cassie questions whether or not it is morally right to morph into dolphins. She is in awe of dolphin intelligence and wonders if it is okay to take the form of something that is so aware of the world and others in it. This theme of morality is yet another thought-provoking message that makes the Animorphs series so much more than just a moneymaking machine.

What always makes these books a bit more exciting is when we are served up some Andalite realness, and we sure get that in "The Message." This is the book where Ax comes into play and becomes a key member of the group. Through the introduction of Ax and his revelation that the Yeerks aren’t only seeking to control humans, but destroy the entire planet, Cassie decides that it’s not about whether or not she gets permission from a dolphin to acquire its DNA. Instead, she realizes that without the ability to morph into all species, the entire dolphin race, and every other species on Earth, could be wiped out.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)