Toads on Toast

Toads on Toast

Featured
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
1759   0
Write Review
Toads on Toast
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Genre(s)
Age Range
4+
Release Date
September 01, 2012
ISBN
1554536626
Buy This Book
      

Mamma Toad does everything she can think of to save her unruly brood from Fox's frying pan, including offering up herself, and eventually persuades Fox to try her own secret recipe for Toad-in-a-Hole, a tasty treat that they all end up enjoying together. The secret? No toads!

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Fun!

This is a fun story destined to be a favorite on many a bookshelf. Fox is determined to try the new toad recipes in his cookbook, and all of them call for young toads. But Mama Toad isn't about to let him eat her children. (And her vast brood are busy turning Fox's kitchen inside out!) She finally tricks Fox into trying a Toads-on-Toast recipe (without the toads!), and all ends happily ever after. I really enjoyed the story, and the recipe for Toads-on-Toast (without the toads!) at the end of the book is a nice touch. It's an easy recipe that kids can help their parent make for lunch! I highly recommend this book.

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Worst Fairy Godmother Ever!
Q: What do you need to become a great fairy...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drum Roll, Please
Find the confidence to rock out to your own beat...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everless (Everless #1)
In the kingdom of Sempera, time is currency—extracted from blood,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lifeline
Popular high school senior Eli Ross has the perfect life....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Would you risk it all for love? A high-ranking official’s...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kristen McDonald has dreamed of being crowned prom queen for...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
FRANKIE FRETINI has had a horrible year. And, just when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jackson and Samantha live modestly in a small apartment in...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Devils Unto Dust
Keep together. Keep your eyes open. Keep your wits about...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Traitor's Game
Jennifer A. Nielsen introduces us to an unforgettable new heroine...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
BetterThanThis_500.jpg
What can keep a dream alive? ...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Poet X
Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Zenith: The Androma Saga
Most know Androma Racella as the Bloody Baroness, a powerful...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
Pick a book. Grow a Reader! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Miles Away From You
It's been three years since Miles fell for Vivian, a...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Winter Glass (Spindle Fire #2)
A curse comes undone. A kingdom shatters. But some bonds...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

The Worst Fairy Godmother Ever!
 
4.0
"Isabelle is a fairy-godmother-in-training and is so nervous that she's going to wind up being terrible like her mother was...."
Drum Roll, Please
 
4.0
"Even though Melly was forced to go to Camp Rockaway, it's just the escape she needs. Her parents are getting..."
Sugar and Spice (Whatever After #10)
 
5.0
"Abby and Jonah take another trip through their magic mirror after being told their grounded from technology. This time, it..."
The Hall Monitors Are Fired!
 
5.0
"Sam is the hall monitor at Eerie Elementary, but his job requires more than watching out for students doing things..."
A Round of Robins
 
4.0
"This picture book sized poetry book follows Mama and Dad bird as they hatch a clutch of eggs, supervise raising..."
The Seismic Seven
 
4.0
"Kenzie, Brianna, Wyatt and Todd have all have won the opportunity to study with Dr. Grier in Yellowstone National Park,..."
The Slithery Shakedown: The Nocturnals (Grow & Read Early Reader, Level 2)
 
3.5
"In this sequel to The Midnight Meeting, we rejoin Bismark the sugar glider, Tobin the pangolin and Dawn the fox...."
Beat Bugs: In My Life (I Can Read Level 1)
 
4.0
"Illustrated with stills from the television program with light colored font, children will enjoy identifying the characters they know from..."
Scroll of Kings (The Lost Books #1)
 
4.0
"Alex is struggling as the apprentice to an elderly librarian at a castle filled with old, musty diaries and laundry..."
 
5.0
"Tristan's family decides to move from New York City to a small town after his father loses his job and..."
Sparks!
 
4.5
"Canine configuration engage! August, a cat, has created a robotic dog that his friend Charlie helps him run. With the..."
A Warp in Time (Horizon, Book 3)
 
4.0
"The children in the Killbots whose plane went down have suffered from having friends die, being stuck in all sorts..."
Marge in Charge and the Stolen Treasure (#2)
 
4.0
"Jemima and her little brother Jakey are being bedeviled by their baby cousin, Zara. Their Aunt Sally claims that her..."
Super Sweet Dreams (Puppy Princess #2)
 
4.0
"In this sequel to Party Time, Princess Rosie finds out that her best friend (and cat-in-waiting) Cleo's birthday is coming..."
How to Be a Supervillain: Born to Be Good (#2)
 
4.0
"Victor Spoil is back after defeating Dr. Deplorable in How to Be a Supervillian. He's still struggling with wanting to..."
The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl
 
4.0
"Lucy lives with her supportive grandmother, and frequently sees her uncle, who is young, fun, and a bit misguided. Lucy..."
Me, Frida, and the Secret of the Peacock Ring
 
5.0
"Paloma Marquez has to spend the summer in Mexico City with her mother, who has gotten a fellowship to study..."
The Parker Inheritance
 
4.0
"Candice's grandmother was a city official in the small town of Lambert before she fell into disrepute. She thought there..."
 
4.0
"In this level one beginning reader, Pete and his friends adventure into the back yard to look for bugs. They..."
My Weird School: Teamwork Trouble (I Can Read Level 2)
 
5.0
"This level two I Can Read book follows the exploits of Ryan, who loves all sports! He is on a..."