Books Kids Fiction Farm Boy: The Sequel to War Horse

Farm Boy: The Sequel to War Horse Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/41/c2/1b/_400000000000000541115-s4-1348443462.png
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
968   0
Genre(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
April 03, 2012
ISBN
9780545460064
Buy This Book
      
The heartwarming sequel to Michael Morpurgo's bestselling War Horse!

Farm Boy is the heartwarming sequel to War Horse, the beloved novel that has now been made into a play and a major motion picture.

Albert's son is all grown up, an old man now. But he has a shameful secret he's kept to himself his whole life. As he comes to terms with the truth, he tells stories of the farm of his childhood--his war hero dad, skipping school to help with the harvest, and of course the wonderful horses, Joey and Zoey.

The charming book speaks to the bond between generations, and captures the spirit of rural life and the love of horses.

Editor reviews

This is billed as the sequel to War Horse but it's really not. While it mentions Albert and Joey, the focus is more on the bonds of family, the love of horses and the importance of literacy. It's well written and is told from alternating POV's, both of which are human this time. The illustrations are good and they enhance the story nicely.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0
Jen, Editor Reviewed by Jen, Editor November 19, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (414)

Nice Addition to War Horse.

This is billed as the sequel to War Horse but it's really not. While it mentions Albert and Joey, the focus is more on the bonds of family, the love of horses and the importance of literacy. It's well written and is told from alternating POV's, both of which are human this time. The illustrations are good and they enhance the story nicely.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
When Nic, a slave in the mines outside of Rome, is forced to enter a sealed cavern containing the lost...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
After a year at the king's palace, Miri has learned all about being a proper princess. But the tables turn...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Hopper is just an ordinary pet shop mouse before he escapes. Soon he finds himself below the bustling streets of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
The battle to free Titus's camps is over, and Hopper, Zucker, Firren, and their loyal followers are working to rebuild....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Tori Porter is best friends with her mom, and most of the time it’s awesome. Not many girls have a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
London's Youngest detective is back . . . Darkus Knightley, tweed-wearing, megabrained, fiercely logical thirteen-year-old investigator of the weird, was...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ari’s mother died four years ago, she had two final wishes: that Ari and her older brother, Gage, would...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A boy hunter, the president of the United States, and a terrorist plot converge to create an original and thrilling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rory and her friends are reeling from a series of sudden and tragic events. While racked with grief, Rory tries...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
For the most part, aspiring screenwriter Jack Bell is just your typical Midwestern kid. He’s got a crush on his...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
4.7 (1)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)