Books Kids Fiction Third Grade Angels

Third Grade Angels Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/fa/49/8c/_third-grade-angels-1347579654.jpg
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1535   0
Age Range
6+
Release Date
September 01, 2012
ISBN
978-0545387729
Buy This Book
      
The long-awaited prequel to the bestseller FOURTH GRADE RATS

George, aka "Suds," has just entered third grade, and he's heard the rhyme about "first grade babies/second grade cats/third grade angels/fourth grade rats," but what does this mean for his school year? It means that his teacher, Mrs. Simms, will hold a competition every month to see which student deserves to be awarded "the halo" - which student is best-behaved, kindest to others, and, in short, perfect. Suds is determined to be the first to earn the halo, but he's finding the challenge of always being good to be more stressful than he had anticipated. Does he have to be good even outside of school? (Does he have to be nice to his annoying little sister?) And if Mrs. Simms doesn't actually see him doing a good deed, does it even count?

A warm, funny return to elementary school from master storyteller Spinelli.

Editor reviews

Average editor rating from: 2 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0  (2)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)

Jerry Spinelli can be counted to write heartfelt stories about good kids and their simple lives. THIRD GRADE ANGELS, the prequel to FOURTH GRADE RATS, is no exception. This easy novel follows the adventures of Suds and his friends in their quest to earn halos from their teacher, Mrs. Simms.

While the premise is light, the novel brings up the question of if a child should do what is right, even if no one is watching. Ever the teacher, I am excited to see integrity being discussed in such a simple and relatable way. Speaking of teachers, I have to applaud Spinelli for always creating realistic educators in his books. Mrs. Simms is the third grade teacher that everyone deserves.

THIRD GRADE ANGELS is a timeless story and could have been written thirty years ago, but for a few modern additions like Suds and his mom fist-bumping, and the new kid referring to a classmate as a “hottie”. These almost felt anachronistic in the story, but will be appreciated by young readers.

Although my sixth graders wouldn’t be caught reading a book with “third grade” in the title, I will be handing this book to my friend who teaches elementary school. I know her kids will gobble it up!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Megan Kelly, Editor Reviewed by Megan Kelly, Editor October 20, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (112)

Simply Sweet

Jerry Spinelli can be counted to write heartfelt stories about good kids and their simple lives. THIRD GRADE ANGELS, the prequel to FOURTH GRADE RATS, is no exception. This easy novel follows the adventures of Suds and his friends in their quest to earn halos from their teacher, Mrs. Simms.

While the premise is light, the novel brings up the question of if a child should do what is right, even if no one is watching. Ever the teacher, I am excited to see integrity being discussed in such a simple and relatable way. Speaking of teachers, I have to applaud Spinelli for always creating realistic educators in his books. Mrs. Simms is the third grade teacher that everyone deserves.

THIRD GRADE ANGELS is a timeless story and could have been written thirty years ago, but for a few modern additions like Suds and his mom fist-bumping, and the new kid referring to a classmate as a “hottie”. These almost felt anachronistic in the story, but will be appreciated by young readers.

Although my sixth graders wouldn’t be caught reading a book with “third grade” in the title, I will be handing this book to my friend who teaches elementary school. I know her kids will gobble it up!

Was this review helpful to you? 
The world is full of ordinary kids doing ordinary things: going to school, thinking about life, playing with friends, taking baths, reading books. You know. Stuff. It doesn’t seem at first glance that there are a lot of stories hiding among those ordinary kids and their ordinary days.

Jerry Spinelli’s genius is how clearly he understands that every ordinary kid has a story worth telling—and how beautifully he tells those stories. THIRD GRADE ANGELS is about George (most people call him Suds). On the first day of third grade, George’s new teacher sets the class a goal; each week one child will earn a halo. To earn a halo, she explains, all a child has to do, is behave well: eat vegetables, be kind, act responsibly, hand homework in on time, and so on.

Some kids find it really hard to behave that well, and some aren’t even interested in trying, like the new kid, Joseph, who would rather be a rat than an angel. But George is naturally a good kid, and he wants to earn that halo. In fact, what he really wants is to be the very first official third grade angel. In the meantime, he also has to figure out how to deal with Joseph, and how to maybe even tell Judy Billings that he really likes her.

Ordinary stuff, right? Yes, but not to George, and not to Jerry Spinelli. It’s not that anything magical happens, or that there’s a dramatic confrontation between the forces of good and evil, although there is a pretty dramatic moment towards the end of the book. Nothing magical needs to happen, because George creates plenty of tension all by himself. His desire to do well, and to be recognized for doing well, is both his making, and his undoing.

This was a charming book, with far more substance than usually found in early readers. I highly recommend it.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

A halo for Mr. Spinelli!

The world is full of ordinary kids doing ordinary things: going to school, thinking about life, playing with friends, taking baths, reading books. You know. Stuff. It doesn’t seem at first glance that there are a lot of stories hiding among those ordinary kids and their ordinary days.

Jerry Spinelli’s genius is how clearly he understands that every ordinary kid has a story worth telling—and how beautifully he tells those stories. THIRD GRADE ANGELS is about George (most people call him Suds). On the first day of third grade, George’s new teacher sets the class a goal; each week one child will earn a halo. To earn a halo, she explains, all a child has to do, is behave well: eat vegetables, be kind, act responsibly, hand homework in on time, and so on.

Some kids find it really hard to behave that well, and some aren’t even interested in trying, like the new kid, Joseph, who would rather be a rat than an angel. But George is naturally a good kid, and he wants to earn that halo. In fact, what he really wants is to be the very first official third grade angel. In the meantime, he also has to figure out how to deal with Joseph, and how to maybe even tell Judy Billings that he really likes her.

Ordinary stuff, right? Yes, but not to George, and not to Jerry Spinelli. It’s not that anything magical happens, or that there’s a dramatic confrontation between the forces of good and evil, although there is a pretty dramatic moment towards the end of the book. Nothing magical needs to happen, because George creates plenty of tension all by himself. His desire to do well, and to be recognized for doing well, is both his making, and his undoing.

This was a charming book, with far more substance than usually found in early readers. I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)