Books Kids Fiction The Wishing Spell (The Land of Stories #1)

The Wishing Spell (The Land of Stories #1)

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/c9/ec/74/_the-land-of-stories-chris-colfer-1347560034.jpg
 
0.0
 
4.0 (2)
618   0
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Genre(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
July 17, 2012
ISBN
9780316201575
Buy This Book
      
Alex and Conner Bailey's world is about to change, in this fast-paced adventure that uniquely combines our modern day world with the enchanting realm of classic fairy tales.

"The Land of Stories" tells the tale of twins Alex and Conner. Through the mysterious powers of a cherished book of stories, they leave their world behind and find themselves in a foreign land full of wonder and magic where they come face-to-face with the fairy tale characters they grew up reading about.

But after a series of encounters with witches, wolves, goblins, and trolls alike, getting back home is going to be harder than they thought.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 2 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0  (2)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (2)
The Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell had all the elements of a great Middle Grade adventure, but sadly it fell a little short for me.

My favorite aspect of the story was the setting. It was fun to explore The Land of Stories and meet all the fairy-tale characters. I really liked that all the side characters had their own unique personalities, especially the most famous ones. I mean, we have Goldilocks the fugitive with a smart mouth and then the self-centered Little Red Riding. The main characters, though, were pretty one-dimensional. It felt like Alex was always embarrassed of her brother and Conner was always grumpy. I wanted a little ore from them.

The pacing didn't work for me either. Often there were no transitions and we'd go from looking at the forest up ahead to suddenly being in the forest on the next sentence. It was too abrupt and made it feel a little bit like stop-motion. It really pulled me out of the story and didn't let me get pulled in for very long.

I didn't find any of the “big reveals” surprising, either. In fact, I figured many of them out WAY ahead of time and found myself rolling my eyes whenever Conner and Alex would be confounded by this or that. I did, however, really like the Evil Queen's backstory.

The Nutshell: The Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell had a lot of really good elements, but it just didn't work for me. The journey and setting is fun, but the twists, main characters, and pacing really bogged down the story. I'm hoping for some more growth with Conner and Alex in the sequel and maybe a little more of their mom, as well.

Near Miss
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
2.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Jasmine Reviewed by Jasmine January 30, 2013
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (326)

The Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell (A Room with Books review)

The Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell had all the elements of a great Middle Grade adventure, but sadly it fell a little short for me.

My favorite aspect of the story was the setting. It was fun to explore The Land of Stories and meet all the fairy-tale characters. I really liked that all the side characters had their own unique personalities, especially the most famous ones. I mean, we have Goldilocks the fugitive with a smart mouth and then the self-centered Little Red Riding. The main characters, though, were pretty one-dimensional. It felt like Alex was always embarrassed of her brother and Conner was always grumpy. I wanted a little ore from them.

The pacing didn't work for me either. Often there were no transitions and we'd go from looking at the forest up ahead to suddenly being in the forest on the next sentence. It was too abrupt and made it feel a little bit like stop-motion. It really pulled me out of the story and didn't let me get pulled in for very long.

I didn't find any of the “big reveals” surprising, either. In fact, I figured many of them out WAY ahead of time and found myself rolling my eyes whenever Conner and Alex would be confounded by this or that. I did, however, really like the Evil Queen's backstory.

The Nutshell: The Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell had a lot of really good elements, but it just didn't work for me. The journey and setting is fun, but the twists, main characters, and pacing really bogged down the story. I'm hoping for some more growth with Conner and Alex in the sequel and maybe a little more of their mom, as well.

Near Miss

Was this review helpful to you? 
This book was SO GOOD.

I was a bit skeptical of it at first, the fact that it is a middle-grade book and all, but it was such a good book. From the beginning, I was captivated by the mystical land that is The Land of Stories. I fell in love with the world.

I did have a few issues with it, while reading. I can't handle the naivety of 12 year olds. They would say something extremely childish or just start crying, and my eyes would immediately start to roll. I love the book, I honestly do, but I just was having a hard time dealing with the characters sometimes.

The development of all of the characters, though, was AMAZING. I LOVE Goldilocks, Snow White, and all of the other characters. Chris Colfer created a world that I want to visit, something that hasn't happened to me since Harry Potter.

I will definitely have to read the book again, and soon. It's such a light and entertaining read. Great job, Chris Colfer!
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Margaly Reviewed by Margaly September 17, 2012
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (10)

A great book for everyone!

This book was SO GOOD.

I was a bit skeptical of it at first, the fact that it is a middle-grade book and all, but it was such a good book. From the beginning, I was captivated by the mystical land that is The Land of Stories. I fell in love with the world.

I did have a few issues with it, while reading. I can't handle the naivety of 12 year olds. They would say something extremely childish or just start crying, and my eyes would immediately start to roll. I love the book, I honestly do, but I just was having a hard time dealing with the characters sometimes.

The development of all of the characters, though, was AMAZING. I LOVE Goldilocks, Snow White, and all of the other characters. Chris Colfer created a world that I want to visit, something that hasn't happened to me since Harry Potter.

I will definitely have to read the book again, and soon. It's such a light and entertaining read. Great job, Chris Colfer!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)