The Wishing Spell (The Land of Stories #1)

The Wishing Spell (The Land of Stories #1)

 
0.0
 
4.0 (2)
861   0
Write Review
The Wishing Spell (The Land of Stories #1)
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Genre(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
July 17, 2012
ISBN
9780316201575
Buy This Book
      
Alex and Conner Bailey's world is about to change, in this fast-paced adventure that uniquely combines our modern day world with the enchanting realm of classic fairy tales.

"The Land of Stories" tells the tale of twins Alex and Conner. Through the mysterious powers of a cherished book of stories, they leave their world behind and find themselves in a foreign land full of wonder and magic where they come face-to-face with the fairy tale characters they grew up reading about.

But after a series of encounters with witches, wolves, goblins, and trolls alike, getting back home is going to be harder than they thought.

User reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0  (2)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
2.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

The Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell (A Room with Books review)

The Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell had all the elements of a great Middle Grade adventure, but sadly it fell a little short for me.

My favorite aspect of the story was the setting. It was fun to explore The Land of Stories and meet all the fairy-tale characters. I really liked that all the side characters had their own unique personalities, especially the most famous ones. I mean, we have Goldilocks the fugitive with a smart mouth and then the self-centered Little Red Riding. The main characters, though, were pretty one-dimensional. It felt like Alex was always embarrassed of her brother and Conner was always grumpy. I wanted a little ore from them.

The pacing didn't work for me either. Often there were no transitions and we'd go from looking at the forest up ahead to suddenly being in the forest on the next sentence. It was too abrupt and made it feel a little bit like stop-motion. It really pulled me out of the story and didn't let me get pulled in for very long.

I didn't find any of the “big reveals” surprising, either. In fact, I figured many of them out WAY ahead of time and found myself rolling my eyes whenever Conner and Alex would be confounded by this or that. I did, however, really like the Evil Queen's backstory.

The Nutshell: The Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell had a lot of really good elements, but it just didn't work for me. The journey and setting is fun, but the twists, main characters, and pacing really bogged down the story. I'm hoping for some more growth with Conner and Alex in the sequel and maybe a little more of their mom, as well.

Near Miss

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

A great book for everyone!

This book was SO GOOD.

I was a bit skeptical of it at first, the fact that it is a middle-grade book and all, but it was such a good book. From the beginning, I was captivated by the mystical land that is The Land of Stories. I fell in love with the world.

I did have a few issues with it, while reading. I can't handle the naivety of 12 year olds. They would say something extremely childish or just start crying, and my eyes would immediately start to roll. I love the book, I honestly do, but I just was having a hard time dealing with the characters sometimes.

The development of all of the characters, though, was AMAZING. I LOVE Goldilocks, Snow White, and all of the other characters. Chris Colfer created a world that I want to visit, something that hasn't happened to me since Harry Potter.

I will definitely have to read the book again, and soon. It's such a light and entertaining read. Great job, Chris Colfer!

Good Points
The world building was great. I'm really excited to read more about it in the sequel.
Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Nothando's Journey
Nothando’s Journey is a journey in self-discovery told through the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
sam miracle.png
This new fantasy-adventure series from N. D. Wilson, bestselling author...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Okay Cupid
Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart... Hazel McCallister...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)