Katie Woo Rules the School

Katie Woo Rules the School Featured

 
4.3 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
964   0
Write Review
Katie Woo Rules the School
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Genre(s)
Age Range
4+
Release Date
August 01, 2012
ISBN
978-1404879089
Buy This Book
      
For Katie Woo, school is one big adventure. Join the stylish schoolgirl as she learns how to be a great classmate and friend. From the school play to the class pet, Katie knows how to rule the school!

Editor reviews

2 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (2)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.5  (2)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Very Enjoyable

KATIE WOO RULES THE SCHOOL reminds me of books I used to read in grade school. I remember finding each chapter, with its new scenario, endlessly fascinating, and I think young readers will feel the same way about Katie Woo.

I especially enjoyed the chapter about Katie learning to deal with a bully. That rang very true for situations that often happen in elementary school, and Katie goes from crying and feeling hurt over the bully's words to learning how to ignore him and have a good day because she no longer gives him the power to bother her.

I was a bit less enamored with the chapter in which Katie steals a classmate's airplane because she wants to play with it, and then lies when asked if she knows where it is. I think this is a great scenario to deal with in a book like this, but I was unhappy that Katie fixes the situation by lying AGAIN about finding the airplane by the pencil sharpener. She admits privately to the classmate that she lied and that she took the airplane, so perhaps that's consequence enough, but I didn't care for the example of fixing one lie by telling another.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. The illustrations are lovely, the kids in Katie's classroom are diverse, and the situations she faces ring true for elementary school.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Katie Woo strikes again!

The latest offering in the Katie Woo series, KATIE WOO RULES THE SCHOOL, by Fran Manushikin, is an early-reader with lovely watercolor illustrations and simple text, perfect for those readers just risking the giant step away from picture books.

The main character, Katie Woo, wears bright blue spectacles – even to bed! She faces many of the same dilemmas her readers will face: the awesome responsibility of taking care of the class pet for the weekend; being teased; coveting a classmate’s toy. The stories resolve happily, lessons learned and crises averted. I might wish for just a bit more spice among the sweetness, but that could be asking too much of so few words.

Aimed at just-beginning independent readers, these three stories are clearly told, and evocatively illustrated. A young reader would find Katie Woo a sympathetic heroine, and having read a proper book, no doubt glow with pride at her achievement, and what more could anyone ask for?

Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

    

 

Latest Book Listings Added

Lily and Dunkin
For readers who enjoyed Wonder and Counting by 7's, award-winning...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Secret Daughter of the Tsar
A compelling alternate history of the Romanov family in which...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Science Experiments You Can Eat
With revised and updated material, a brand-new look, and hours...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
"MouseStar 1" is surrounded by floating space junk! It's yucky...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The famouse opera singer Violetta von Cacklefur is in Gloomeria...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Thea Sisters are visiting a friend in sunny California...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Fault In Our Stars
Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Wandering Wild
"I believe in possibility. Of magic, of omens, of compasses,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Hello, My Name Is Tiger
A reassuring picture book for back-to-school jitters! ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Read Me Like A Book
In her first novel for young adults, New York Times...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What This Story Needs Is a Hush and a Shush
Join Pig in another fun read-aloud adventure on the farm...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Camp Dork (Pack of Dorks #2)
Lucy and her pack are back, in this sequel to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Where She Went (If I Stay #2)
It's been three years since the devastating accident . ....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dill & Bizzy: An Odd Duck and a Strange Bird
Dill is a duck. A perfectly ordinary duck. At least...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Shadow Hour (The Girl at Midnight #2)
verything in Echo's life changed in a blinding flash when...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Replica
Gemma has been in and out of hospitals since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)