Books Kids Fiction Katie Woo Rules the School

Katie Woo Rules the School Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/d8/c0/56/12945_katie-woo-1344432236.jpg
 
4.3 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
574   0
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Genre(s)
Age Range
4+
Release Date
August 01, 2012
ISBN
978-1404879089
Buy This Book
      
For Katie Woo, school is one big adventure. Join the stylish schoolgirl as she learns how to be a great classmate and friend. From the school play to the class pet, Katie knows how to rule the school!

Editor reviews

Average editor rating from: 2 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (2)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.5  (2)

KATIE WOO RULES THE SCHOOL reminds me of books I used to read in grade school. I remember finding each chapter, with its new scenario, endlessly fascinating, and I think young readers will feel the same way about Katie Woo.

I especially enjoyed the chapter about Katie learning to deal with a bully. That rang very true for situations that often happen in elementary school, and Katie goes from crying and feeling hurt over the bully's words to learning how to ignore him and have a good day because she no longer gives him the power to bother her.

I was a bit less enamored with the chapter in which Katie steals a classmate's airplane because she wants to play with it, and then lies when asked if she knows where it is. I think this is a great scenario to deal with in a book like this, but I was unhappy that Katie fixes the situation by lying AGAIN about finding the airplane by the pencil sharpener. She admits privately to the classmate that she lied and that she took the airplane, so perhaps that's consequence enough, but I didn't care for the example of fixing one lie by telling another.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. The illustrations are lovely, the kids in Katie's classroom are diverse, and the situations she faces ring true for elementary school.
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
CJ Redwine, Editor Reviewed by CJ Redwine, Editor November 04, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (397)

Very Enjoyable

KATIE WOO RULES THE SCHOOL reminds me of books I used to read in grade school. I remember finding each chapter, with its new scenario, endlessly fascinating, and I think young readers will feel the same way about Katie Woo.

I especially enjoyed the chapter about Katie learning to deal with a bully. That rang very true for situations that often happen in elementary school, and Katie goes from crying and feeling hurt over the bully's words to learning how to ignore him and have a good day because she no longer gives him the power to bother her.

I was a bit less enamored with the chapter in which Katie steals a classmate's airplane because she wants to play with it, and then lies when asked if she knows where it is. I think this is a great scenario to deal with in a book like this, but I was unhappy that Katie fixes the situation by lying AGAIN about finding the airplane by the pencil sharpener. She admits privately to the classmate that she lied and that she took the airplane, so perhaps that's consequence enough, but I didn't care for the example of fixing one lie by telling another.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. The illustrations are lovely, the kids in Katie's classroom are diverse, and the situations she faces ring true for elementary school.

Was this review helpful to you? 
The latest offering in the Katie Woo series, KATIE WOO RULES THE SCHOOL, by Fran Manushikin, is an early-reader with lovely watercolor illustrations and simple text, perfect for those readers just risking the giant step away from picture books.

The main character, Katie Woo, wears bright blue spectacles – even to bed! She faces many of the same dilemmas her readers will face: the awesome responsibility of taking care of the class pet for the weekend; being teased; coveting a classmate’s toy. The stories resolve happily, lessons learned and crises averted. I might wish for just a bit more spice among the sweetness, but that could be asking too much of so few words.

Aimed at just-beginning independent readers, these three stories are clearly told, and evocatively illustrated. A young reader would find Katie Woo a sympathetic heroine, and having read a proper book, no doubt glow with pride at her achievement, and what more could anyone ask for?
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
4.0

Katie Woo strikes again!

The latest offering in the Katie Woo series, KATIE WOO RULES THE SCHOOL, by Fran Manushikin, is an early-reader with lovely watercolor illustrations and simple text, perfect for those readers just risking the giant step away from picture books.

The main character, Katie Woo, wears bright blue spectacles – even to bed! She faces many of the same dilemmas her readers will face: the awesome responsibility of taking care of the class pet for the weekend; being teased; coveting a classmate’s toy. The stories resolve happily, lessons learned and crises averted. I might wish for just a bit more spice among the sweetness, but that could be asking too much of so few words.

Aimed at just-beginning independent readers, these three stories are clearly told, and evocatively illustrated. A young reader would find Katie Woo a sympathetic heroine, and having read a proper book, no doubt glow with pride at her achievement, and what more could anyone ask for?

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)