Books Kids Fiction Witch Week (Chrestomanci #3)

Witch Week (Chrestomanci #3)

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/37/ea/41/1290_836273-1349282135.jpg
 
0.0
 
5.0 (2)
441   0
Genre(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
September 22, 1997
ISBN
0688155456
Buy This Book
      
There are good witches and bad witches, but the law says that all witches must be burned at the stake. So when an anonymous note warns, "Someone in this class is a witch," the students in 6B are nervous -- especially the boy who's just discovered that he can cast spells and the girl who was named after the most famous witch of all."Witch Week" features the debonair enchanter Chrestomanci, who also appears in "Charmed Life, The Magicians of Caprona," and "The Lives of Christopber Chant."Someone in the class is a witch. At least so the anonymous note says. Everyone is only too eager to prove it is someone else -- because in this society, witches are burned at the stake.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 2 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0  (2)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0  (0)
Reader reviewed by Tina.S

The children in 6B are very different from one another. Some are the good at everything, others are good at making trouble, and others are labeled as wierd. However, everyone in 6B has one thing in common- they are all in the presence of a whitch! In their world all whitches are burned alive. Try to guess who the whitch is before the end of the book!
This is a hilarious and surprising book that you will never forget!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader January 28, 2007
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

A bewitching read!

Reader reviewed by Tina.S

The children in 6B are very different from one another. Some are the good at everything, others are good at making trouble, and others are labeled as wierd. However, everyone in 6B has one thing in common- they are all in the presence of a whitch! In their world all whitches are burned alive. Try to guess who the whitch is before the end of the book!
This is a hilarious and surprising book that you will never forget!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by Riney

Diana Wynne Jone's fourth novel of the Chrestomanic series, Witch Week, is a delightful and fun tale that will surely appeal to those fans of Harry Potter.

In Witch Week, the story focuses on a school, set in a alternate pretty modern world where witches are burned at the stake. In the novel, strange events start happening making people believe that there are witches at the school! And boy that causes a lot of problems!

There is a lot of humor and fun in the novel, and Chrestomanic (the character that the series is naemd after), comes half way through the book. Definetly recommend this book!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader August 08, 2005
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Witches Everywhere!

Reader reviewed by Riney

Diana Wynne Jone's fourth novel of the Chrestomanic series, Witch Week, is a delightful and fun tale that will surely appeal to those fans of Harry Potter.

In Witch Week, the story focuses on a school, set in a alternate pretty modern world where witches are burned at the stake. In the novel, strange events start happening making people believe that there are witches at the school! And boy that causes a lot of problems!

There is a lot of humor and fun in the novel, and Chrestomanic (the character that the series is naemd after), comes half way through the book. Definetly recommend this book!

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)