The Son of Neptune (Heroes of Olympus #2)

The Son of Neptune (Heroes of Olympus #2)

 
0.0
 
4.8 (4)
1618   1
Write Review
The Son of Neptune (Heroes of Olympus #2)
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
October 04, 2011
ISBN
9781423140597
Buy This Book
      

Percy is confused. When he awoke from his long sleep, he didn't know much more than his name. His brain fuzz is lingering, even after the wolf Lupa told him he is a demigod and trained to fight with the pen/sword in his pocket. Somehow Percy manages to make it to a camp for half-bloods, despite the fact that he has to keep killing monsters along the way. But the camp doesn't ring any bells with him. The only thing he can recall from his past is another name: Annabeth.

Hazel is supposed to be dead. When she lived before, she didn’t do a very good job of it. Sure, she was an obedient daughter, even when her mother was possessed by greed. But that was the problem—when the Voice took over her mother and commanded Hazel, to use her “gift” for an evil purpose, Hazel can’t say no. now, because of her mistake, the future of the world is at risk. Hazel wishes she could ride away from it all on the stallion that appears in her dreams.

Frank is a klutz. His grandmother says he is descended from heroes and can be anything he wants to be, but he doesn’t see it. He doesn’t even know who his father is. He keeps hoping Apollo will claim him, because the only thing he is good at is archery—although not good enough to win camp war games. His bulky physique makes him feel like an ox, especially in front of Hazel, his closest friend at camp. He trusts her completely—enough to share the secret he holds close to his heart.

Beginning at the “other” camp for half-bloods and extending as far as the land beyond the gods, this breathtaking second installment in the Heroes of Olympus series introduces new demigods, revives fearsome monsters, and features other remarkable creatures, all destined to play a part in the Prophecy of Seven.

User reviews

4 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.8
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.5  (4)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (4)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Better Than The First (And I Thought It Was The Best Book Ever)!

This is the best book I have read (and the first book I have read in iBooks!) This is the follow up book from "The Lost Hero" This book takes place mostly at the Greek camp and follows Percy and his newly found friends as they go on a quest to save the world. While I was hoping the Roman and Greek demigods would meet up in this book it turns out they don't all meet until the third book. My favorite part is Percy is back! I hope you enjoy this book.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 03, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

And... Percy is BACK!!!

Percy is BACK!!! Except for the fact that he has pretty much no memory of where he came from, except for the name Annabeth...

At the opening of this book, we find Percy at the ROMAN camp, where he is running from some evil gorgons who JUST WON'T DIE!!!! Literally. Percy has seen them dissolve into sand time after time for the past three days, but nothing has happened.

This book is set eight months after the last one, The Lost Hero. Percy has finally woken up from an eight month nap and is on his way to Camp Jupiter, like the Roman version of Camp Half-Blood, where everyone is Roman. Percy believes that he is the son of Neptune, instead of the son of Poseidon, because of course the Romans have no idea that the Greek aspects of their gods still exist and continue to have kids.

Percy meets two new friends: Hazel, daughter of Pluto, and Frank, son of Mars and distant descendant of Poseidon (yes, Poseidon, not Neptune). They also meet Reyna, the leader of Camp Jupiter, daughter of Bellona, and Octavian, Roman aurgury (like the Oracle but less accurate), pain in the backside, son of Apollo (?). And 200 other campers, which I won't name, because that would be a pain, and I don't know all their names.

Nearly straight after he arrives, there is a message from Mars (Ares) and Juno (Hera) saying that Percy and two others need to go on a quest to Alaska, beyond the power of the gods. Percy, being Percy, accepts and along with Frank and Hazel, sets off to fall to his death (again), nearly drown in muskeg (quicksand type thing), and fight giants and Titans. I mean, this is Percy we are talking about people! The action never stops!

This is another amazing book delivered by Riordan, and I definitely recommend it. It leaves you wanting more and more! I know when I finished this book, and I found out that Mark of Athena wasn't coming out for AGES, I was like NO! But it's out now, but it's even more horrible because now I have to wait ANOTHER YEAR before House of Hades comes out!!!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

The Son of Neptune

In The Son of Neptune Percy is trying to regain his memory all through out this entire book. Meanwhile they are on a quest to try to save Camp Jupiter from Gaea's army. Percy, Hazel, and Frank are going to try and complete this dangerous quest. They have to complete this quest before the Feast Of Fortuna, which is arriving very soon. If they don't Polybotes, the giant, will comes to destroy Camp Jupiter. Camp Jupiter's fate rests in their hands. I liked this book because it had a lot of action in it and I like books that have a lot of action. I really liked this book a lot because it has greek mythology, and before I read this series I had no idea what greek mythology was! Also I really like the authors writing style because it always keeps you on the edge of your seat.

Good Points
I loved the writing style!
Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

Great Second Book

I loved the Percy Jackson series so I tried this one. It was good if you like books where the point of view changes. I also don't like third person point of view books, but I am truly hooked on this book.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

My Weird School Fast Facts: Explorers, Presidents, and Toilets
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Weird School Fast Facts: Space, Humans, and Farts
Think fast with A.J. and Andrea from My Weird School!...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I am Alex Hunt, daughter of the famous Archaeological Hunt...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Simon Barnacle is falling apart. Literally. His body is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Serafina and the Splintered Heart
The storms are coming... Something has happened to Serafina. She...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
The Little Book of Little Activists
A celebration of political activism by America's youngest citizens--our children....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Together at Midnight
What does it really mean to be kind . ....
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Fuecho Y Pablo
Pablo's attempt to get his best friend Ugly Cat a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Little i
A charming, suspenseful, and wholly original picture book about the...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Dragonfly Song
The girl has had many selves in her short life....
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Project Semicolon: Your Story Isn't Over
For fans of PostSecret, Humans of New York, and If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress #1)
An East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Murder Among the Stars
After being framed for attempted murder, Lulu Kelly has...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Christmas Stories
Join the original pioneer girl in this Little House chapter...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Somebody's Baby
Ever since Sloan won a reality singing competition, her...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Enhanced
Seventeen-year-old Mana has found and rescued her mother, but...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)

Latest Member Reviews

Serafina and the Splintered Heart
 
5.0
"The night is quiet. Serafina is panicking, thrashing around. She is trapped, alone, with no idea where she is. It..."
The Little Book of Little Activists
 
5.0
"A book that represents hope for the future. The Book: Pages after pages of children raising their voices, adding..."
Fuecho Y Pablo
 
4.0
"A funny and endearing tale of a summer day gone wrong. The story: Ugly cat just wants a paleta...."
Little i
 
3.5
"A fun alphabet adventure. The story: Little i loses his dot. It fell of and rolled away so..."
Dragonfly Song
 
5.0
"Aissa is the first-born daughter of the Lady of an island, and as such she should be raised in a..."
Christmas Stories
 
5.0
"Laura Ingalls Wilder takes you into the pioneer world and what it was like to spend the holiday season in..."
DC Super Heroes World's Greatest Jokes: Featuring Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and more!
 
5.0
"DC Super Heroes and jokes are the perfect combination for a fun, laugh-out-loud read. This book contains over 400 jokes..."
Squishy Taylor and the Bonus Sisters
 
4.0
"When "Squishy" Taylor moves in with her dad and his new wife, she has to share a room with her..."
Dear Girl
 
5.0
"A fantastic way to empower little girls. The story: The book follows a little girl as she's told most..."
Curse of the Bane (The Last Apprentice #2)
 
3.0
" In this second installment of the series, Thomas ward is now 13 and has been the Spook’s apprentice for..."
Hero on a Bicycle
 
5.0
"HERO ON A BICYCLE by Shirley Hughes is a middle grades novel set in 1944 in Florence, Italy and its..."
The Digger and the Flower
 
4.5
"'The Digger and the Flower' by Joseph Kuefler shows the power of goodness when everything else seems to be overtaking..."
Zog and the Flying Doctors
 
5.0
"'Zog and the Flying Doctors' is another great story by Julia Donaldson, and illustrated by Axel Scheffler. The two have..."
Superbat
 
5.0
"Is it a bird? Is it a plane? No, it's a bat in a costume! Pat the bat is a..."
Danny and the Dinosaur A Very Merry Christmas
 
5.0
"Whoever thought of putting stickers inside of children's books is a genius. The story: The dinosaur has never..."
In a Dark, Dark Room and Other
 
4.5
"This book contains seven folktales that have been retold and rewritten to be easily read. This book is level two..."
Wide-Awake Bear
 
5.0
"In WIDE-AWAKE BEAR, baby cub Elliott is supposed to be hibernating with his mom and sleeping until spring. The only..."
Rapunzel and the Lost Lagoon
 
5.0
"My daughter and I love to watch the Tangled Series on the Disney Channel together, so I was so excited..."
Pig the Elf
 
4.0
"PIG THE ELF is about a dog named Pig who loves Christmas, but it isn't for the spirit or joy...."
Old MacDonald Had A Farn
 
4.0
"It was fun reading OLD MACDONALD HAD A FARM to my daughter. As I read, my daughter danced because it..."