Swipe Featured

 
4.0
 
3.0 (1)
1118   0
Write Review
Swipe
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
April 06, 2012
ISBN
978-1400318360
Buy This Book
      
"Apocalyptic dystopian fiction at its best. Angler's sharp wit and dexterity with political themes are matched only by the thrilling suspense on every page." -Lis Wiehl, New York Times bestselling author and FOX News correspondent

Everyone gets the Mark. It gives all the benefits of citizenship. Yet if getting the Mark is such a good thing, then why does it feel so wrong?

Set in a future North America that is struggling to recover after famine and global war, Swipe follows the lives of three kids caught in the middle of a conflict they didn't even know existed. United under a charismatic leader, every citizen of the American Union is required to get the Mark on their 13th birthday in order to gain the benefits of citizenship.

The Mark is a tattoo that must be swiped by special scanners for everything from employment to transportation to shopping. It's almost Logan Langly's 13th birthday and he knows he should be excited about getting the Mark, but he hasn't been able to shake the feeling he's being watched. Not since his sister went to get her Mark five years ago . . . and never came back.

When Logan and his friends discover the truth behind the Mark, will they ever be able to go back to being normal teenagers? Find out in the first book of this exciting series that is Left Behind meets Matched for middle-grade readers.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

A Fun New Dystopian Series

I can measure how good a book is if I finish it after midnight, willing to sacrifice a few hours sleep because I can't put the novel down. I finished Evan Angler's SWIPE at about 12:15 because I needed to know how it would end. I should have known that it was the first in a series; I'm ready for the sequel! I know a ton of sixth grade boys who would eat this book up. It has so many elements that appeal to them: a dystopian society, untrustworthy adults, futuristic technology, and relatable heroes.

In the alternative world of the American Union, everyone gets a Mark on their thirteenth birthday so they can get jobs, pay for things, and become full citizens. Since his sister passed away during her procedure, Logan Langley has been nervous. As his thirteenth birthday approaches, he becomes more paranoid that he is being followed. When the new girl, Erin, tells him that her father is investigating Markless teenage criminals and Logan receives a flaming note in his bedroom, he is the most unlikely secret agent ever.

It isn't perfect: at one point Logan recaps everything that happened thus far, and the whole novel could benefit from editing. Also, the cover and even the general feeling of the book are reminiscent of Neal Schusterman's UNWIND. Still, these minor quibbles don't detract from how much I enjoyed SWIPE.

Good Points
Addictive and fast paced
The alternative world of the American Union is interesting and well-developed.
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Swipe: Dystopian by Evan Angler

Swipe is the story of Logan. He lives in a moment in Earth were people need to receive a mark in order to be part of society's machine. Soon he will be marked and new opportunities will be available for him. By receiving the mark, he can receive money by working, have food, transportation and housing, therefore having security. But Logan feels scared.
In the weeks while he waits to be marked, he feels insecure, he thinks someone is watching him. He becomes obsess with this. The only thing that brings some sanity to him is a new girl at school and his friend Dane. Together they will discover the dark reality of their society.

About this book
The story has an slow pace at the beginning. The author delivers a dystopian world that reminds me of The Gift trilogy with the spirit of its characters. In both books we see kids taking big decisions and confronting a great deal of difficulties.
Swipe is a dystopian story written using an almost thirteen young boy as the main character. At the beginning of the story he is a scared and looking through every shadow. As the story improved its pace, he gets empowered and decides to find out if he is been followed and by whom. Soon, he will discover more than he bargain for and the story will see an completely unexpected turn of events.The end got my attention and I expect to see of Logan and other kids from his world.
I recommend this book for Middle Grade level.

Copy provided via Netgalley for blog tour.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

    

  

   

   

 

   

   

   

  

 

 

 

 

 

Latest Book Listings Added

sam miracle.png
This new fantasy-adventure series from N. D. Wilson, bestselling author...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Breaking Sky
America is locked in a cold war -- and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This Is Where the World Ends
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stars Above
The enchantment continues. . . . The universe of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
From an impressive sisterhood of YA writers comes an edge-of-your-seat...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burn Baby Burn
While violence runs rampant throughout New York, a teenage girl...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dreamfever: A Novel (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Finding out that she is the True Dream Walker hasn't...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Black Bamboo: A reluctant hero's journey into a dangerous world
BLACK BAMBOO Throughout the land something is amiss - There...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
We Are The Ants
From the “author to watch” (Kirkus Reviews) of The Five...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Holding Court
Sixteen-year-old Jules Verity knows exactly what's in store at her...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Real Life: A Novel
Hannah Cho and Nick Cooper have been best friends since...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You Were Here
Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Glass Sword
The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Burning Midnight
For fans of The Maze Runner and The Fifth Wave,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Not Okay Cupid
Her wicked revenge, or his wicked heart... Hazel McCallister...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Starflight
Solara Brooks needs a fresh start, someplace where nobody cares...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)