Swipe Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/4f/0a/46/_12505535-1339792571.jpg
 
4.0
 
3.0 (1)
735   0
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
April 06, 2012
ISBN
978-1400318360
Buy This Book
      
"Apocalyptic dystopian fiction at its best. Angler's sharp wit and dexterity with political themes are matched only by the thrilling suspense on every page." -Lis Wiehl, New York Times bestselling author and FOX News correspondent

Everyone gets the Mark. It gives all the benefits of citizenship. Yet if getting the Mark is such a good thing, then why does it feel so wrong?

Set in a future North America that is struggling to recover after famine and global war, Swipe follows the lives of three kids caught in the middle of a conflict they didn't even know existed. United under a charismatic leader, every citizen of the American Union is required to get the Mark on their 13th birthday in order to gain the benefits of citizenship.

The Mark is a tattoo that must be swiped by special scanners for everything from employment to transportation to shopping. It's almost Logan Langly's 13th birthday and he knows he should be excited about getting the Mark, but he hasn't been able to shake the feeling he's being watched. Not since his sister went to get her Mark five years ago . . . and never came back.

When Logan and his friends discover the truth behind the Mark, will they ever be able to go back to being normal teenagers? Find out in the first book of this exciting series that is Left Behind meets Matched for middle-grade readers.

Editor reviews

I can measure how good a book is if I finish it after midnight, willing to sacrifice a few hours sleep because I can't put the novel down. I finished Evan Angler's SWIPE at about 12:15 because I needed to know how it would end. I should have known that it was the first in a series; I'm ready for the sequel! I know a ton of sixth grade boys who would eat this book up. It has so many elements that appeal to them: a dystopian society, untrustworthy adults, futuristic technology, and relatable heroes.

In the alternative world of the American Union, everyone gets a Mark on their thirteenth birthday so they can get jobs, pay for things, and become full citizens. Since his sister passed away during her procedure, Logan Langley has been nervous. As his thirteenth birthday approaches, he becomes more paranoid that he is being followed. When the new girl, Erin, tells him that her father is investigating Markless teenage criminals and Logan receives a flaming note in his bedroom, he is the most unlikely secret agent ever.

It isn't perfect: at one point Logan recaps everything that happened thus far, and the whole novel could benefit from editing. Also, the cover and even the general feeling of the book are reminiscent of Neal Schusterman's UNWIND. Still, these minor quibbles don't detract from how much I enjoyed SWIPE.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

A Fun New Dystopian Series

I can measure how good a book is if I finish it after midnight, willing to sacrifice a few hours sleep because I can't put the novel down. I finished Evan Angler's SWIPE at about 12:15 because I needed to know how it would end. I should have known that it was the first in a series; I'm ready for the sequel! I know a ton of sixth grade boys who would eat this book up. It has so many elements that appeal to them: a dystopian society, untrustworthy adults, futuristic technology, and relatable heroes.

In the alternative world of the American Union, everyone gets a Mark on their thirteenth birthday so they can get jobs, pay for things, and become full citizens. Since his sister passed away during her procedure, Logan Langley has been nervous. As his thirteenth birthday approaches, he becomes more paranoid that he is being followed. When the new girl, Erin, tells him that her father is investigating Markless teenage criminals and Logan receives a flaming note in his bedroom, he is the most unlikely secret agent ever.

It isn't perfect: at one point Logan recaps everything that happened thus far, and the whole novel could benefit from editing. Also, the cover and even the general feeling of the book are reminiscent of Neal Schusterman's UNWIND. Still, these minor quibbles don't detract from how much I enjoyed SWIPE.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Swipe is the story of Logan. He lives in a moment in Earth were people need to receive a mark in order to be part of society's machine. Soon he will be marked and new opportunities will be available for him. By receiving the mark, he can receive money by working, have food, transportation and housing, therefore having security. But Logan feels scared.
In the weeks while he waits to be marked, he feels insecure, he thinks someone is watching him. He becomes obsess with this. The only thing that brings some sanity to him is a new girl at school and his friend Dane. Together they will discover the dark reality of their society.

About this book
The story has an slow pace at the beginning. The author delivers a dystopian world that reminds me of The Gift trilogy with the spirit of its characters. In both books we see kids taking big decisions and confronting a great deal of difficulties.
Swipe is a dystopian story written using an almost thirteen young boy as the main character. At the beginning of the story he is a scared and looking through every shadow. As the story improved its pace, he gets empowered and decides to find out if he is been followed and by whom. Soon, he will discover more than he bargain for and the story will see an completely unexpected turn of events.The end got my attention and I expect to see of Logan and other kids from his world.
I recommend this book for Middle Grade level.

Copy provided via Netgalley for blog tour.
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Jess Reviewed by Jess February 24, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (9)

Swipe: Dystopian by Evan Angler

Swipe is the story of Logan. He lives in a moment in Earth were people need to receive a mark in order to be part of society's machine. Soon he will be marked and new opportunities will be available for him. By receiving the mark, he can receive money by working, have food, transportation and housing, therefore having security. But Logan feels scared.
In the weeks while he waits to be marked, he feels insecure, he thinks someone is watching him. He becomes obsess with this. The only thing that brings some sanity to him is a new girl at school and his friend Dane. Together they will discover the dark reality of their society.

About this book
The story has an slow pace at the beginning. The author delivers a dystopian world that reminds me of The Gift trilogy with the spirit of its characters. In both books we see kids taking big decisions and confronting a great deal of difficulties.
Swipe is a dystopian story written using an almost thirteen young boy as the main character. At the beginning of the story he is a scared and looking through every shadow. As the story improved its pace, he gets empowered and decides to find out if he is been followed and by whom. Soon, he will discover more than he bargain for and the story will see an completely unexpected turn of events.The end got my attention and I expect to see of Logan and other kids from his world.
I recommend this book for Middle Grade level.

Copy provided via Netgalley for blog tour.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)