Swipe Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/4f/0a/46/_12505535-1339792571.jpg
 
4.0
 
3.0 (1)
617   0
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
April 06, 2012
ISBN
978-1400318360
Buy This Book
      
"Apocalyptic dystopian fiction at its best. Angler's sharp wit and dexterity with political themes are matched only by the thrilling suspense on every page." -Lis Wiehl, New York Times bestselling author and FOX News correspondent

Everyone gets the Mark. It gives all the benefits of citizenship. Yet if getting the Mark is such a good thing, then why does it feel so wrong?

Set in a future North America that is struggling to recover after famine and global war, Swipe follows the lives of three kids caught in the middle of a conflict they didn't even know existed. United under a charismatic leader, every citizen of the American Union is required to get the Mark on their 13th birthday in order to gain the benefits of citizenship.

The Mark is a tattoo that must be swiped by special scanners for everything from employment to transportation to shopping. It's almost Logan Langly's 13th birthday and he knows he should be excited about getting the Mark, but he hasn't been able to shake the feeling he's being watched. Not since his sister went to get her Mark five years ago . . . and never came back.

When Logan and his friends discover the truth behind the Mark, will they ever be able to go back to being normal teenagers? Find out in the first book of this exciting series that is Left Behind meets Matched for middle-grade readers.

Editor reviews

I can measure how good a book is if I finish it after midnight, willing to sacrifice a few hours sleep because I can't put the novel down. I finished Evan Angler's SWIPE at about 12:15 because I needed to know how it would end. I should have known that it was the first in a series; I'm ready for the sequel! I know a ton of sixth grade boys who would eat this book up. It has so many elements that appeal to them: a dystopian society, untrustworthy adults, futuristic technology, and relatable heroes.

In the alternative world of the American Union, everyone gets a Mark on their thirteenth birthday so they can get jobs, pay for things, and become full citizens. Since his sister passed away during her procedure, Logan Langley has been nervous. As his thirteenth birthday approaches, he becomes more paranoid that he is being followed. When the new girl, Erin, tells him that her father is investigating Markless teenage criminals and Logan receives a flaming note in his bedroom, he is the most unlikely secret agent ever.

It isn't perfect: at one point Logan recaps everything that happened thus far, and the whole novel could benefit from editing. Also, the cover and even the general feeling of the book are reminiscent of Neal Schusterman's UNWIND. Still, these minor quibbles don't detract from how much I enjoyed SWIPE.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

A Fun New Dystopian Series

I can measure how good a book is if I finish it after midnight, willing to sacrifice a few hours sleep because I can't put the novel down. I finished Evan Angler's SWIPE at about 12:15 because I needed to know how it would end. I should have known that it was the first in a series; I'm ready for the sequel! I know a ton of sixth grade boys who would eat this book up. It has so many elements that appeal to them: a dystopian society, untrustworthy adults, futuristic technology, and relatable heroes.

In the alternative world of the American Union, everyone gets a Mark on their thirteenth birthday so they can get jobs, pay for things, and become full citizens. Since his sister passed away during her procedure, Logan Langley has been nervous. As his thirteenth birthday approaches, he becomes more paranoid that he is being followed. When the new girl, Erin, tells him that her father is investigating Markless teenage criminals and Logan receives a flaming note in his bedroom, he is the most unlikely secret agent ever.

It isn't perfect: at one point Logan recaps everything that happened thus far, and the whole novel could benefit from editing. Also, the cover and even the general feeling of the book are reminiscent of Neal Schusterman's UNWIND. Still, these minor quibbles don't detract from how much I enjoyed SWIPE.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
Swipe is the story of Logan. He lives in a moment in Earth were people need to receive a mark in order to be part of society's machine. Soon he will be marked and new opportunities will be available for him. By receiving the mark, he can receive money by working, have food, transportation and housing, therefore having security. But Logan feels scared.
In the weeks while he waits to be marked, he feels insecure, he thinks someone is watching him. He becomes obsess with this. The only thing that brings some sanity to him is a new girl at school and his friend Dane. Together they will discover the dark reality of their society.

About this book
The story has an slow pace at the beginning. The author delivers a dystopian world that reminds me of The Gift trilogy with the spirit of its characters. In both books we see kids taking big decisions and confronting a great deal of difficulties.
Swipe is a dystopian story written using an almost thirteen young boy as the main character. At the beginning of the story he is a scared and looking through every shadow. As the story improved its pace, he gets empowered and decides to find out if he is been followed and by whom. Soon, he will discover more than he bargain for and the story will see an completely unexpected turn of events.The end got my attention and I expect to see of Logan and other kids from his world.
I recommend this book for Middle Grade level.

Copy provided via Netgalley for blog tour.
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
3.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Jess Reviewed by Jess February 24, 2013
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (9)

Swipe: Dystopian by Evan Angler

Swipe is the story of Logan. He lives in a moment in Earth were people need to receive a mark in order to be part of society's machine. Soon he will be marked and new opportunities will be available for him. By receiving the mark, he can receive money by working, have food, transportation and housing, therefore having security. But Logan feels scared.
In the weeks while he waits to be marked, he feels insecure, he thinks someone is watching him. He becomes obsess with this. The only thing that brings some sanity to him is a new girl at school and his friend Dane. Together they will discover the dark reality of their society.

About this book
The story has an slow pace at the beginning. The author delivers a dystopian world that reminds me of The Gift trilogy with the spirit of its characters. In both books we see kids taking big decisions and confronting a great deal of difficulties.
Swipe is a dystopian story written using an almost thirteen young boy as the main character. At the beginning of the story he is a scared and looking through every shadow. As the story improved its pace, he gets empowered and decides to find out if he is been followed and by whom. Soon, he will discover more than he bargain for and the story will see an completely unexpected turn of events.The end got my attention and I expect to see of Logan and other kids from his world.
I recommend this book for Middle Grade level.

Copy provided via Netgalley for blog tour.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
Perfect for fans of Margaret Peterson Haddix, When You Reach Me, and Savvy, this charming time-travel story from husband-and-wife team...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Bees.jpg
The Handmaid’s Tale meets The Hunger Games in this brilliantly imagined debut set in an ancient culture where only the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Damian Cass died when he was a teenager at the hands of his own father. A hateful soul afterwards, and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Gladys Gatsby has been cooking gourmet dishes since the age of seven, only her fast-food-loving parents have no idea! Now...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Becky Thatcher has her side of the story to tell—and it’s a whopper—in this creative spin on Mark Twain’s beloved...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
An all-new, mesmerizing adventure from the masterful Gordon Korman! Jackson Opus has always been persuasive, but he doesn't know that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Jax Opus knows he's not like other kids. And it isn't his skill on the basketball court or his test...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Jesse is a wide receiver for the freshman team. Can he play against type and help his team as a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Kate’s older sister is way too perfect. Her younger sister is way too cute. And her mom wants her to...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Sarah Robinson is deeply troubled in the wake of her dad’s second marriage. She now has to deal with a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this romantic and evocative fantasy, Najwa is a jinni, training to be a spy in the war against the...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
There’s something strange going on at Washington Irving Elementary School. Kids are turning into monsters—literally! First it was Sebastian, then...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Chase Clark just upped his game. As an eighth grader, he scores the chance to play on the varsity football...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lauren has a secret. Colby has a problem. But when they find each other, everything falls into place. In alternating...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Alek Khederian should have guessed something was wrong when his parents took him to a restaurant. Everyone knows that Armenians...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Larissa Renaud starts receiving eerie phone calls on a disconnected old phone in her family's antique shop, she knows...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can you fall in love with a voice? This witty romance, told entirely through phone calls, chronicles the tale of...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Julia Buchanan enrolls at St. Anne’s at the beginning of junior year, Charlotte Ryder already knows all about the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Valentina Cruz no longer exists. One moment, she was wrapped in Emilio’s arms, melting into his kiss. The next, she...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Clyde has worked for Mr. Wilkshire for a very long time. Life is comfortable in his keeper's chateau—until Mr. Wilkshire...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)