Books Kids Fiction The Call of the Wild

The Call of the Wild

 
0.0
 
4.7 (3)
798   0
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
10+
ISBN
0439227143
Buy This Book
      

User reviews

Average user rating from: 3 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.7  (3)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
This year, i read the book Call of the Wild by Jack London. The Call of the Wild takes place in Yukon, Alaska, Klondike, Canada, and Santa Clara Valley, California. The main character is a dog called Buck, a crossover between a St. Bernard and a Scotch Shepherd. One night Judge Miller (Bucks Owner) is at a meeting and the gardener, Manuel steals Buck to pay off his debt for Chinese Gambling. Buck is sold to Francois and Perrault. The men beat Buck with a club and mistreat him. They train Buck to become a sled dog, something Buck was never trained to do. Since Buck was unaware he had been sold, he obeyed their orders in the beginning yet became disobedient when he was not returned to Judge Miller. His life from a house pet to a sled dog was very challenging. The French Canadian men meet musher John Thorton. John Thorton sees that Buck is being mistreated and takes Buck from Perrault and Francois. John Thorton is a much better man then the French-Canadians. John Thorton gets killed by Native Americans. Buck is very hurt and seeks revenge for John Thorton’s death, he kills the Native Americans that killed John. After John Thorton is killed Buck lives in the wild and begins to live the life of a wolf. He relies on nature for food, shelter and comfort rather than people. He returns sometimes to the place of John Thornton’s death to grieve. This book shows that a dog really is a "man's best friend) I would recommend this to any age if you are at a high reading level, or if you just want to try it out!
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Myles Reviewed by Myles August 22, 2013
Top 1000 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (1)

An amazing book!

This year, i read the book Call of the Wild by Jack London. The Call of the Wild takes place in Yukon, Alaska, Klondike, Canada, and Santa Clara Valley, California. The main character is a dog called Buck, a crossover between a St. Bernard and a Scotch Shepherd. One night Judge Miller (Bucks Owner) is at a meeting and the gardener, Manuel steals Buck to pay off his debt for Chinese Gambling. Buck is sold to Francois and Perrault. The men beat Buck with a club and mistreat him. They train Buck to become a sled dog, something Buck was never trained to do. Since Buck was unaware he had been sold, he obeyed their orders in the beginning yet became disobedient when he was not returned to Judge Miller. His life from a house pet to a sled dog was very challenging. The French Canadian men meet musher John Thorton. John Thorton sees that Buck is being mistreated and takes Buck from Perrault and Francois. John Thorton is a much better man then the French-Canadians. John Thorton gets killed by Native Americans. Buck is very hurt and seeks revenge for John Thorton’s death, he kills the Native Americans that killed John. After John Thorton is killed Buck lives in the wild and begins to live the life of a wolf. He relies on nature for food, shelter and comfort rather than people. He returns sometimes to the place of John Thornton’s death to grieve. This book shows that a dog really is a "man's best friend) I would recommend this to any age if you are at a high reading level, or if you just want to try it out!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by Dominique

Buck, a huge half St. Bernard and half sheepdog, lives a comfortable life with a wealthy man, until the man’s gardener kidnaps him. Showing Buck the harder side of life and cruelty, Buck is sold and forced to join other dogs in pulling a sled in harsh, cold weather. Many people believe there is gold in Alaska and there is a rush to find it. Buck has many hard lessons to learn if he wants to survive. With rivals and ambitions, Buck soon finds himself facing the head dog in a battle for leadership. Will Buck win or lose? To lose could mean injury or death.

Changes in ownership and conditions makes Buck adapt quickly or possible face death. Some men are desperate and greedy for gold, overestimating themselves and the dogs—can Buck and his fellow dogs survive? The Call of the Wild was a novel about a dog that must adapt and learn the law of survival and possible rewards or consequences. People of will enjoy this book for ages to come!
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader March 23, 2006
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Learning the harsh law of survial

Reader reviewed by Dominique

Buck, a huge half St. Bernard and half sheepdog, lives a comfortable life with a wealthy man, until the man’s gardener kidnaps him. Showing Buck the harder side of life and cruelty, Buck is sold and forced to join other dogs in pulling a sled in harsh, cold weather. Many people believe there is gold in Alaska and there is a rush to find it. Buck has many hard lessons to learn if he wants to survive. With rivals and ambitions, Buck soon finds himself facing the head dog in a battle for leadership. Will Buck win or lose? To lose could mean injury or death.

Changes in ownership and conditions makes Buck adapt quickly or possible face death. Some men are desperate and greedy for gold, overestimating themselves and the dogs—can Buck and his fellow dogs survive? The Call of the Wild was a novel about a dog that must adapt and learn the law of survival and possible rewards or consequences. People of will enjoy this book for ages to come!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reader reviewed by Joe

In "The Call of the Wild", the main character, Buck who is actually a dog, starts off living with a very wealthy family. There, he is treated as royalty: getting walks in the morning, run of the huge backyard, and the love of a family. But before Buck knows it he is inside a a stuffy crate and is being shipped to "the man in the red sweater."

From there he is placed on a ship and is harshly. After the boat he is placed with his last of the evil humans, Francois. When he is released shortly for a bathroom break, Buck takes off with no direction but plenty of freedom. For the rest of his life he is destined to live on his own in the wild.

This book is great. I loved Buck for his will to never give up even when being whipped and beaten. He had to live on The Call of the Wild. It was great because it not only had suspense but there was also a lot of drama.

"The Call of the Wild is a wonderful book for young adults. The book is great for boys because they would enjoy the outdoors and suspense, but girls might enjoy it too due to the awesome drama.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
0.0
a reader Reviewed by a reader February 24, 2002
#1 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (20052)

Great drama for boys and girls

Reader reviewed by Joe

In "The Call of the Wild", the main character, Buck who is actually a dog, starts off living with a very wealthy family. There, he is treated as royalty: getting walks in the morning, run of the huge backyard, and the love of a family. But before Buck knows it he is inside a a stuffy crate and is being shipped to "the man in the red sweater."

From there he is placed on a ship and is harshly. After the boat he is placed with his last of the evil humans, Francois. When he is released shortly for a bathroom break, Buck takes off with no direction but plenty of freedom. For the rest of his life he is destined to live on his own in the wild.

This book is great. I loved Buck for his will to never give up even when being whipped and beaten. He had to live on The Call of the Wild. It was great because it not only had suspense but there was also a lot of drama.

"The Call of the Wild is a wonderful book for young adults. The book is great for boys because they would enjoy the outdoors and suspense, but girls might enjoy it too due to the awesome drama.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)