Books Kids Fiction See You at Harry's

See You at Harry's Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/c5/4a/4c/_000_1336484838.jpg
 
4.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1079   0
Author(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
May 08, 2012
ISBN
978-0763654078
Buy This Book
      
Starting middle school brings all the usual challenges - until the unthinkable happens, and Fern and her family must find a way to heal. Twelve-year-old Fern feels invisible. Her dad is always busy planning how to increase traffic to the family business. Her Mom is constantly going off to meditate. Her sister Sarah, who's taking a "gap year" after high school, is too busy finding ways not to work; and her brother Holden is too focused on his new "friend" to pay attention to her. And then there's Charlie: three years old, a "surprise" baby, and the center of everyone's world. If it wasn't for Ran, Fern's best and oldest friend, there would be nowhere to turn. Ran is always calm, always positive. His mantra "All will be well" is soothing in a way that nothing else seems to be. And when Ran says it, Fern can almost believe. But when their lives are unexpectedly turned upside down, Fern feels more alone than ever, and responsible for the event that wrenches the family apart. All will not be well. Or at least, all will never be the same. Show More Show Less

Editor reviews

Average editor rating from: 2 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.5  (2)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)

Fern's parents spend a lot of time at the family restaraunt their grandfather started, Harry's, and love to use their family in the commercials. Sara is taking a gap year and not thrilled with the whole idea, although she does appreciate one of the busboys. Three-year-old Charlie is a handful, but the light of everyone's lives. Holden is struggling with bullies at school and his first romance... with an older boy, Gray. Fern is just trying to understand her friend Ran, to take care of Charlie, and to help Holden with the painful process of coming out to their family. When a tragedy occurs, Fern finds it hard to do even the simplest things and isn't sure that life will ever be right again.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Dealing with grief

Fern's parents spend a lot of time at the family restaraunt their grandfather started, Harry's, and love to use their family in the commercials. Sara is taking a gap year and not thrilled with the whole idea, although she does appreciate one of the busboys. Three-year-old Charlie is a handful, but the light of everyone's lives. Holden is struggling with bullies at school and his first romance... with an older boy, Gray. Fern is just trying to understand her friend Ran, to take care of Charlie, and to help Holden with the painful process of coming out to their family. When a tragedy occurs, Fern finds it hard to do even the simplest things and isn't sure that life will ever be right again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reading Jo Knowles' books are like curling up on the sofa with a trusted friend. You know she 'gets' it and handles certain sensitive topics with quiet honesty. Her books always bring a smile to my face. SEE YOU AT HARRY'S is no exception.

Twelve-year-old Fern feels like no one sees her. Her family owes a restaurant and it's always crazy there. Then tragedy strikes and threatens to tear her family apart. In the end though there is hope that will heal.

I totally loved this book. Fern's struggles are so real. I could relate with the pesky younger brother and feeling like no one notices you. The tragedy is handled in a very believable way too. You feel for these characters and go through their grief and also smile at their journey through acceptance.

One scene did stand out to me. It had to be the scene when Fern gets on the bus with her brother Holden and witnesses the bullying he suffers from 'the twins' and how the bus driver does nothing to help. I felt this was an important scene and one that kids can relate to. Knowles handles it, like she does with her other books, in a honest way.

Beautifully written this tale will have you laughing and crying but mostly smiling with it's message of hope. This is a must read book and would be a great addition to any classroom and school library. The topics of bullying and death are handled in a sensitive and believable way that would be great for book club discussions.

Once more Jo Knowles has a winner book.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Kim Baccellia, Editor Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor May 10, 2012
Last updated: May 10, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (373)

Beautiful, heart felt tale

Reading Jo Knowles' books are like curling up on the sofa with a trusted friend. You know she 'gets' it and handles certain sensitive topics with quiet honesty. Her books always bring a smile to my face. SEE YOU AT HARRY'S is no exception.

Twelve-year-old Fern feels like no one sees her. Her family owes a restaurant and it's always crazy there. Then tragedy strikes and threatens to tear her family apart. In the end though there is hope that will heal.

I totally loved this book. Fern's struggles are so real. I could relate with the pesky younger brother and feeling like no one notices you. The tragedy is handled in a very believable way too. You feel for these characters and go through their grief and also smile at their journey through acceptance.

One scene did stand out to me. It had to be the scene when Fern gets on the bus with her brother Holden and witnesses the bullying he suffers from 'the twins' and how the bus driver does nothing to help. I felt this was an important scene and one that kids can relate to. Knowles handles it, like she does with her other books, in a honest way.

Beautifully written this tale will have you laughing and crying but mostly smiling with it's message of hope. This is a must read book and would be a great addition to any classroom and school library. The topics of bullying and death are handled in a sensitive and believable way that would be great for book club discussions.

Once more Jo Knowles has a winner book.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
Perfect for fans of Margaret Peterson Haddix, When You Reach Me, and Savvy, this charming time-travel story from husband-and-wife team...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Bees.jpg
The Handmaid’s Tale meets The Hunger Games in this brilliantly imagined debut set in an ancient culture where only the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Damian Cass died when he was a teenager at the hands of his own father. A hateful soul afterwards, and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Gladys Gatsby has been cooking gourmet dishes since the age of seven, only her fast-food-loving parents have no idea! Now...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Becky Thatcher has her side of the story to tell—and it’s a whopper—in this creative spin on Mark Twain’s beloved...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
An all-new, mesmerizing adventure from the masterful Gordon Korman! Jackson Opus has always been persuasive, but he doesn't know that...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Jax Opus knows he's not like other kids. And it isn't his skill on the basketball court or his test...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Jesse is a wide receiver for the freshman team. Can he play against type and help his team as a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Kate’s older sister is way too perfect. Her younger sister is way too cute. And her mom wants her to...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Sarah Robinson is deeply troubled in the wake of her dad’s second marriage. She now has to deal with a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this romantic and evocative fantasy, Najwa is a jinni, training to be a spy in the war against the...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
There’s something strange going on at Washington Irving Elementary School. Kids are turning into monsters—literally! First it was Sebastian, then...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Chase Clark just upped his game. As an eighth grader, he scores the chance to play on the varsity football...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lauren has a secret. Colby has a problem. But when they find each other, everything falls into place. In alternating...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Alek Khederian should have guessed something was wrong when his parents took him to a restaurant. Everyone knows that Armenians...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Larissa Renaud starts receiving eerie phone calls on a disconnected old phone in her family's antique shop, she knows...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can you fall in love with a voice? This witty romance, told entirely through phone calls, chronicles the tale of...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Julia Buchanan enrolls at St. Anne’s at the beginning of junior year, Charlotte Ryder already knows all about the...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Valentina Cruz no longer exists. One moment, she was wrapped in Emilio’s arms, melting into his kiss. The next, she...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Clyde has worked for Mr. Wilkshire for a very long time. Life is comfortable in his keeper's chateau—until Mr. Wilkshire...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)