Books Kids Fiction See You at Harry's

See You at Harry's Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/c5/4a/4c/_000_1336484838.jpg
 
4.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1266   0
Author(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
May 08, 2012
ISBN
978-0763654078
Buy This Book
      
Starting middle school brings all the usual challenges - until the unthinkable happens, and Fern and her family must find a way to heal. Twelve-year-old Fern feels invisible. Her dad is always busy planning how to increase traffic to the family business. Her Mom is constantly going off to meditate. Her sister Sarah, who's taking a "gap year" after high school, is too busy finding ways not to work; and her brother Holden is too focused on his new "friend" to pay attention to her. And then there's Charlie: three years old, a "surprise" baby, and the center of everyone's world. If it wasn't for Ran, Fern's best and oldest friend, there would be nowhere to turn. Ran is always calm, always positive. His mantra "All will be well" is soothing in a way that nothing else seems to be. And when Ran says it, Fern can almost believe. But when their lives are unexpectedly turned upside down, Fern feels more alone than ever, and responsible for the event that wrenches the family apart. All will not be well. Or at least, all will never be the same. Show More Show Less

Editor reviews

Average editor rating from: 2 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.5  (2)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)

Fern's parents spend a lot of time at the family restaraunt their grandfather started, Harry's, and love to use their family in the commercials. Sara is taking a gap year and not thrilled with the whole idea, although she does appreciate one of the busboys. Three-year-old Charlie is a handful, but the light of everyone's lives. Holden is struggling with bullies at school and his first romance... with an older boy, Gray. Fern is just trying to understand her friend Ran, to take care of Charlie, and to help Holden with the painful process of coming out to their family. When a tragedy occurs, Fern finds it hard to do even the simplest things and isn't sure that life will ever be right again.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Dealing with grief

Fern's parents spend a lot of time at the family restaraunt their grandfather started, Harry's, and love to use their family in the commercials. Sara is taking a gap year and not thrilled with the whole idea, although she does appreciate one of the busboys. Three-year-old Charlie is a handful, but the light of everyone's lives. Holden is struggling with bullies at school and his first romance... with an older boy, Gray. Fern is just trying to understand her friend Ran, to take care of Charlie, and to help Holden with the painful process of coming out to their family. When a tragedy occurs, Fern finds it hard to do even the simplest things and isn't sure that life will ever be right again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reading Jo Knowles' books are like curling up on the sofa with a trusted friend. You know she 'gets' it and handles certain sensitive topics with quiet honesty. Her books always bring a smile to my face. SEE YOU AT HARRY'S is no exception.

Twelve-year-old Fern feels like no one sees her. Her family owes a restaurant and it's always crazy there. Then tragedy strikes and threatens to tear her family apart. In the end though there is hope that will heal.

I totally loved this book. Fern's struggles are so real. I could relate with the pesky younger brother and feeling like no one notices you. The tragedy is handled in a very believable way too. You feel for these characters and go through their grief and also smile at their journey through acceptance.

One scene did stand out to me. It had to be the scene when Fern gets on the bus with her brother Holden and witnesses the bullying he suffers from 'the twins' and how the bus driver does nothing to help. I felt this was an important scene and one that kids can relate to. Knowles handles it, like she does with her other books, in a honest way.

Beautifully written this tale will have you laughing and crying but mostly smiling with it's message of hope. This is a must read book and would be a great addition to any classroom and school library. The topics of bullying and death are handled in a sensitive and believable way that would be great for book club discussions.

Once more Jo Knowles has a winner book.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Kim Baccellia, Editor Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor May 10, 2012
Last updated: May 10, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (382)

Beautiful, heart felt tale

Reading Jo Knowles' books are like curling up on the sofa with a trusted friend. You know she 'gets' it and handles certain sensitive topics with quiet honesty. Her books always bring a smile to my face. SEE YOU AT HARRY'S is no exception.

Twelve-year-old Fern feels like no one sees her. Her family owes a restaurant and it's always crazy there. Then tragedy strikes and threatens to tear her family apart. In the end though there is hope that will heal.

I totally loved this book. Fern's struggles are so real. I could relate with the pesky younger brother and feeling like no one notices you. The tragedy is handled in a very believable way too. You feel for these characters and go through their grief and also smile at their journey through acceptance.

One scene did stand out to me. It had to be the scene when Fern gets on the bus with her brother Holden and witnesses the bullying he suffers from 'the twins' and how the bus driver does nothing to help. I felt this was an important scene and one that kids can relate to. Knowles handles it, like she does with her other books, in a honest way.

Beautifully written this tale will have you laughing and crying but mostly smiling with it's message of hope. This is a must read book and would be a great addition to any classroom and school library. The topics of bullying and death are handled in a sensitive and believable way that would be great for book club discussions.

Once more Jo Knowles has a winner book.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)