Books Kids Fiction See You at Harry's

See You at Harry's Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/c5/4a/4c/_000_1336484838.jpg
 
4.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
1345   0
Author(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
May 08, 2012
ISBN
978-0763654078
Buy This Book
      
Starting middle school brings all the usual challenges - until the unthinkable happens, and Fern and her family must find a way to heal. Twelve-year-old Fern feels invisible. Her dad is always busy planning how to increase traffic to the family business. Her Mom is constantly going off to meditate. Her sister Sarah, who's taking a "gap year" after high school, is too busy finding ways not to work; and her brother Holden is too focused on his new "friend" to pay attention to her. And then there's Charlie: three years old, a "surprise" baby, and the center of everyone's world. If it wasn't for Ran, Fern's best and oldest friend, there would be nowhere to turn. Ran is always calm, always positive. His mantra "All will be well" is soothing in a way that nothing else seems to be. And when Ran says it, Fern can almost believe. But when their lives are unexpectedly turned upside down, Fern feels more alone than ever, and responsible for the event that wrenches the family apart. All will not be well. Or at least, all will never be the same. Show More Show Less

Editor reviews

Average editor rating from: 2 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.5  (2)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)

Fern's parents spend a lot of time at the family restaraunt their grandfather started, Harry's, and love to use their family in the commercials. Sara is taking a gap year and not thrilled with the whole idea, although she does appreciate one of the busboys. Three-year-old Charlie is a handful, but the light of everyone's lives. Holden is struggling with bullies at school and his first romance... with an older boy, Gray. Fern is just trying to understand her friend Ran, to take care of Charlie, and to help Holden with the painful process of coming out to their family. When a tragedy occurs, Fern finds it hard to do even the simplest things and isn't sure that life will ever be right again.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A

Dealing with grief

Fern's parents spend a lot of time at the family restaraunt their grandfather started, Harry's, and love to use their family in the commercials. Sara is taking a gap year and not thrilled with the whole idea, although she does appreciate one of the busboys. Three-year-old Charlie is a handful, but the light of everyone's lives. Holden is struggling with bullies at school and his first romance... with an older boy, Gray. Fern is just trying to understand her friend Ran, to take care of Charlie, and to help Holden with the painful process of coming out to their family. When a tragedy occurs, Fern finds it hard to do even the simplest things and isn't sure that life will ever be right again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Reading Jo Knowles' books are like curling up on the sofa with a trusted friend. You know she 'gets' it and handles certain sensitive topics with quiet honesty. Her books always bring a smile to my face. SEE YOU AT HARRY'S is no exception.

Twelve-year-old Fern feels like no one sees her. Her family owes a restaurant and it's always crazy there. Then tragedy strikes and threatens to tear her family apart. In the end though there is hope that will heal.

I totally loved this book. Fern's struggles are so real. I could relate with the pesky younger brother and feeling like no one notices you. The tragedy is handled in a very believable way too. You feel for these characters and go through their grief and also smile at their journey through acceptance.

One scene did stand out to me. It had to be the scene when Fern gets on the bus with her brother Holden and witnesses the bullying he suffers from 'the twins' and how the bus driver does nothing to help. I felt this was an important scene and one that kids can relate to. Knowles handles it, like she does with her other books, in a honest way.

Beautifully written this tale will have you laughing and crying but mostly smiling with it's message of hope. This is a must read book and would be a great addition to any classroom and school library. The topics of bullying and death are handled in a sensitive and believable way that would be great for book club discussions.

Once more Jo Knowles has a winner book.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Kim Baccellia, Editor Reviewed by Kim Baccellia, Editor May 10, 2012
Last updated: May 10, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (389)

Beautiful, heart felt tale

Reading Jo Knowles' books are like curling up on the sofa with a trusted friend. You know she 'gets' it and handles certain sensitive topics with quiet honesty. Her books always bring a smile to my face. SEE YOU AT HARRY'S is no exception.

Twelve-year-old Fern feels like no one sees her. Her family owes a restaurant and it's always crazy there. Then tragedy strikes and threatens to tear her family apart. In the end though there is hope that will heal.

I totally loved this book. Fern's struggles are so real. I could relate with the pesky younger brother and feeling like no one notices you. The tragedy is handled in a very believable way too. You feel for these characters and go through their grief and also smile at their journey through acceptance.

One scene did stand out to me. It had to be the scene when Fern gets on the bus with her brother Holden and witnesses the bullying he suffers from 'the twins' and how the bus driver does nothing to help. I felt this was an important scene and one that kids can relate to. Knowles handles it, like she does with her other books, in a honest way.

Beautifully written this tale will have you laughing and crying but mostly smiling with it's message of hope. This is a must read book and would be a great addition to any classroom and school library. The topics of bullying and death are handled in a sensitive and believable way that would be great for book club discussions.

Once more Jo Knowles has a winner book.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
Tori Porter is best friends with her mom, and most of the time it’s awesome. Not many girls have a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
London's Youngest detective is back . . . Darkus Knightley, tweed-wearing, megabrained, fiercely logical thirteen-year-old investigator of the weird, was...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ari’s mother died four years ago, she had two final wishes: that Ari and her older brother, Gage, would...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A boy hunter, the president of the United States, and a terrorist plot converge to create an original and thrilling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rory and her friends are reeling from a series of sudden and tragic events. While racked with grief, Rory tries...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
For the most part, aspiring screenwriter Jack Bell is just your typical Midwestern kid. He’s got a crush on his...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
4.7 (1)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)