Books Kids Fiction The Winter Pony

The Winter Pony

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/9b/29/6d/_WinterPony_1335701998.jpg
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
410   0
Author(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
November 08, 2011
ISBN
9780385733779
Buy This Book
      
In the forests of Siberia, in the first years of the 20th century, a white pony runs free with his herd. But his life changes forever when he's captured by men. Years of hard work and cruelty wear him out. When he's chosen to be one of 20 ponies to accompany the Englishman Robert Falcon Scott on his quest to become the first to reach the South Pole, he doesn't know what to expect. But the men of Scott's expedition show him kindness, something he's never known before. They also give him a name—James Pigg. As Scott's team hunkers down in Antarctica, James Pigg finds himself caught up in one of the greatest races of all time. The Norwegian explorer Roald Amundsen has suddenly announced that he too means to be first to the Pole. But only one team can triumph, and not everyone can survive—not even the animals.

Editor reviews

The cover of this book is what caught my attention at first. It's a beautiful picture of a white pony in the snow. I love horses and usually jump at the chance to read books that feature them but this one was a little tougher to get through. Why? Well, the story is told from the horse, who is eventually named, James Pigg's, POV and the opening reminded me a lot of Disney's, Bambi. *cries*

He's born in the wilderness but once he's captured, he's treated cruelly for the first few years of his life until he's sold to Captain Scott, an English explorer. From there, James Pigg finds himself caught up in the adventure of his life when the English and the Norwegians begin a race to see who can get to the South Pole first. While Captain Scott does his best to care for James Pigg and the other ponies, none of them can escape the cruelties of the harsh climate that end in the deaths of both men and ponies.

The story itself is interesting but again, being a horse lover, it was a tough read for me. I had intended to pass this on to my friend's daughter who is also a horse lover and whose pony, Ariel looks A LOT like James Pigg but I decided doing so might not be the best decision.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Jen, Editor Reviewed by Jen, Editor April 29, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (414)

Not for the softhearted horse lover.

The cover of this book is what caught my attention at first. It's a beautiful picture of a white pony in the snow. I love horses and usually jump at the chance to read books that feature them but this one was a little tougher to get through. Why? Well, the story is told from the horse, who is eventually named, James Pigg's, POV and the opening reminded me a lot of Disney's, Bambi. *cries*

He's born in the wilderness but once he's captured, he's treated cruelly for the first few years of his life until he's sold to Captain Scott, an English explorer. From there, James Pigg finds himself caught up in the adventure of his life when the English and the Norwegians begin a race to see who can get to the South Pole first. While Captain Scott does his best to care for James Pigg and the other ponies, none of them can escape the cruelties of the harsh climate that end in the deaths of both men and ponies.

The story itself is interesting but again, being a horse lover, it was a tough read for me. I had intended to pass this on to my friend's daughter who is also a horse lover and whose pony, Ariel looks A LOT like James Pigg but I decided doing so might not be the best decision.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)