Books Kids Fiction The Winter Pony

The Winter Pony

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/9b/29/6d/_WinterPony_1335701998.jpg
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
439   0
Author(s)
Age Range
10+
Release Date
November 08, 2011
ISBN
9780385733779
Buy This Book
      
In the forests of Siberia, in the first years of the 20th century, a white pony runs free with his herd. But his life changes forever when he's captured by men. Years of hard work and cruelty wear him out. When he's chosen to be one of 20 ponies to accompany the Englishman Robert Falcon Scott on his quest to become the first to reach the South Pole, he doesn't know what to expect. But the men of Scott's expedition show him kindness, something he's never known before. They also give him a name—James Pigg. As Scott's team hunkers down in Antarctica, James Pigg finds himself caught up in one of the greatest races of all time. The Norwegian explorer Roald Amundsen has suddenly announced that he too means to be first to the Pole. But only one team can triumph, and not everyone can survive—not even the animals.

Editor reviews

The cover of this book is what caught my attention at first. It's a beautiful picture of a white pony in the snow. I love horses and usually jump at the chance to read books that feature them but this one was a little tougher to get through. Why? Well, the story is told from the horse, who is eventually named, James Pigg's, POV and the opening reminded me a lot of Disney's, Bambi. *cries*

He's born in the wilderness but once he's captured, he's treated cruelly for the first few years of his life until he's sold to Captain Scott, an English explorer. From there, James Pigg finds himself caught up in the adventure of his life when the English and the Norwegians begin a race to see who can get to the South Pole first. While Captain Scott does his best to care for James Pigg and the other ponies, none of them can escape the cruelties of the harsh climate that end in the deaths of both men and ponies.

The story itself is interesting but again, being a horse lover, it was a tough read for me. I had intended to pass this on to my friend's daughter who is also a horse lover and whose pony, Ariel looks A LOT like James Pigg but I decided doing so might not be the best decision.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Jen, Editor Reviewed by Jen, Editor April 29, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (414)

Not for the softhearted horse lover.

The cover of this book is what caught my attention at first. It's a beautiful picture of a white pony in the snow. I love horses and usually jump at the chance to read books that feature them but this one was a little tougher to get through. Why? Well, the story is told from the horse, who is eventually named, James Pigg's, POV and the opening reminded me a lot of Disney's, Bambi. *cries*

He's born in the wilderness but once he's captured, he's treated cruelly for the first few years of his life until he's sold to Captain Scott, an English explorer. From there, James Pigg finds himself caught up in the adventure of his life when the English and the Norwegians begin a race to see who can get to the South Pole first. While Captain Scott does his best to care for James Pigg and the other ponies, none of them can escape the cruelties of the harsh climate that end in the deaths of both men and ponies.

The story itself is interesting but again, being a horse lover, it was a tough read for me. I had intended to pass this on to my friend's daughter who is also a horse lover and whose pony, Ariel looks A LOT like James Pigg but I decided doing so might not be the best decision.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
When Nic, a slave in the mines outside of Rome, is forced to enter a sealed cavern containing the lost...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
After a year at the king's palace, Miri has learned all about being a proper princess. But the tables turn...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Hopper is just an ordinary pet shop mouse before he escapes. Soon he finds himself below the bustling streets of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
The battle to free Titus's camps is over, and Hopper, Zucker, Firren, and their loyal followers are working to rebuild....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Tori Porter is best friends with her mom, and most of the time it’s awesome. Not many girls have a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
London's Youngest detective is back . . . Darkus Knightley, tweed-wearing, megabrained, fiercely logical thirteen-year-old investigator of the weird, was...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ari’s mother died four years ago, she had two final wishes: that Ari and her older brother, Gage, would...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A boy hunter, the president of the United States, and a terrorist plot converge to create an original and thrilling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rory and her friends are reeling from a series of sudden and tragic events. While racked with grief, Rory tries...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
For the most part, aspiring screenwriter Jack Bell is just your typical Midwestern kid. He’s got a crush on his...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
4.7 (1)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)