Books Kids Fiction Gladiator: Fight For Freedom

Gladiator: Fight For Freedom Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/e0/95/c8/12044_Screen Shot 2012-04-26 at 5.03.08PM_1335474281.png
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
1026   0
Author(s)
Publisher
Age Range
10+
Release Date
April 24, 2012
ISBN
978-1423151012
Buy This Book
      

Eleven-year-old Marcus Cornelius Primus has been torn from his idyllic childhood and recruited as a gladiator, facing a life of intense training governed by strict rules. As he learns what it takes to become an elite warrior, Marcus makes new friends and masters valuable skills, but he also makes a dangerous enemy who will stop at nothing to make Marcus’s life miserable.

But Marcus has no intention of staying in gladiator school forever. He is determined to find his father's old commander to right the wrongs that have been done to Marcus’s family. Escape won’t be easy, with thethreat of punishment and battle in the arena looming large. Yet, unbeknownst toMarcus, he carries a secret that might hold the key to his freedom and that of all of the Empire’s slaves. And if the Romans discover it, there will be no escape.

Internationally bestselling author Simon Scarrow brings his considerabletalents to the younger audience in this suspenseful, thrilling, andaction-packed journey through the perils and delights of Ancient Rome.

Editor reviews

Marcus has a good life on his father's Roman farm until his father refuses to repay a loan and beats up the goons sent by the debt collector, Decimus. Decimus later retaliates by having Marcus' father, a former Centurion, killed, and Marcus and his mother enslaved. Marcus manages to escape being sent to a remote farm with his mother, but after he stows away on a ship in order to get to Rome, he is sold to Porcino, a lanista who wants to train him as a gladiator. Life in the training school is hard for Marcus, who at eleven is far younger and smaller than the other fighters. He makes an enemy of the Celtic Ferax, but has allies in the cook Brixus, the simple minded but kind Phyrus, and the street savvy slave Pelleneus. Marcus is determined to break free and find his father's commander and explain what has happened to his mother, but he struggles to survive training and the beatings of Ferax. The feud between the two draws the attention of men planning a private fight, and Ferax and Marcus end up in a fight to the death. After Marcus wins and defiantly refuses to kill Ferax, he is pitted against wolves in the arena. Portia, the neice of Julius Caesar, is in the front row of spectators and falls into the arena. Marcus saves her, and is bought by Caesar. Before he heads to Rome, however, Brixus shows up and tells him shocking news about Marcus' past. Will he be able to use this knowledge to save his mother? We'll find out in (SQUEE!) Street Fighter.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Karen Yingling, Editor Reviewed by Karen Yingling, Editor April 24, 2012
Last updated: April 26, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (371)

Gladiators!

Marcus has a good life on his father's Roman farm until his father refuses to repay a loan and beats up the goons sent by the debt collector, Decimus. Decimus later retaliates by having Marcus' father, a former Centurion, killed, and Marcus and his mother enslaved. Marcus manages to escape being sent to a remote farm with his mother, but after he stows away on a ship in order to get to Rome, he is sold to Porcino, a lanista who wants to train him as a gladiator. Life in the training school is hard for Marcus, who at eleven is far younger and smaller than the other fighters. He makes an enemy of the Celtic Ferax, but has allies in the cook Brixus, the simple minded but kind Phyrus, and the street savvy slave Pelleneus. Marcus is determined to break free and find his father's commander and explain what has happened to his mother, but he struggles to survive training and the beatings of Ferax. The feud between the two draws the attention of men planning a private fight, and Ferax and Marcus end up in a fight to the death. After Marcus wins and defiantly refuses to kill Ferax, he is pitted against wolves in the arena. Portia, the neice of Julius Caesar, is in the front row of spectators and falls into the arena. Marcus saves her, and is bought by Caesar. Before he heads to Rome, however, Brixus shows up and tells him shocking news about Marcus' past. Will he be able to use this knowledge to save his mother? We'll find out in (SQUEE!) Street Fighter.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
After a year at the king's palace, Miri has learned all about being a proper princess. But the tables turn...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Hopper is just an ordinary pet shop mouse before he escapes. Soon he finds himself below the bustling streets of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
The battle to free Titus's camps is over, and Hopper, Zucker, Firren, and their loyal followers are working to rebuild....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Tori Porter is best friends with her mom, and most of the time it’s awesome. Not many girls have a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
London's Youngest detective is back . . . Darkus Knightley, tweed-wearing, megabrained, fiercely logical thirteen-year-old investigator of the weird, was...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ari’s mother died four years ago, she had two final wishes: that Ari and her older brother, Gage, would...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A boy hunter, the president of the United States, and a terrorist plot converge to create an original and thrilling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rory and her friends are reeling from a series of sudden and tragic events. While racked with grief, Rory tries...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
For the most part, aspiring screenwriter Jack Bell is just your typical Midwestern kid. He’s got a crush on his...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
4.7 (1)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)