Books Kids Fiction Hades: Lord of the Dead (Olympians)

Hades: Lord of the Dead (Olympians) Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/e4/de/dd/_rszhades_1334607194.jpg
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
729   0
Publisher
Age Range
8+
Release Date
January 31, 2012
ISBN
978-1596434349
Buy This Book
      
Volume 4 of the highly acclaimed Olympians series!

Hades: Lord of the Dead tells the story of the great God of the Underworld and one of the most famous of all Greek myths: Hades’ abduction of Persephone and her mother’s revenge. Be prepared to see a new side of Persephone in this dynamic adaptation of the story of the creation of the seasons.

In Olympians, O’Connor draws from primary documents to reconstruct and retell classic Greek myths. But these stories aren’t sedate, scholarly works. They’re action-packed, fast-paced, high-drama adventures with monsters, romance, and not a few huge explosions. O’Connor’s vibrant, kinetic art brings ancient tales to undeniable life in a perfect fusion of super-hero aesthetics and ancient Greek mythology.

Editor reviews

HADES: LORD OF THE DEAD, the fourth in an ongoing series of graphic novels about the Olympians, is just as appealing as all the others have been. While the writer/artist includes plenty of information about both Hades, the god and Hades, his domain—the Underworld, information never gets in the way of a rip-roaring tale of abduction, romance, blight, fury, death and love. Love especially, both the love of a mother and daughter, and a more grown up love, the love Hades has for Kore, whom he will rename Persephone.

Really, this rendition of the myth is as much the story of Persephone (Proserpina) as it is the story of Hades. Perhaps even more so, but as George O’Connor points out in the Afterworld, who wants to read a book called Kore? What O’Connor has done is take the myth of Persephone and turned it into a coming of age story. Her enforced separation from her mother is what finally allows the girl, Kore, to become a woman, Persephone. In this version of the legend, she is not tricked into eating pomegranate seeds, and thus condemned to spend six months of twelve in Hades with her kidnapper. Rather, she chooses to eat them, not just accepting her new relationship with the god of Death, but embracing it.

The graphic-novel/comic book format really suits these Olympians, these larger-than-life figures. What are the gods, if not superheroes? Their epic struggles, expansive emotions, their violence and passion, all seem to find a clear expression in the artist’s capable hands.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

The Story of Hades and Persephone

HADES: LORD OF THE DEAD, the fourth in an ongoing series of graphic novels about the Olympians, is just as appealing as all the others have been. While the writer/artist includes plenty of information about both Hades, the god and Hades, his domain—the Underworld, information never gets in the way of a rip-roaring tale of abduction, romance, blight, fury, death and love. Love especially, both the love of a mother and daughter, and a more grown up love, the love Hades has for Kore, whom he will rename Persephone.

Really, this rendition of the myth is as much the story of Persephone (Proserpina) as it is the story of Hades. Perhaps even more so, but as George O’Connor points out in the Afterworld, who wants to read a book called Kore? What O’Connor has done is take the myth of Persephone and turned it into a coming of age story. Her enforced separation from her mother is what finally allows the girl, Kore, to become a woman, Persephone. In this version of the legend, she is not tricked into eating pomegranate seeds, and thus condemned to spend six months of twelve in Hades with her kidnapper. Rather, she chooses to eat them, not just accepting her new relationship with the god of Death, but embracing it.

The graphic-novel/comic book format really suits these Olympians, these larger-than-life figures. What are the gods, if not superheroes? Their epic struggles, expansive emotions, their violence and passion, all seem to find a clear expression in the artist’s capable hands.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Forced to obey her master. Compelled to help her enemy. Determined to free herself. Nalia is a jinni of tremendous...
 
3.0
 
4.3 (1)
the sin eater's daughter.jpg
Seventeen-year-old Twylla lives in the castle. But although she’s engaged to the prince, Twylla isn’t exactly a member of the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Winner of the SILVER MEDAL in the 2014 Readers' Favorite annual International Award Contest—Category YA Paranormal Romance. Ever since she...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
TheFearfulHeart 500x750.jpg
Category: Young Adult Indie
The heart must be protected at all costs... but will Cassidy be able to afford the price? Cassidy has distanced...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You know that feeling in the pit of your stomach that stays with you, then tears you apart slowly at...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A sumptuous and epically told love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights Every dawn brings horror to a...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life loves a good curveball… Seventeen-year-old Annie Lucas's life is completely upended the moment her dad returns to the major...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Step right up, step right up! Come see one of the most amazing, astounding, stunning, and stupendous wonders of the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Red Road in Glass Arrow, the story of Aya, who lives with a small group...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
Haunted by memories of the past, 16 year old Hayden Heyer (pronounced Higher) lives in a world where she feels...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is not your average trip to Fairyland… Selkie Stewart has just saved her quasi-boyfriend, Ben, from a fairy prison...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
THE GIRL WHO NEVER WAS is the story of Selkie Stewart, who thinks she’s a totally normal teenager growing up...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Indie
A dragon named Nickerbacher guards a princess "because his papa told him to." However, he practices his jokes on Princess...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)