Books Kids Fiction The Emerald Atlas (The Books of Beginning #1)

The Emerald Atlas (The Books of Beginning #1)

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/c4/9e/5f/_9780857530196_1333952229.jpg
 
0.0
 
4.5 (2)
459   0
Author(s)
Publisher
Genre(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
April 05, 2011
ISBN
978-0-857-53019-6
Buy This Book
      
Three children. Two words. One prophecy. They were snatched from their beds in the dead of night, when the world was covered in snow. Ten years on, Kate, Michael and Emma have grown up in a string of miserable orphanages, and all memories of their parents have faded. Arriving in the eerily silent Cambridge Falls, the children quickly realise there is something strange going on... With the discovery of an old leather book, an ancient magical prophecy is set in motion which will take them on an adventure of several lifetimes, to worlds outside their own. Only they have the power to save the town-and their own future.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 2 user(s)

Already have an account? or Create an account
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.5  (2)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A  (0)
The action kicks off from the very start in this book, which brings excitement and adventure, with no room for boredom, even if you're a grumpy parent reading to your child, it will leave you wanting more.

I thought it was great to not have this book in one POV, otherwise we wouldn't be really able to know what happened with Kate/Michael/Emma, if they were away from the main character. Although it did feel like Kate was the main main character, the book being told in 3rd person let us see the adventures her siblings were having, whether it was with dwarves, Screechers or the Dutchess.

I thought that the time travel was a very unexpected aspect in the book, as the blurb says nothing anything about this at all. It was very well done, and thought it was really clever to have Kate connect with the book. Although the time travel was great, sometimes it got a bit out there, and confusing, especially with the multiple books. I think that these things need to be clearer, as this is a children's book.

It was good that the book didn't have to detailed descriptions with the 'nightmarish' parts, like the Screechers and the monster the Dutchess had locked up. This brings a younger audience than if it did, which will certainty help the sales, which will make John Stephens a happy author.

You will be gripping onto every word in this book, no doubt. There are many twists and turns in the book, both for the good and the bad. Adults and children alike will fall in love with this book, as it targets everyone's favourite aspects. They would want to keep reading and reading, even after they finished the book.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
4.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Casog Reviewed by Casog January 12, 2013
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (261)

A Book that can Time Travel

The action kicks off from the very start in this book, which brings excitement and adventure, with no room for boredom, even if you're a grumpy parent reading to your child, it will leave you wanting more.

I thought it was great to not have this book in one POV, otherwise we wouldn't be really able to know what happened with Kate/Michael/Emma, if they were away from the main character. Although it did feel like Kate was the main main character, the book being told in 3rd person let us see the adventures her siblings were having, whether it was with dwarves, Screechers or the Dutchess.

I thought that the time travel was a very unexpected aspect in the book, as the blurb says nothing anything about this at all. It was very well done, and thought it was really clever to have Kate connect with the book. Although the time travel was great, sometimes it got a bit out there, and confusing, especially with the multiple books. I think that these things need to be clearer, as this is a children's book.

It was good that the book didn't have to detailed descriptions with the 'nightmarish' parts, like the Screechers and the monster the Dutchess had locked up. This brings a younger audience than if it did, which will certainty help the sales, which will make John Stephens a happy author.

You will be gripping onto every word in this book, no doubt. There are many twists and turns in the book, both for the good and the bad. Adults and children alike will fall in love with this book, as it targets everyone's favourite aspects. They would want to keep reading and reading, even after they finished the book.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Just another book proving how awesome middle grade is.

It doesn’t take very long for the story to throw you right into the thick of things and from there, there’s barely ever a moment of down time which is precisely how I like it. The only thing that threw me off was the time travel. I wasn’t really expecting it from the synopsis and I kind of felt like I was waiting around for the story to start up. That’s my fault, though, since they were my expectations. Now you know there’s time travel, so you won’t have that problem :P

I really enjoyed all the characters, though I occasionally wanted to tell Emma to stop being such a child. Since she’s only ten, I think it’s perfectly acceptable to act like a child, though. The siblings were all so different and unique. I loved that none of them felt dispensable and were all integral to the story. The side characters were great too. They were all really well developed and made the story complete.

I really enjoyed all the intricacies to the story. I was kept guessing until the answer was right in front of my face, but there was still plenty of unanswered questions to leave room for the sequel.

The Nutshell: The Emerald Atlas is a fast-paced, action-packed story full of risky situations and plucky young siblings. If you’re up for a crazy journey that’ll have you on the edge of your seat and keep you guessing, you should definitely get your hands on this one.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
N/A
Jasmine Reviewed by Jasmine August 17, 2012
Top 10 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (326)

The Emerald Atlas (A Room with Books review)

Just another book proving how awesome middle grade is.

It doesn’t take very long for the story to throw you right into the thick of things and from there, there’s barely ever a moment of down time which is precisely how I like it. The only thing that threw me off was the time travel. I wasn’t really expecting it from the synopsis and I kind of felt like I was waiting around for the story to start up. That’s my fault, though, since they were my expectations. Now you know there’s time travel, so you won’t have that problem :P

I really enjoyed all the characters, though I occasionally wanted to tell Emma to stop being such a child. Since she’s only ten, I think it’s perfectly acceptable to act like a child, though. The siblings were all so different and unique. I loved that none of them felt dispensable and were all integral to the story. The side characters were great too. They were all really well developed and made the story complete.

I really enjoyed all the intricacies to the story. I was kept guessing until the answer was right in front of my face, but there was still plenty of unanswered questions to leave room for the sequel.

The Nutshell: The Emerald Atlas is a fast-paced, action-packed story full of risky situations and plucky young siblings. If you’re up for a crazy journey that’ll have you on the edge of your seat and keep you guessing, you should definitely get your hands on this one.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)