Books Kids Fiction The Bremen Town Musicians

The Bremen Town Musicians Featured

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/96/1d/bb/_Bremen_1333376610.jpg
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
382   0
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Genre(s)
Age Range
1+
Release Date
April 15, 2012
ISBN
978-1595723451
Buy This Book
      
A retelling of the Grimm Brothers’ beloved tale about an old donkey who leaves the farm to travel to Bremen where he hopes to join a band. On the way, he meets a dog, a cat, and a rooster. With a bray, a bark, a meow, and a cock-a-doodle-doo, they become fast friends and decide to travel together to Bremen, although getting there leads to great unexpected results.

Editor reviews

We had a couple of Brian Wildsmith picture books when I was very small. They have since disintegrated, but his art lingers in my pre-verbal memory like something mysterious and magical. Whenever I see his illustrations now, like fireworks they light up those moments locked in my hindbrain when I could not explain what I saw or how it made me feel, but I saw it and felt it nonetheless.

Perhaps I experience his art in this way because of those memories, but I think there is something unique and powerful regardless about the mingled delicacy of line and mushiness (that’s a technical term) of color. Oh the color! The intensity of it, the way it overlaps and mixes and bleeds. The butterflies and moths!

THE BREMEN TOWN MUSICIANS might be a familiar tale, but it is a charming one. A number of animals, all told they are too old to be of any use anymore, set off to become musicians instead. They never do get to Bremen, but they prove they are far from useless, and live happily (if quietly) ever after.

What sets this version apart from others is, of course, Brian Wildsmith’s art. Each spread has so much to explore, so much detail to linger over and discuss with a small reader. The world illustrated here is far bigger than the confines of one simple tale, which happily echoes the point of the folktale – that things (and people and animals) have surprises in store for anyone willing to take the time to see them.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0
Francesca	Amendolia, Editor Reviewed by Francesca Amendolia, Editor April 13, 2012
Last updated: April 15, 2012
Top 50 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews (66)

The Bremen Town Musicians

We had a couple of Brian Wildsmith picture books when I was very small. They have since disintegrated, but his art lingers in my pre-verbal memory like something mysterious and magical. Whenever I see his illustrations now, like fireworks they light up those moments locked in my hindbrain when I could not explain what I saw or how it made me feel, but I saw it and felt it nonetheless.

Perhaps I experience his art in this way because of those memories, but I think there is something unique and powerful regardless about the mingled delicacy of line and mushiness (that’s a technical term) of color. Oh the color! The intensity of it, the way it overlaps and mixes and bleeds. The butterflies and moths!

THE BREMEN TOWN MUSICIANS might be a familiar tale, but it is a charming one. A number of animals, all told they are too old to be of any use anymore, set off to become musicians instead. They never do get to Bremen, but they prove they are far from useless, and live happily (if quietly) ever after.

What sets this version apart from others is, of course, Brian Wildsmith’s art. Each spread has so much to explore, so much detail to linger over and discuss with a small reader. The world illustrated here is far bigger than the confines of one simple tale, which happily echoes the point of the folktale – that things (and people and animals) have surprises in store for anyone willing to take the time to see them.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

Category: Kids Fiction
When Nic, a slave in the mines outside of Rome, is forced to enter a sealed cavern containing the lost...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
After a year at the king's palace, Miri has learned all about being a proper princess. But the tables turn...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Hopper is just an ordinary pet shop mouse before he escapes. Soon he finds himself below the bustling streets of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
The battle to free Titus's camps is over, and Hopper, Zucker, Firren, and their loyal followers are working to rebuild....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
Tori Porter is best friends with her mom, and most of the time it’s awesome. Not many girls have a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
London's Youngest detective is back . . . Darkus Knightley, tweed-wearing, megabrained, fiercely logical thirteen-year-old investigator of the weird, was...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
When Ari’s mother died four years ago, she had two final wishes: that Ari and her older brother, Gage, would...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A boy hunter, the president of the United States, and a terrorist plot converge to create an original and thrilling...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rory and her friends are reeling from a series of sudden and tragic events. While racked with grief, Rory tries...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
For the most part, aspiring screenwriter Jack Bell is just your typical Midwestern kid. He’s got a crush on his...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of...
 
5.0
 
4.7 (1)
Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Skillfully blending multiple story strands that transcend time and place, award-winning Grasshopper Jungle author Andrew Smith chronicles the story of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Music, Discovery, Love. Can one summer make the difference of a lifetime? Zahara is a loner. She's brilliant on the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Kids Fiction
A bulldog and a poodle learn that family is about love, not appearances in this adorable doggy tale from New...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young sorceress's entire life has been shaped to destroy the empire controlling her world. She could change history. But...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Drama and danger abound in this fantasy realm where dukes play a game for the throne,...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kevin_Brooks_TheBunkerDiary.jpg
This is the winner of the 2014 Cilip Carnegie Medal. Room meets Lord of the Flies,...
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after...
 
3.3
 
3.3 (1)
Quake_Pulse Novel_.jpg
Fans of I Am Number Four and The Maze Runner will clamor for Quake, the climactic...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)