Mr. And Mrs. Bunny --Detectives Extraordinaire!

Mr. And Mrs. Bunny --Detectives Extraordinaire!

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
835   0
Write Review
Mr. And Mrs. Bunny --Detectives Extraordinaire!
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Genre(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
February 14, 2012
ISBN
978-0375867552
Buy This Book
      
In this hilarious chapter book mystery, meet a girl whose parents have been kidnapped by disreputable foxes, and a pair of detectives that also happen to be bunnies! When Madeline gets home from school one afternoon to discover that her parents have gone missing, she sets off to find them. So begins a once-in-a-lifetime adventure involving a cast of quirky and unforgettable characters. There's Mr. and Mrs. Bunny, who drive a smart car, wear fedoras, and hate marmots; the Marmot, who loves garlic bread and is a brilliant translator; and many others. Translated from the Rabbit by National Book Award-winning author Polly Horvath, and beautifully illustrated by Sophie Blackall, here is a book that kids will both laugh over and love.

Editor reviews

1 reviews

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0  (1)
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0  (1)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

A Very Ridiculous Caper

I had no idea what I was getting myself into once I started this book. I thought I was reading about our own world...little did I know how much our world collides with that of the animal kingdom!

In this goofy, random chapter book, a 10-year-old girl, Madeline, finds herself mixed up with some hilarious rabbits when she discovers her incapable parents have been kidnapped mysteriously by some foxes. The rabbits, newly self-appointed detectives, hop right on the case (pun intended) and realize they are in way over their heads--only to keep on trying, day in and day out, to help Madeline.

This story had me laughing out loud dozens of times, although Horvath's range of subjects was difficult to keep up with, if at all. Most of the storyline is filled with random and disconnected dialogue, and when I was laughing, I was also shaking my head, thinking, "What the...?" I realize this is not a book for adults, but I did enjoy it in spite of myself. Far from having any real point, this book is definitely going to be a silly yet entertaining and engaging read for beginning readers, and I couldn't help but think that it would also be fantastic for teachers to read to their class--the dialogue will make some comedic reading, for sure.

Good Points
Great vocabulary range. Unique voice and point-of-view.
Was this review helpful to you? 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.
Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

Current Giveaways

 

   

   

   

  

   

   

    

  

   

 

Latest Book Listings Added

The Sisters
One lied. One died. When one sister...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
61tbP2jpoXL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
When a glamorous family of teenage witches brings a mysterious...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
51W7EOxIV9L._SX332_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg
It’s Boston, 1919, and the Cast Iron club is packed....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Exo
It’s been a century of peace since Earth became a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Lion Inside
From the creator of the known and loved Bright Side...
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Scotland is in my blood... All sixteen-year-old...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Cabinet of Souls (R.L. Stine's Monsterville #1)
Dare to enter a mysterious realm where the cost of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Genie in a Bottle (Whatever After #9)
Abby and her little brother, Jonah, have a magic mirror...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hour of Magic (Geronimo Stilton and the Kingdom of Fantasy #8)
I, Geronimo Stilton, was amazed to find myself called back...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Enemy Above
In 1942 twelve-year-old Anton, his family, and their small community...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Skeleth
For the lords of the north, land is power. The...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mayhem (Lawless #3)
M Freeman has been a star pupil at the Lawless...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
cover60900-medium.png
Toby's sister and baby brother love their schools - they...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every Exquisite Thing
Nanette O'Hare is an unassuming teen who has played the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Emma and Julia Love Ballet
Emma is little. Julia is big. They both love...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Blobfish Book
Perfect for fans of Battle Bunny and Z Is for...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)