Books Kids Fiction Mr. And Mrs. Bunny --Detectives Extraordinaire!

Mr. And Mrs. Bunny --Detectives Extraordinaire!

http://www.yabookscentral.com/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x275s/76/f3/b0/_MrandMrsBunny_1333060342.jpg
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
612   0
Author(s)
Co-Authors / Illustrators
Genre(s)
Age Range
8+
Release Date
February 14, 2012
ISBN
978-0375867552
Buy This Book
      
In this hilarious chapter book mystery, meet a girl whose parents have been kidnapped by disreputable foxes, and a pair of detectives that also happen to be bunnies! When Madeline gets home from school one afternoon to discover that her parents have gone missing, she sets off to find them. So begins a once-in-a-lifetime adventure involving a cast of quirky and unforgettable characters. There's Mr. and Mrs. Bunny, who drive a smart car, wear fedoras, and hate marmots; the Marmot, who loves garlic bread and is a brilliant translator; and many others. Translated from the Rabbit by National Book Award-winning author Polly Horvath, and beautifully illustrated by Sophie Blackall, here is a book that kids will both laugh over and love.

Editor reviews

I had no idea what I was getting myself into once I started this book. I thought I was reading about our own world...little did I know how much our world collides with that of the animal kingdom!

In this goofy, random chapter book, a 10-year-old girl, Madeline, finds herself mixed up with some hilarious rabbits when she discovers her incapable parents have been kidnapped mysteriously by some foxes. The rabbits, newly self-appointed detectives, hop right on the case (pun intended) and realize they are in way over their heads--only to keep on trying, day in and day out, to help Madeline.

This story had me laughing out loud dozens of times, although Horvath's range of subjects was difficult to keep up with, if at all. Most of the storyline is filled with random and disconnected dialogue, and when I was laughing, I was also shaking my head, thinking, "What the...?" I realize this is not a book for adults, but I did enjoy it in spite of myself. Far from having any real point, this book is definitely going to be a silly yet entertaining and engaging read for beginning readers, and I couldn't help but think that it would also be fantastic for teachers to read to their class--the dialogue will make some comedic reading, for sure.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot/Characters/Writing Style 
 
5.0
Illustrations/Photos (if applicable) 
 
5.0

A Very Ridiculous Caper

I had no idea what I was getting myself into once I started this book. I thought I was reading about our own world...little did I know how much our world collides with that of the animal kingdom!

In this goofy, random chapter book, a 10-year-old girl, Madeline, finds herself mixed up with some hilarious rabbits when she discovers her incapable parents have been kidnapped mysteriously by some foxes. The rabbits, newly self-appointed detectives, hop right on the case (pun intended) and realize they are in way over their heads--only to keep on trying, day in and day out, to help Madeline.

This story had me laughing out loud dozens of times, although Horvath's range of subjects was difficult to keep up with, if at all. Most of the storyline is filled with random and disconnected dialogue, and when I was laughing, I was also shaking my head, thinking, "What the...?" I realize this is not a book for adults, but I did enjoy it in spite of myself. Far from having any real point, this book is definitely going to be a silly yet entertaining and engaging read for beginning readers, and I couldn't help but think that it would also be fantastic for teachers to read to their class--the dialogue will make some comedic reading, for sure.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Already have an account? or Create an account
 
Powered by JReviews

LATEST YABC BLOG POSTS - BLOG TOURS, ANNOUNCEMENTS, AND GIVEAWAYS

View more blog entries

Latest Book Listings Added

From Alison Cherry, author of Red, a novel PW declares “sparkles with wit,” comes a terrific new book about two...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A bright, poignant, and deeply funny autobiographical account of coming of age as an amputee cancer survivor, from Josh Sundquist:...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A TREMBLING EARTH The flames of civil war sweep across the Shima Imperium. With their plans to renew the Kazumitsu...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Phantom's Dance Book Review
Category: Young Adult Indie
Christine Dadey’s family uprooted their lives and moved to Houston for her to attend the prestigious Rousseau Academy of Dance....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
the cure for dreaming.jpg
Olivia Mead is a headstrong, independent girl—a suffragist—in an age that prefers its girls to be docile. It’s 1900 in...
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
unmade.jpg
Powerful love comes with a price. Who will be the sacrifice? Kami has lost the boy she loves, is tied...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Thrust into a world of men, can a timid girl find bravery as the first female Death? Thirteen-year-old Suzie Sarnio...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
The stress is getting to fifteen-year-old Jess. Her mum’s officially lost it, going from yummy mummy to seriously weird almost...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Category: Young Adult Indie
“Powerful. Clever. A solid ... choice for both girls and boys.” —Publishers Weekly Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Quarterfinalist...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Whispering Skull.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
In the six months since Anthony, Lucy, and George survived a night in the most haunted house in England, Lockwood...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Screaming Staircase.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
A sinister Problem has occurred in London: all nature of ghosts, haunts, spirits, and specters are appearing throughout the city,...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Sudden Light.jpg
In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
My Cousins Keeper.jpg
Category: Kids Fiction
When the odd new kid at school turns out to be his cousin, Kieran feels embarrassed and resentful. But how...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Number 7.jpg
It all starts with a mysterious phone call from Louisa's decorative antique phone. And that wouldn't be so strange, except...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Gollywood, Here I Come! | Children's Book About Celebrities
Category: Kids Indie
The Tale of a Young Turkey’s Rise to Cinematic Stardom. Who doesn’t fantasize about becoming a big movie star, living...
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Category: Young Adult Indie
Combining the survival instincts made famous in THE HUNGER GAMES with the intensity of THE BOOK THIEF, LAST STOP KLINDENSPIEL...
 
0.0
 
4.8 (1)
With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy—perfect for fans of Libba Bray—explores the...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From Allison van Diepen, author of Snitch and Street Pharm, comes a sexy, dangerous novel about...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Game of Thrones meets the Grimm's fairy tales in this twisted, fast-paced romantic fantasy-adventure about Sleeping Beauty's daughter, a warrior...
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)